We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”
Review of La Casa de Marita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Casa de Marita
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Nice hotel and location right on the end of the beach. Easy walking distance to all areas. Reserve online as the price is much cheaper online than after arrival. We needed to add a night due to a missed flight and had to pay twice the normal rate.

The on-site restaurant is nice, but the food is only average with a nice presentation. The room was nice but quirky. The rooms cleanliness was lacking as the glasses in the room had a thick layer of dust on them had the shelves had ant sand trails that were never cleaned the entire time we were there. Minor issues for an otherwise very nice hotel for the island.

Wireless and business center computer was out os service often, or very, very slow.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach side room on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjc911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    114
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
126
194
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed at Casa Marita for four nights before heading back to Santa Cruz and taking a 5-day cruise. Our time at Casa Marita was amazing and I think it made our entire Galapagos experience perfect. From the moment we got to Casa Marita, I knew that we had made the right choice for lodging in Puerto Villamil. It is so charming and has great common space with deck chairs out front facing the beach. The location is amazing because it is a short walk to town, but on a beautiful beach. Our room was wonderful with air conditioning when we needed it, and plenty of space for all of our things. Isabela and Puerto Villamil were a great place to be for four days. The staff at Casa Marita was more than friendly and help us set up tours each day when we wanted them. Other days we rented bikes and went to the turtle breeding center and wall of tears. Highly recommended as long as you bring enough water. It was our first time in the Galapagos, but I wouldn't have done anything differently (except possibly changed the cruise we ended up taking). All-in-all, our stay at Casa Marita was fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eukahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This hotel was amazing. We will return to stay at this hotel when we travel back to Galapagos. We had our food delivered to our room if we wanted, and the hospitality was amazing. Our room was right on the beach, and we were welcomed with a bottle of champagne (it was our honeymoon!). It was just a truly amazing and beautiful place to be!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLuna333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest,USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

My wife and I just completed 5 nights last week at Casa Marita. It is an outstanding hotel and great location.It is a five minute walk to the town via the beach. The best snorkeling on the island, is also a five minute walk from the hotel Great value.
The owner Marita was very helpful confirming airline reservations on Embtree airlines which we flew from Isabella to San Cristobal.l

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstClassWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Maine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Very nice hotel on the beach. Friendly staff. Room on beachside with patio. Room was spacious and clean. Wi-fi in common area. Restaurant on-site was very good and reasonably priced. Town was a typical beach town with dirt roads and shabby, yet expensive, restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swaskilewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Sitting right on a stunning beach, this hotel is just a 10 minute walk to the very little town which offers some good restaurants, convenience stores for ice cream and pop, etc. Our room itself was fine and spacious with a big balcony overlooking the beach, however our bathroom was one of the most unclean and in need of repair bathrooms I have ever seen. There was actually about 1/2 cup of what looked like topsoil in the bottom of our shower, 80% of all tiles were broken, drain on sink was broken, etc. A scattering of cockroaches when the lights were turned on, but I anticipate a few bugs in the tropics. The hostess is lovely and we were greeted and said goodbye to warmly. Internet in the lobby was great. Not impressed with the restaurant at all, breakfasts and dinners were bland, restaurant staff unfriendly. Eat in town!

Room Tip: A balcony facing the beach is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATravelAddict1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2011

The best Hotel in Puerto Villamil, by FAR. The location, the solitude, the fact that is small and cozy make this hotel the best. Also the service and kindness of the owners and workers. We will go back again and again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macarena11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.6 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Rincon de George
Hostal Rincon de George
#8 of 10 in Isabela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#3 of 25 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 25 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Marita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Marita

Property: La Casa de Marita
Address: Conocarpus S/N, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de Marita 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marita’s house is a first class hotel in which you can enjoy the natural charms of Isabela Island, because it is located on the white sands of Puerto Villamil, offering an incomparable view of the colorful beaches of Galapagos Islands. Marita’s house combines harmonically the standards of the best quality hotels with a cozy familiar, hospitality to offer a pleasant and comfortable stay. Quality and warmth characterizes the services of lodging, restaurant and recreation that Marita’s house offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your La Casa de Marita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Marita Hotel Puerto Villamil
La Casa De Marita Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing