We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Filling Food”

Isabela Grill Steak House
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, International, South American, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Isabela Grill Steak House pone a la disposicion de sus clientes un amplio y variado menu cuya especialidad es la carne y la comida del mar. Nuestro personal es idoneo y tiene una amplia experiencia en la preparacion de los mas conocidos platos de nuestro pais y tambien del extranjero. Utilizamos los mejores ingredientes para obtener los mas deliciosos platos que seran el deleite de todos nuestros clientes.
Chadds Ford
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good, Filling Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Decent food, nice service, handled our large group very well. Not gourmet food, but the fish was really fresh, and nicely prepared.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmbbtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    16
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
264 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“A solid meh, except for the food poisoning”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Isabela Grill Steak House was recommended by our local guide. Puerto Villamil being the small town that it is, there is nothing especially upscale and the IGSH definitely fits into that local/not-upscale category...which is fine. Still, there are some minimum standards...

We were seated promptly but service after that was weak. There was no fresh fish available, tough to explain for a town where fishing and tourism for the basis for the local economy. We ordered the mixed seafood with pasta and the octopus with pesto.

The bread delivered to the table was dry and forgettable. The mixed seafood pasta was tasty, but could have used more seafood compared to the level of pasta. My daughter enjoyed the octopus but became wickedly ill the following day and for the next 36 hours. I tasted her dish and was similarly affected, but not as bad.

These sort of things can happen anywhere, but between the food poisoning, the weak service, the lame bread and the absence of fresh fish, "Poor" may be too strong.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank doctorbobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
2 reviews
“Grilled Lobster”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great atmosphere and great food. The restaurant is centrally located on the main avenue. The waiter was pleasant and efficient.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DDE57301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pass if you are a Vegan/Vegetarian”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I went with 3 friends who are all meat eaters. I ordered an array of salads that were just OK. As a vegetarian, you can find a better option somewhere else. Meat eaters, my friends enjoyed it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betzigau, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks and seafood”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

The best option to enjoy delicious charcoal-grilled meat or seafood, just few meters from the main street in Puerto Villamil. The restaurant offers a large variety of further dishes like pasta, risotto or different kinds of fresh salads. If you just want a snack, a hamburger or a club-sandwich might be the right choice. The staff of Isabela Grill, a family-owned restaurant, is friendly and passionate about the services they offer. Individual people are as welcome as families with children or larger groups. I felt very comfortable and well-served in the restaurant and enjoyed the food a lot!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Birgit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabela Grill Steak House also viewed

Puerto Villamil, Isabela
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
Isabela, Galapagos Islands
 

Been to Isabela Grill Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing