We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

El Cafetal Galapagos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, South American, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: SEA FOOD, VEGETARIAN FOOD, TRADITIONAL FOOD, GOURMET FOOD...
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Delicious seafood beautifully prepared and presented with warmth and good humour. And the coffee...! Best Ive had during a month on the Galapagos. I prefer dark roast but this was very very good.
Charming environment, interesting conversations, a spacious interior room with lofty ceiling which accommodates larger groups, and seating outside plus 6 more tables in a smaller room facing onto the main square in Puerto Villamil.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oceanppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elcafetal G, Propietario at El Cafetal Galapagos, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Google Translation
muchas gracias por su opinion es muy importante para nosotros que le alla gustado nuestra comida y nuestro servicio... saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    33
    14
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We ate here two nights in a row since the food was great! Definitely go for the meal of the day since it's a great price for $10, and the the food is delicious. Since we went during July 2013, we didn't have to worry about the crowds and/or reservations. Service was also attentive as were one of the few diners eating an early dinner. In addition, there wasn't a rush for us to leave the restaurant as we finished watching the documentary, "Planet Ocean."

During the first night, we had:
- Vegetable soup which was really creamy.
- Swordfish as the main entree. The swordfish was cooked extremely well and so moist. The dish also came with veggies, fries, and rice.
- Dessert was coffee cake. Literally a cake made from coffee flavor.

On the second night, we had:
- Corn soup
- Grilled tuna with rice, potato, and veggies as the main entree
- Tiramisu.for dessert

Go to this place if you are on Isabela Island!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeroppiQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elcafetal G, Propietario at El Cafetal Galapagos, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Google Translation
hola, un gran saludo, te recuerdo y agradezco enormemente tu opinion y tos fotos estan magnificas, muchas gracias y espero estes muy bien y si regresas aqui te esperamos algun dia.... un gran abrazo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful little surprise”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went to El Cafetal based on prior reviews, so perhaps I wasn't completely surprised. It was a three course menu, with fairly limited options, but we had 2 of the main courses and both were delicious, as were the soup and 2 desert. Definitely upscale food compared to most of the places in Puerto Villamil. Service was prompt and excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cooperhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“delicious and creative!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We did the menu of the day and it was delicious! We had a pumpkin soup to start. For entree my husband had ceviche and I had grilled octopus - both deliciously seasoned and came with fries and salad. And for dessert it was a spicy coffee cake. Their food is really creative and delicious! I would highly recommend this place. It was our best meal in Puerto Villamil.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KIMBERLY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry, england
Level Contributor
574 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“The only true restaurant in the islands - an experience”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Not that you want to escape from the Galapagos, but sometimes the restaurants start to look and feel the same. El Cafetal is really different, from the relaxing music to the 'café culture' décor, you feel transported to somewhere else the minute you walk in.

The food too was out of this world. My wife managed to order things not on the menu, including some amazing garlic mushrooms, while my sirloin was more like Fillet and cooked beautifully, and since we'd skipped lunch, I also had spaghetti Bolognese as a starter which I absolutely wolfed down as it was so tasty. The chipotle sauce with the steak transported me to Mexico as well. Loads of lovely touches reminiscent of really top restaurants.

We met the chef, who was surely trained somewhere top notch, and the waiter was friendly too, making the whole evening feel really special. When they ran out of wine, the waiter went and got some from another restaurant for us. We'd go back tonight if we weren't already on another island. On top of this, no more expensive than any other place there.

Probably the only TRUE restaurant in the whole Galapagos, and worthy of all the praise it gets.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cafetal Galapagos also viewed

Puerto Villamil, Isabela
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 
Isabela, Galapagos Islands
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 

Been to El Cafetal Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing