We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite place to play with sealions”
Review of Concha de Perla

Concha de Perla
Book In Advance
More Info
$164.00*
and up
Full-Day Isabela Island Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vista, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to play with sealions”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Concha de Perla is a gem. We went snorkeling there three times during our stay on Isabela, and each time we saw totally new and fantastic sea life from just a short walk or taxi ride from our hostel. the sealion pups like to play in the sheltered cove here in the morning. It is actually pretty deep here, so if you swim out over the middle you can often see rays and other such sandy-bottom lovers. There is a neat place near where it connect to the harbor to swim through a collapsed lava tunnel, where you can see lots of corral growing on the sides of the rock and plenty of fish. We didn't see turtles or iguanas here, but other people at our hostel did the same day we went but at a different time. And it's free!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tori Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    216
    86
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pucon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good snorkeling on your own”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

NIce snorkeling with sea lions near the walkway, some fish and a bit out iguanas and sometimes turtels. go with low tide.
we went there 3 times during our stay in Ayora in July.
At least in July better have a wetsuite.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MathiasBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
355 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Free walk-to Snorkel Spot !”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

How can you go wrong with a great snorkel spot in the Galapagos. We were there mid July and a short suit was good enough. Try and hit it at low tide, I think the water is clearer then. We went early and there was only one other couple there. We snorkeled with a sea lion and the were a couple up on the platform. Great walk thru the mangroves.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Easy to get to”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Extremely easy to find as it's just beside the ferry, and so tends to get used as the first or last stop for ferry users. It's a short walk through an interesting mangrove area, and it appears several sea lions hangout on the board walk. The number of people varied while we were there, from very few to almost packed with kids on their way to Santa Cruz. The sea lions (especially the pups) seemed to particularly like playing with the kids. The snorkeling was pretty average, but I scored the place higher because what you see will vary with when you come, and it's so easy to access without any guide or tour. We saw several fish and the sea lions, but not much else. There is a nice channel to snorkel. Would like to visit at different times of the day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TripAway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
801 reviews
438 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“walkway”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

From downtown, walk toward the ferry pier, and just before on your left hand take the wood walkway. You walk in the middle of the mangroves lace together bathing in clear water. On your way you may come across a sleepy/silly sea lion.
You can go for a snorkeling with them or simply sit one of the bench of the wooden deck and enjoyed the beautiful nature.
The best time for snorkeling would be at mid-tide

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Concha de Perla also viewed

Puerto Villamil, Isabela
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
Isabela, Galapagos Islands
 

Been to Concha de Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing