We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, large rooms”
Review of Hotel Albemarle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Albemarle
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, large rooms”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I don't understand the poor reviews of this hotel - we had a great stay. It's a wonderful location, right beside the beach. We had a ground floor room, the view is probably better from the upper floor, but the ground floor has doors opening practically onto the beach. There were no ants, no noise (maybe the bar has moved, or isn't open in July?) and the breakfast was very nice. The staff were very helpful, arranging breakfast when we arrived on an early flight, and co-ordinating with tour guides, making recommendations etc. The Wifi was good, though the signal was clearer in the public areas than our room, and it went down one day (no problem, the Galapagos is isolated!). The bathrooms look great, very modern, but I'm not a huge fan of the "wet room" layout because you tend to get just that after a shower - a very wet room. The water is hot and the shower pressure good. The pool is small, mostly for kids, but who needs it with a beach outside? My only criticism was that we couldn't tell how to contact someone in case of emergency when the reception was unmanned late at night (though we may have missed directions on check-in). Overall very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Beachside, beautiful view and sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    52
    15
    13
    12
See reviews for
40
95
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
RM
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. The rooms with sea view are spectacular. For this reason deserves 5 stars. Left us perplexed and neglect service of staff, breakfast was basic and careless.
Altogether a good solution if you don't have too many expectations.
Marco

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank w4lls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our family stayed at Hotel Albemarle from 2 May - 6 May. We had two ocean-view rooms, with an adjoining balcony (fantastic view). The rooms were spacious and was kept clean on a daily basis. There's purified drinking water in each room and when you run out, they refill. The king bed wasn't too bad, but the pillows were super thin. I also feel they can add a blanket to each room in case it gets cold at night, which happened in my case.
The pool area is somewhat small, but cozy and some areas under shade, which my daughter really enjoyed after a hot day at the beach.
The breakfast was..... not good!
The location of the hotel was really great and this is probably the highlight of staying at this hotel. A few steps away from a lovely beach, where you can also find shelter under palm trees. It's within walking distance (2 - 5 minutes) to the dive center, restaurants, bike rentals, tour operators and a small shop (where you can buy some ice-cream's etc..).

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my 4 day stay at Albemarle. A beautiful hotel in a location that is as close to perfect as you could wish for! The view from the room was to die for, and falling out of bed on to the beach every morning was just amazing! It's impossible not to feel relaxed in this place, the hotel is owned by a lovely family, and consequently has a very family feel to it, which I much prefer to some of the cold, corporate places you can find at this end of the market. Certainly wasn't expecting the owner of a Galapagos hotel to be English(!), so that was a nice surprise, and Max was really helpful in sorting things out for us like trips, transport etc, which was a huge relief given that my Spanish isn't exactly up to scratch! Food was great - tasty breakfasts in the mornings, and room was perfectly comfortable - comfy bed, decent bathroom, shower etc and extremely effective air conditioning which was very welcome after a hot day out!! Can't really understand some of the negative reviews I've seen on here - can only assume these people were somewhat high maintenance!! For me it was a lovely holiday, super relaxed, away from the real world, no stress, no fuss. Perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have the best view - simply amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonnyW84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at the Albemarle Hotel from April 2nd to the 5th and we found it to be above our expectations. Upon arrival Max upgraded us from a poolside to an ocean view room. What a view it was! The room was very nice and up to our standards: comfortable bed, very nice bathroom, filtered water in the room, and the ocean's sound to fall asleep with. Diana went above and beyond trying to find us a personal guide and giving us advice on what we should see on Isabela. She even called the agency in Puerto Ayora (Santa Cruz) to verify the ferry's schedule for us. Breakfast was also very good: fresh fruits, eggs, yogurt, etc. etc. The Albemarle is in the perfect location and well worth the money you pay. We loved our stay there. Gracias Diana y Max por su hospitabilidad. Teresa y Oswaldo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank batuka12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level Contributor
96 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were prepared for the bad reviews on Trip Advisor so we were surprised enjoyed our stay of 5 days.
The excellent service from owner Max Murray by e-mail has been important for us. We had cancelled at the last minute because of work and money last year from completely credited us our money for this year. He informed us also of the special Emetebe a small plane that made the Baltra-Isabella road.
Cost: $185, a bargain for several months the best price I got was $ 275. I informed M.Murray that my husband did not want to take a taxi boat.
Rooms with view on the beach have an extraordinary view.
Yes, it is outdated, but we are to the Galapagos to live outside, we enjoyed the balcony with chairs and chairs front the beach. We have full of tours and great walks on the beach. In December the bar on the beach was quiet good except a bit of noise on Saturday night and Max had left at the reception to us this night.
Least: the internet was working well in the restaurant but not in the room. The reception did not know the password, an employee who reported us it after 3 days.
Unfortunately the hotel has more restaurant for the evening. Restaurants are cheap in the city but it is not very varied and the hours are limited in December.
For ants, many are talking about, I think that it is impossible that a hotel directly on the beach, feet in the sand are not ants. We have learned over the years of travel near the deserts oceans and leave our shoes away from the House, have a other shoes the room and have a bottle of insecticide that we aspergeons at the entrance of the door. The room service is average so therefore try not to overdramatize and wasting his time.
Conclusion: I would have put 3 stars for the hotel but the exceptional service of Max Murray I've unfortunately not met during our stay deserves a star more. Like many here say has so much potential but it's also much more expensive.

Room Tip: Room at the second floor front the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We are independent travellers who visited Galapagos last month. We are avid UK bird watchers and decided to visit Galapagos after watching the BBC's wonderful documentary series. This hotel was right at the top end of our budget but we were not disappointed. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay. As they say, its all about location, location, location, and the Albemarle simply cannot be beat. It is located directly on the most beautiful beach you can imagine, fine white sand and palm trees, marine iguanas and boobies, and virtually no-one on it...we had the whole beach to ourselves! Directly behind the hotel is the main town square with all the local services, tour agencies and local restaurants. no other hotel on the island has a location like this. The staff were very polite and helpful, especially Geraldine on reception, who is from England which definitely helped with our communication problem! She kindly organised all our tours which were very enjoyable (our favourite was Tintoreras). Breakfast was great...eggs to order and self-service coffee, toast and juice. The fresh fruits were incredible! Our beach front room was fantastic, directly on the beach with the most breath-taking views. The 6pm sunsets to the right side of our balcony are not to be missed. Our room was beautiful...finished to a very high standard with marble bathroom, colonial style balcony, powerful and hot rain shower, huuuuuge emperor bed and all the mod cons: in-room safe,TV with DVD, silent air conditioning, but we didnt use it as the high ceilings and large wooden balcony doors made it fresh and breezy. It was rather pricey for us but there is nothing bad to say about this hotel, it was probably the best we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.4 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Rincon de George
Hostal Rincon de George
#7 of 10 in Isabela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#3 of 25 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casita de la Playa
Casita de la Playa
#2 of 25 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albemarle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albemarle

Property: Hotel Albemarle
Address: Las Fragatas Street and Los Jieles Avenue, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albemarle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albemarle Hotel, spectacularly set right on Cuna del Sol Beach, is a Mediterranean-inspired house featuring a beautiful garden with swimming pool. Each of the large rooms has tiled floors, wood-beamed ceilings, a luxurious, marble-accented private bathroom and either sea or pool view. Other amenities include air conditioning, TV and free WiFi. The in-house tour desk can make your travel arrangements around Isabela and other Galapagos islands. The Albemarle Hotel has an excellent location in the heart of Puerto Villamil, a two-hour boat trip from Santa Cruz Island and three kilometers from General Villamil Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Albemarle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albemarle Hotel Isabela
Hotel Albemarle Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing