We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Puerto Villamil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Los Delfines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Los Delfines to your Saves list
Casa Los Delfines
Av. Antonio Gil y Los Petreles, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador (Formerly The Dolphin House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Puerto Villamil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was lucky enough to travel with friends who were very familiar with Isla Isabela in the Galapagos. The Dolphin Hotel in Puerto Villamil is always their choice and with good reason - great owners and service staff; very clean and very affordable; and right on the beach. The hotel is located a little over a mile from ocean entry dock and the Concha del Perla, a gorgeous snorkeling cove and estuary. A dollar taxi ride will get you there quicker than walking, although hoofing it there, and around the whole town, is doable. Using the tour agencies close to the hotel, we scheduled day excursions which included Las Tintoreras, Los Tuneles, Tortuga Island, and much more. After a day of amazing landscape views and incredible sea and wildlife encounters, we'd return to the hotel and would have our choice of many restaurants within walking distance - but mostly we ate at Aloha Betsy's, which was 3 doors down, and Betsy always cooked up some great local meals. There were also visits to Bar de Beto, which is a brief walk on the beach that ended with a few cold beers and unbelievable ocean sunsets. The inexpensive laundry service next door came in handy also as we prepared to come home - and with clean clothes no less! The Galapagos is a once-in-a-lifetime experience and The Dolphin Hotel made it a very comfortable and enjoyable one. Thank you Manuko!

Room Tip: The hotel has wi-fi but with a very limited range. It can be picked up near the very front of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Time4Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
gadsden alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The staff at hotel dolphin was excellent. Very helpful in making our stay on isabela the best that it could be. We ate breakfast there and it was very good. Very clean rooms with air conditioning. The location is great, right downtown, 3 minute walk to restaurants and tour agencies. This hotel is right on a beautiful beach which was very convenient. After seeing all the other places to stay I would definitely stay there again. Thank you hotel dolphin for making our time on isabela the best that it could be!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We originally booked a hotel at the Comorrant but saw the place and walked away. Then we went to the busiest hotel, Casa Rosada, had a look at the rooms and thought they looked trashy. We were desperate and would have stayed there, but the owner didn't have any more rooms and highly recommended Hotel Volcano. We ended up spending a night at the worst hotel we've ever stayed at. We felt that the Casa Rosada hotel owner recommended Hotel Volcano so we would return to her hotel the next day. That was dirty! She probably knew no one had stayed at that hotel for a long time because it was empty and filthy.

We ended up finding the DOLPHIN HOUSE HOTEL, which made our stay at Isabela Island a real pleasure! The owners were super kind, honest and professional. The rooms were very clean, had an ocean front and made it feel like a home. In my opinion it was the BEST hotel in all Isabela Island from what we've seen and heard about. This is not the Hilton, but it's extremely pleasant, clean and the staff was really helpful at arranging our transportation and helping us find the best tourism deals on the island.

This hotel is right next to a kiosk that rents out bikes and a laundry place where you pay a small amount to get your laundry done. If we ever go back, we'll definitely stay at the Dolphin House again. We highly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: During low season as if they can offer you a discount and an ocean front room. If you have valuables...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel was arranged for us by Galapagos Alternative. It was very clean and the view was great.
It was wonderful to leave the windows open at night to hear the sound of the ocean.
Staff was friendly and breakfast was very good.
Location was just right - close enough to the center of town but far enough away to sleep when the NYE music continued past dawn.

We liked the small shop adjoining the hotel where they silk screened their own shirts and made stuffed animals.
I would like to have been able to refill my water bottles in the hotel.
There were some mosquitos. We could not find a coil to buy on the island.
****DO BRING MORE SUNSCREEN then you think you will need. If you run out you will have to pay dearly for sunscreen on the island.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMHDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4, on one of the top floor units. Hotel is on the beach, with beach view in some rooms. Our room had a nice shared deck with fantastic view of the beach!

Rooms are very clean. Installations are very basic though. AC didn't work in our room, but there were 3 windows so we got enough breeze to go by.

Owner, Manuel, is very nice and cares about you feeling as a private guest at his B and B.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleResident999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

If your traveling in the Galapagos Islands with a tight budget this is your place. We stayed there for 2 nights and we couldn't be happier. Although Pto. Villamil is really small, the location of the hotel is amazing right in front of the beach and a block away from the central park, the flamingos lagoon, restaurants, drugstores, etc. Make sure to book the room in the top floor by the balcony you'll sleep to the ocean sounds, overall the room was clean, has A/C, a mini fridge, tv, hot water at any time. The owners will do everything to help you, and if you speak spanish you can talk with the owner for hours really cool guy.

The $30 per person a night includes breakfast (with freshly brewed coffee wich is hard to find in hotels in Ecuador), fresh fruit, eggs and juice. You can book tours in the hotel to Los túneles and Sierra Negra Volcano from $25 to $60 bucks, you can also rent bikes next door for $2,50 per hour so you can go to all the other lagoons and Concha de Perla wich was amazing and unexpensive (beautiful walk to a place were you can do snorkeling, see sealions, tortoises and tons of fish). They also sell cheaper beer than other stores in town.

I'll definitely stay here on my next trip to Isabella, unexpensive and clean, perfect for a low to mid budget trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veraz
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We got to Puerto Villamil without reservations and had to find a place to sleep. We checked out about 6 different hotels before we decided on the Dolphin House. The reason we picked this place because a) A lot of other places were booked - there were a couple of other hotels that looked really cute, but were all sold out b) this place was cheap and looked clean. We stayed at the Dolphin House for 3 nights in Room 6 on the upper floor. We were originally given a different room on the 2nd floor which was a lot smaller and had a tiny window that looked out to the ocean. We then saw that the bigger room on upper floor was available with a much better view and a terrace attached to it, so we asked if we could switch and they were very accommodating to allow us do that. The room was very basic (no decorations), with two beds, mini fridge, AC, old TV, clean basic bathroom. WiFi does not work in the room, but is available in the reception area. Breakfast was included in the price. The hotel is very close the area with all the restaurants, although everything is very close to everything in Puerto Villamil.

All in all it was a good basic hotel, but compared to other places we stayed on our trip to Galapagos, this was probably the least impressive for the price.

PS: On the restaurants in the area. Favorite lunch place: Cesar's - cheap local lunch deal for $5-6 includes juice, soup of the day, and main dish of the day (mixed seafood rice or grilled fish on the day we ate). Food was great here. Favorite dinner place: On the adjacent street to the main street restaurant called "Cultural Cafe" or something like that. They have delicious crapes and pasta! They had a "Happy Hour 2x1" sign displayed, but said it was only on weekends. The drinks were good anyway. Worst dinner place: Los Delfines - don't go there. We got dinner meal which is common in most restaurants where you get juice, soup, main dish and desert. Other than the juice, everything else was gross. When they brought out the main dish I wasn't sure there was any fish on the plate - the sliver of grilled tuna was so tiny and thin, that I didn't even notice it on the plate at first. Aside from the portion, the food was just not good. Snacks: Our favorite place was a little Panaderia (Bread Store) just down the street that sold delicious bread/pastries. They were only opened early in the morning or after 4 or 5 pm. Pan de Chocolate or Orejas were our favorite pastries.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
3.9 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
4.0 mi away
Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge
Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge
#5 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
3.7 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hostal La Jungla
Hostal La Jungla
#5 of 10 in Isabela
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#3 of 21 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Los Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Los Delfines

Address: Av. Antonio Gil y Los Petreles, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador (Formerly The Dolphin House)
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Los Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Los Delfines Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing