We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Eve Dinner!”

El Cafetal Galapagos
Cuisines: Seafood, South American, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Sea Food, Vegetarian Food, Traditional Food, Gourmet Food...
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Prior to our arrival in Puerto Villamil on Christmas Eve, I was looking for a restaurant to have dinner with my family. Upon my request the proprietor of the house we were staying made several recommendations for dinner, but after checking on the Tripadvisor reviews I wasn't overly impressed.
I saw the reviews for El Cafetal during the search and reached out to the owner inquiring if they had anything special planned for Christmas Eve....Albert (restaurant owner) immediately responded offering a variety of three, four course meals, along with raspberry juice, a shot of Ecuadorian liquor (that would blow your socks off) and choice of dessert.

Upon our arrival we were greeted and seated by Albert....he is absolutely delightful and an outstanding host! We had seating on the patio over looking the plaza.....beautifully decorated for the Christmas holiday! We were not disappointed with our meal....every course was delicious!!!! During the meal we meet the chef, Veronica, cute as a button and quite talented in the kitchen!
We enjoyed dinner at El Cafetal on our last night in Isabela and again we weren't disappointed...we loved the setting and hospitality! if you are visiting Isabela and looking for a reasonably priced, delicious meal with awesome service...El Cafetal is just the place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sites2SeeAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adalber c, Propietario at El Cafetal Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014
Google Translation

hola como estan espero que bien y que el viaje alla estado bien, saludos y gracias por el comentario..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 251 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

Looking for something pretty special we tried the lobster on recommendation. Biggest I have ever seen and beautifully presented. By Galapagos standards the service was excellent, though we waited a while and were given some banana chips and profuse apologies to make up for this. I felt that every detail was attended to and it was a real treat to return the next day and try the veg lasagne.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Five of us checked it out based on the TA reviews and were not disappointed. One of the group is a vegetarian and she was very happy with the lasagna -- one of the best she had ever had. Two had lobster...a bit pricey at $33. Both were very happy....better than the other lobster we've had on the islands. Cooked perfectly with an excellent garlic butter herb sauce..more sauce would have been better. The other two of us had the special, which was a three course meal for $15, a very good price. It began with a tasty carrot soup followed by octupus in a garlic sauce. The octopus was just okay, the accompanying veggies and fries excellent. The blackberry mousse dessert was also well received. I know it's a small place but maybe they could improve on the wine selection....there are many very good cheap Chilean or Argentinian wines available. We couldn't get decent wine anywhere on the island..maybe storage is an issue. Other drinks were excellent...best coffee on the island and the Piña Colada was exceptional. We would go back for sure!

1  Thank Kerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elcafetal G, Propietario at El Cafetal Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013
Google Translation

gracias por su buen comentario... saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

On thé main square of Pto. Villamil, Isabela Island, thé wild west of thé Galapagos Islands, El Cafetal us a haven of peace and hospitality, run professionally by a cheerful Colombian fellow and his Ecuadorian girlfriend, who happens to be a talented 'Chef'. Thé cosy atmosphère, deligjtful inner patio, adds up to thé culinary experience and thé lobster is to lick your finger to thé last morsel...! Not to be missed and certainly recommended for a night out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pierre_Constant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Based on TA reviews we possibly expected more and so unfortunately for them was a little disappointed. The prawn dish I had was good and the veges it came with were very welcome but not sure I would put it up in the excellent category as others have.

Thank Rachel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elcafetal G, Propietario at El Cafetal Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013
Google Translation

muchas gracias por su importante opinion y siempre estaremos atentos a las mejoras y recomendaciones que nos hagan.. cordial saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cafetal Galapagos also viewed

Puerto Villamil, Isabela
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 
Isabela, Galapagos Islands
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 

Been to El Cafetal Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing