We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hospedaje Cerro Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value, nice place”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

While we enjoyed our stay, I only fully realized what a great place this was until after we tried to find a comparable room for the price in Santa Cruz. We arrived in Isabella with no reservations and luckily stumbled upon Cerro Azul. Nelton was awesome and super helpful. The hotel is really clean, wifi, has free water, and comfy hammocks to relax in. Nelton sold us a reasonably priced tour and ferry tickets, but he doesn't push these things on you like some hotels do. We had no complaints at Cerro Azul. It is a great value and located just far enough from the square to be quiet but still close to everything. Air conditioner works great too as does the hot water.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYC_angus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
39
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nelton, the owner, is GREAT..very friendly..and looks after his guests very well! He meets you at the boat (free) and takes care of you the entire time. He booked us great tours at a reasonable price..and made sure they picked us up, even early morning! Very responsible! We only speak 10 words or Spanish and he only speaks 10 words or English..but everthing strangely went smoothly! His suggestion of the Red Lobster restaurant about 100 meters down the road (toward the beach) saved us a lot of money. We really appreciated the free bottled water in the lobby. There is a fairly large supermarket behind, about 50 meters away..again saved us money..since it's cheaper than the smaller markets in town. About 3 minutes to the main square/center of town..and another 3 minutes to the beach, so convenient..and QUIET! Rooms fairly large, but simple..but who needs a desk/TV/telephone on Isabela! Be sure to visit the church on the square for the very beautiful and unusual "wildlife" stained glass windows! I would definitely stay there again..and save even more money. Booking directly seems to be cheaper!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jinbay932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

FIRST THINGS FIRST *** BRING CASH the Island doesnt have ATMs *** DEET Free repellent and there was one more thing I will update when I remember...
The location of this hotel is just right, not to far away from main attractions but far enough that if la parranda se ensiende (we arrived in New Year) you wont be bothered by the loud music
It was clean and quiet and they do offer tours - we took advantage of a nature lagoon tour which was amazing - luckily, the animals were out and about, even the pinguinos...
now if it would have been right on the beach then...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sevenseasandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed on Isabla for 3 nights and were lucky enough to find this wonderful budget hotel owned and run by Nubert and his family. The rooms are very clean (they clean them every day and after two nights they even changed the sheets), large have privat bathrooms with hot water and power!
You can book a few tours for the island which are affordable and they also have a great display of things you can do on your own for free.
On a budget this is an excellent place to stay and we would highly recommend it! Nubert will also recommend cheap restaurants nearby and happily answer any other questions. He does not speak any English but he is incredibly charming and regardless you can work stuff out!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicysuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Villamil hotels
0.4 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#4 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Posada del Caminante
Posada del Caminante
#4 of 22 in Puerto Villamil
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sula Sula
Hotel Sula Sula
#7 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Cerro Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Cerro Azul

Property: Hospedaje Cerro Azul
Address: Calle Tero Real y Gaviotin, Puerto Villamil 200350, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hospedaje Cerro Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hospedaje Cerro Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Cerro Azul Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing