We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and kind owner”
Review of Booby Trap

Booby Trap
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open air restaurant with ocean view. Note: we're across the street from the Casa Rosada on the road to the tortoise breeding center near the Iguana Crossing.
Reviewed June 3, 2016

Got a really good fish sandwich the other day (I think it was between $6 and $8) with fries ($4)...the iced coffee (local Galapagos coffee) was tasty too. The owner was kind and said I could come back to use wifi (but didn't get a chance to)...the whole place had a nice, relaxed vibe...a great place for a snack or meal (and they even have brownies and ice cream! though I wasn't able to try it). It's on your way to/from the Wall of Tears or the Turtle Breeding Center, right across from the Caseta Iguana bar and Beto bar.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
james h, Owner at Booby Trap, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2016

Thanks for the review! Sorry you didn't have more time to hang out. Glad you enjoyed what you did try and the "atmosphere." Thanks again for taking your time to review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 234 of 534 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2016

Had a lovely meal in a wonderful setting. James was like a good host and looked after us all evening. You do need to book in advance and decide what you want to eat.
Check out the very interesting display of "Stuff" at the entrance

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Francesca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
james h, Owner at Booby Trap, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2016

The display of stuff at the entrance is what I like to call the museum for kids of all ages. It's all stuff that has been found on the beach here. I found most of it, but neighbors and sometimes even visitors have also contributed as no one is allowed to take their finds home. We're glad you liked the meal and the setting! We work hard to provide the best possible experience for our guests! Truly pleasing you, pleases us. Thank you so much for doing a review and for reserving a table at the dinner party!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2016

When you just cannot eat white rice one more time, stop by and have Marlene/Jim/Edmundo cook you up something special. The dinners are very good and worth the reservation plan you must make. The salad is hearty and fresh, the potatoes are like home and the fish is fresh each day. For lunch try my favorite the chicken sandwich with avacados and tomatoes. Ask Jim for advice on travels around the island, as the owners are all fluent in Spanish and English. A little bit of home in the Galapagos!!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heidi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
james h, Owner at Booby Trap, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! You probably won't be surprised that Marlene just got her certificate of excellence from Trip Advisor for the second consecutive year thanks to appreciative customers like you. We all wish you the very best and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016

We had a delicious dinner at this lovely restaurant which is a stone's throw from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. The food was excellent and the owners are very welcoming

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Capricorn916
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
james h, Owner at Booby Trap, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2016

Thank you for taking your time to write this nice review. I'm listening to the waves right now. Wish you were here. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2016 via mobile

Visted here 3 times on the first day, once for brownies, second time for lunch then again for dinner. You need to book dinner in advance to allow for the purchase of the produce but the food is deliciousand fresh.

I am passing through the Galapagos Islands on a yacht and the owner of the Booby Trap, James, couldn't be more helpful with information on where to visit and answer any queries.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank smee1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
james h, Owner at Booby Trap, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2016

It was lovely to have you and your group each and every time. Thank you for taking your time to write a review; it's much appreciated. And, just like I told you guys, the nicest compliment you can give us is to come back, which you guys have done! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Booby Trap also viewed

Puerto Villamil, Isabela
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 
Isabela, Galapagos Islands
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 

Been to Booby Trap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.