We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lauro is an Excellent Host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada del Caminante
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in the newer building and found that the rooms seemed to be better ventilated than the smaller, older building. It meant that we had to walk over to get internet and use kitchen, but that wasn't a great problem. The room was spacious, had a refrigerator and a fan. Lauro was great at making sure we were happy, organizing tours, and getting us on a launcha when most of them were full. Overall, for the price you pay, it is a well worth it stay. The free water and bananas were an added bonus. Wifi was available, yet slow, like the rest of the islands.

Room Tip: the rooms in the newer building are better ventilated, but have no kitchen. the room top of the new...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin-RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Posada del Caminante
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 91 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

The new building has better ventilation and windows. With a more open feel since the old building is crammed and close quarters.
However the WiFi only works in the old building.

Great that they supply water and bananas, and a friendly easy going fun host with good tour prices.

also mind that some rooms have a kitchen and others do not, however he lets you use his kitchen which is nice bit kinda weird. I wouls stay in new building vs. Old building.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Posada del Caminante is runned by a really nice and friendly family. We stayed for 3 nights with them. They have two locations. The one showing on the picture is a newer than the second location, but the older location has faster internet. Both locations have great hammocks and a small chill area. Alsmost al the rooms have a fridge and some a small kitchen. The hostel is two blocks away from the city center and about a 3 minute walk.

You pay between 10-15 dollars p.n.p.p. depending on the number of nights. We got free towels, FREE LAUNDRY and free drinkingwater. There are no other hostels on the islands that have better service and rooms for this amount of money.

We had a very pleasant stay and a great time on Isabela island.

Bart and Marjolein (The Netherlands)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadadelcaminante, Director de Recepción at Posada del Caminante, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013
Google Translation

Hola Bart y Marjolein, gracias por tus comentarios nos serviran de mucho es una gran alegria saber que se marcharon felices y complacidos fue un gusto y una satisfaccion haber compartido con ustedes.
Saludos y Suerte en sus vidas
Byron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Lauro is the face of this welcoming, clean and good located Hostal. We felt at home eating seasonal fruit and not worried about water to drink as it is available for "the family". We had a great time lying on the hammocks and being able to cook it can make Galapagos's most pretty Island at cheaper stay.

Room Tip: Take some hear plugs....Roosters are everywhere
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadadelcaminante, Propietario at Posada del Caminante, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013
Google Translation

hola mi amigo Nuno gracias por tus comentarios, que gusto saber que te sentiste bien con nosotros me llena de alegria saberlo ustedes se transforman en mi familia y me siento muy bien al compartir momentos agradables que son recuerdos que permaneceran..
saludos y suerte en tu vida
Lauro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wamashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Beltramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katja Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.4 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
580 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#8 of 10 in Isabela
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#4 of 26 in Puerto Villamil
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hospedaje Cerro Azul
Hospedaje Cerro Azul
#8 of 26 in Puerto Villamil
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sula Sula
Hotel Sula Sula
#6 of 26 in Puerto Villamil
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Caminante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Caminante

Address: Isla Isabela, Barrio Loja. a 100 metros del Mercado Municipal, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: $20 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchored in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, Isabela Island is a dream destination for nature lovers.The sandy streets of Puerto Villamil welcome the traveler like no other place in the Galapagos – or the world, for that matter.La Posada del Caminante invites you to rest in its quiet surroundings. Relax on a hammock, enjoy seasonal fruits and a cool drink under the gazebo. Our spacious rooms will accomodate families, couples and backpackers.Our typical equatorian family-style lodging is complemented by friendly tourism services.We can help you organize the tours around the island that suit you best: a slow walk on the beach, hiking to the Wall of Tears, visit to the giant Galapagos turtle reserve, various levels of treking on the different volcanoes, snorkelling with sharks, bird watching, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Posada del Caminante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Caminante Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing