We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great”
Review of Booby Trap

Booby Trap
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open air restaurant with ocean view. Note: we're across the street from the Casa Rosada on the road to the tortoise breeding center near the Iguana Crossing.
Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

We spent 9 days in Galápagos trying to find good food at affordable prices and were almost desperate until we discovered this restaurant.
The owners are lovely people, who serve really good food with fresh ingredients.
You should drop by in the afternoon to let them know that you are coming for dinner in the evening, since they will get fresh fish for you during the day!
Highly recommendable!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank re85al
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
james h, Owner at Booby Trap, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2016

Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review. We strive to make your experience a pleasurable one. Glad you enjoyed the food! Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 230 of 534 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

We ate here after a few disappointing yet expensive meals on the islands. This was worth the wait! I enjoyed a plentiful salad with a variety of colorful vegetables and tasty white fish! My other half ordered a beef burrito and brownie with Oreo ice cream!!Both were fabulous. The owners were friendly and attentive and even added some avocado to my salad upon request. It's the best place to eat on Isabelle island. Get off pizza street and head just beyond it to this great restaurant!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank FionaN419
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
james h, Owner at Booby Trap, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2016

Thank you for such a lovely review! We work hard so you can enjoy your dining experience. It's so nice to be appreciated. Thanks again and thanks for the recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2016

We had been to Isabela with the students. James and Marlene are the most kind people. we interviewed them and made dinner reservations for the next night. our whole group of 11 people went for dinner. the salad was amazing which is specialty of James. Marlene cooked us grilled fish and steamed vegetables. the fish was fresh. we had lot of avocado on our salad. James brings most of his veggies from the local market. their brownie and ice cream also was very tasty. All of us were so happy and content with the dinner. in addition, we also made some good friends in Isabela.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Girija S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
james h, Owner at Booby Trap, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2016

It was fun to talk to your students. I hope we both learned something. You brought a nice group down here! And, we're so glad everybody liked the food! Thanks for taking your time to write a review. It's appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2016

We have eaten here several times -- the food is superb. James and Marlena could not be more friendly and accomodating. They buy everything possible from local growers and local catch for the fish. Lovely salad with your meal. You won't be disappointed

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Sailinginparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
james h, Owner at Booby Trap, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2016

Thanks for writing a review! Yours was short, to the point, and flattering! We loved it! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2016

Got a really good fish sandwich the other day (I think it was between $6 and $8) with fries ($4)...the iced coffee (local Galapagos coffee) was tasty too. The owner was kind and said I could come back to use wifi (but didn't get a chance to)...the whole place had a nice, relaxed vibe...a great place for a snack or meal (and they even have brownies and ice cream! though I wasn't able to try it). It's on your way to/from the Wall of Tears or the Turtle Breeding Center, right across from the Caseta Iguana bar and Beto bar.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
james h, Owner at Booby Trap, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2016

Thanks for the review! Sorry you didn't have more time to hang out. Glad you enjoyed what you did try and the "atmosphere." Thanks again for taking your time to review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Booby Trap also viewed

Puerto Villamil, Isabela
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 
Isabela, Galapagos Islands
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 

Been to Booby Trap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.