We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, Convenient and Great Rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Los Delfines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Los Delfines
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
“Affordable, Convenient and Great Rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We originally booked a hotel at the Comorrant but saw the place and walked away. Then we went to the busiest hotel, Casa Rosada, had a look at the rooms and thought they looked trashy. We were desperate and would have stayed there, but the owner didn't have any more rooms and highly recommended Hotel Volcano. We ended up spending a night at the worst hotel we've ever stayed at. We felt that the Casa Rosada hotel owner recommended Hotel Volcano so we would return to her hotel the next day. That was dirty! She probably knew no one had stayed at that hotel for a long time because it was empty and filthy.

We ended up finding the DOLPHIN HOUSE HOTEL, which made our stay at Isabela Island a real pleasure! The owners were super kind, honest and professional. The rooms were very clean, had an ocean front and made it feel like a home. In my opinion it was the BEST hotel in all Isabela Island from what we've seen and heard about. This is not the Hilton, but it's extremely pleasant, clean and the staff was really helpful at arranging our transportation and helping us find the best tourism deals on the island.

This hotel is right next to a kiosk that rents out bikes and a laundry place where you pay a small amount to get your laundry done. If we ever go back, we'll definitely stay at the Dolphin House again. We highly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: During low season as if they can offer you a discount and an ocean front room. If you have valuables...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
18
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel was arranged for us by Galapagos Alternative. It was very clean and the view was great.
It was wonderful to leave the windows open at night to hear the sound of the ocean.
Staff was friendly and breakfast was very good.
Location was just right - close enough to the center of town but far enough away to sleep when the NYE music continued past dawn.

We liked the small shop adjoining the hotel where they silk screened their own shirts and made stuffed animals.
I would like to have been able to refill my water bottles in the hotel.
There were some mosquitos. We could not find a coil to buy on the island.
****DO BRING MORE SUNSCREEN then you think you will need. If you run out you will have to pay dearly for sunscreen on the island.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMHDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4, on one of the top floor units. Hotel is on the beach, with beach view in some rooms. Our room had a nice shared deck with fantastic view of the beach!

Rooms are very clean. Installations are very basic though. AC didn't work in our room, but there were 3 windows so we got enough breeze to go by.

Owner, Manuel, is very nice and cares about you feeling as a private guest at his B and B.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleResident999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

If your traveling in the Galapagos Islands with a tight budget this is your place. We stayed there for 2 nights and we couldn't be happier. Although Pto. Villamil is really small, the location of the hotel is amazing right in front of the beach and a block away from the central park, the flamingos lagoon, restaurants, drugstores, etc. Make sure to book the room in the top floor by the balcony you'll sleep to the ocean sounds, overall the room was clean, has A/C, a mini fridge, tv, hot water at any time. The owners will do everything to help you, and if you speak spanish you can talk with the owner for hours really cool guy.

The $30 per person a night includes breakfast (with freshly brewed coffee wich is hard to find in hotels in Ecuador), fresh fruit, eggs and juice. You can book tours in the hotel to Los túneles and Sierra Negra Volcano from $25 to $60 bucks, you can also rent bikes next door for $2,50 per hour so you can go to all the other lagoons and Concha de Perla wich was amazing and unexpensive (beautiful walk to a place were you can do snorkeling, see sealions, tortoises and tons of fish). They also sell cheaper beer than other stores in town.

I'll definitely stay here on my next trip to Isabella, unexpensive and clean, perfect for a low to mid budget trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veraz
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We got to Puerto Villamil without reservations and had to find a place to sleep. We checked out about 6 different hotels before we decided on the Dolphin House. The reason we picked this place because a) A lot of other places were booked - there were a couple of other hotels that looked really cute, but were all sold out b) this place was cheap and looked clean. We stayed at the Dolphin House for 3 nights in Room 6 on the upper floor. We were originally given a different room on the 2nd floor which was a lot smaller and had a tiny window that looked out to the ocean. We then saw that the bigger room on upper floor was available with a much better view and a terrace attached to it, so we asked if we could switch and they were very accommodating to allow us do that. The room was very basic (no decorations), with two beds, mini fridge, AC, old TV, clean basic bathroom. WiFi does not work in the room, but is available in the reception area. Breakfast was included in the price. The hotel is very close the area with all the restaurants, although everything is very close to everything in Puerto Villamil.

All in all it was a good basic hotel, but compared to other places we stayed on our trip to Galapagos, this was probably the least impressive for the price.

PS: On the restaurants in the area. Favorite lunch place: Cesar's - cheap local lunch deal for $5-6 includes juice, soup of the day, and main dish of the day (mixed seafood rice or grilled fish on the day we ate). Food was great here. Favorite dinner place: On the adjacent street to the main street restaurant called "Cultural Cafe" or something like that. They have delicious crapes and pasta! They had a "Happy Hour 2x1" sign displayed, but said it was only on weekends. The drinks were good anyway. Worst dinner place: Los Delfines - don't go there. We got dinner meal which is common in most restaurants where you get juice, soup, main dish and desert. Other than the juice, everything else was gross. When they brought out the main dish I wasn't sure there was any fish on the plate - the sliver of grilled tuna was so tiny and thin, that I didn't even notice it on the plate at first. Aside from the portion, the food was just not good. Snacks: Our favorite place was a little Panaderia (Bread Store) just down the street that sold delicious bread/pastries. They were only opened early in the morning or after 4 or 5 pm. Pan de Chocolate or Orejas were our favorite pastries.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We actually stayed in the Caleta Iguana for one night before moving to this place. We loved it here. The room was very clean and had AC, hot water, mini fridge and a small lock box (lock not included). We had room #6 which was on the second floor with an ocean view.

The woman running the place does not speak English but extremely nice and will go out of her way to help you. We used google translator to help with the communication barrier.

The room had 2 beds (one was nice and soft and the other one was like a rock).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Hello,

My wife and I went to Isla Isabela in the Summer of '11. We had made reservations with a placed called Hotel Sula Sula before we left the US. We were so unimpressed with Hotel Sula Sula we decied to look on the island for other places to stay. We stumbled upon The Dolphin House. The Dolphin House was not advertised online until my wife and I asked Trip Advisor to add it. I am glad they added it!

More on the property.

The Dolphin House is on the beach. 9 Units Total with total accomodation of 23 persons. 2 Triple Rooms (three beds) 3 Doubles (two beds) and 4 Matrimonials (two or 1 bed). We stayed on the top floor in unit 7 (not exactly sure if it was room 7 but pretty sure). The unit is beside the "roof top patio" which had a lovely view of the ocean with chairs to sit and enjoy the view. You can see in the photos that room 7 looks out onto the patio from the windows in the room.

The unit is quiet, with lovely ocean sounds emanating day and night. My wife and I fell asleep to the ocean sounds every night. This cannot be said for our other hotel experience on Isabela which had us falling asleep (if we could) to dogs barking, vehicle noises, wind making the windows rattle, bed sheets too small for the bed, etc.

The unit is very clean and cleaned daily by the Hotel owners.

The owners do not speak English. We did not speak spanish very well. I can somewhat undestand basic spanish when it is spoken to me... I utilized a iPhone app to communicate with the owners about my need for a room, asked quesitons about the price, asked to see the room etc. I was able to get the room for $40.00 per night. This is what we were paying at the Hotel we did not like. So we cancelled the rest of our reservations at our previous hotel for The Dolphin House and only wished we could have stayed at The Dolphin House the entire time!! The owners are so very nice and kind. I could tell the owners cared about us and wanted our stay to be special. I which we could have communicated with them more. We said Muchas Gracias as much as possible! This review is our way of saying thank you to them.

Amenities:
Hot Water All The Time (not just certain times in the day)
Clean / Fresh Towels
Comfortable Bed (at least in Room 7)
Newer Construction (maybe 3-5 years old in 2011?)
A/C with Remote Control all rooms
TV with Remote Control all rooms (but why use it?)
1 Block from main shops / restaurants / plaza
On Beach (One caveat: beach access is possible from the property but you are kinda walking through the owners yard in a way. We chose to walk to the beach from the beach path next to the property and allow the owners to have their privacy. If I could speak more spanish I would have asked if we could walk to the beach on their property... but I would not know how to ask it!)
Refrigerator in each room!! (Cold beer purcahsed cheaply from local stores versus restaurants or bars)
Across the street and to the left there is a place to reserve day trips on the island. They speak English and also have real coffee during the morning and evening. Yes, that is right, real brewed coffee not instant! Being from Seattle, my wife and I were desperate for good coffee. This was as good as we could hope for. They plan excursions to the volcano, diving trips, snorkeling, surfing / body boarding (I think...). A great tour operator... wish I could remember the name.

I am glad The Dolphin House is now known to the world via Trip Advisor. I hope the family running The Dolphin House can have more happy visitors like us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danicwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
3.5 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#3 of 24 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.5 mi away
Drake Inn
Drake Inn
#1 of 22 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Isabela Beach House
The Isabela Beach House
#7 of 29 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Los Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Los Delfines

Property: Casa Los Delfines
Address: Av. Antonio Gil y Los Petreles, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador (Formerly The Dolphin House)
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Los Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Los Delfines Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing