We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Iguana Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iguana Crossing
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our stay at Iguana Crossing was, sadly, very disappointing. After making reservations months in advance, upon arrival our pre-paid reservation length was questioned even after producing email confirmation. When shown to our room on the ground floor- steps from the bar- we noticed the ceiling was dripping onto one of the beds. We immediately brought this to the attention of the manager. He assured us this would be fixed. They could not move us as the owner had filled the other rooms with his friends to celebrate his birthday. We walked into town and returned after dinner. The leak/drip was not fixed. They just pulled the bed away from the wall. No, I am not joking. We were exhausted and went to sleep with the drip, drip, drip all night onto the tile floor.
We stayed away from the hotel all day with snorkeling and hiking and also because the hotel was full of the owners friends and relatives who had taken over the common and pool areas. It was very loud and uncomfortable. I am not sure why they took our reservation if a party was planned. We left after the second night and stayed elsewhere- . The leak was never fixed. The ceiling dripped our entire visit. We were never approached by the owner or manager to offer any solutions. The island of Isabela is beautiful and I am sad we had such a bad experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
20  Thank MaryanneG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 600 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed 3 nights. Very limited choices on Isabella, so this was the best hotel available. Hotel was newer but has much wear and tear. Water conservation showers and sinks are less than ideal. Cozy restaurant served breakfast each day with good staff. Good location on beach and near trails.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank JGEBKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio1959, Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for choosing our hotel during his first visit to Isabela Island in the Galapagos. It is an honor for us to receive flattering words on your part, as this encourages us to continue improving our service
We look forward to your visit in a new opportunity, we said goodbye to you, but not before reiterate our appreciation and self-esteem.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

What a find! Rooms were nicely furnished and comfortable. Nice end-of-road location. Staff super friendly and property very clean. Internet spotty, but then again, you are in the Galapagos Islands. Food was good at breakfast and dinner. Great, relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Street/ocean view rooms have a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1sandlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales2Iguana, Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you first of all having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and also for the comments of the well that you felt during your stay, all the people who make up Iguana Crossing, treat whenever our guests feel very well and at his home



Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We´ve stayed 5 nights at the Iguana Crossing Hotel during our vacation on the Galapagos Island from 2nd till 7th November 2013.

During this stay we´ve discovered a lot of things at the hotel which we weren´t happy with at all since we´ve expected more for the price we've payed and from what we were expecting from the Hotel website and the high demands it seemed the Hotel set's to itself - a superior hotel with a dedicated excellence in all aspects.

What we literally found was something different.

Starting with the day before we arrived we had a look at the hotel in the evening and already got mixed feelings due to the fact that the hotel from the outside almost looked dead. It seemed no one was there and everything was closed.

The day we arrived we faced the first trouble since the front desk woman seemed to be nice but did not speak English at all. Luckily my girlfriend was able to speak spanish otherwise we would be lost. When we entered our room (we booked a vulcano view front room for 200 $ a night) we were kind of shocked, since what we found was the view onto a more or less mudhole with a larger hill in the background but not what we were expecting as a Volcano view at all. In addition to this we had a disturbing construction site right underneith our window. Our room of course was clean and tidied up but not fullfilled a superior set up. Instead, it felt like a cold spartanic chamber with a bathroom and without any sense of warmth or hospitality.

Luckily after 4 hours waiting time (since the front desk woman couldn´t help us with our claim, it seems there was no manager at all available or someone who was able to take any kind of responsebility or decision) we managed to get an upgrade to an ocean view room, since there were some rooms not booked. This we appreciated very much but imagine that this wouldn´t be able in the high season and we would have paid even a higher price we would have felt totally ripped off!

In general we never met a hotel manger during our stay or anyone who seemed to have a general responsibility and therefore the staff was more or less doing what they want but not what they´re supposed to in a hotel like this. So during our whole stay we were staying several times at the roof top lounge or in the bar area of the hotel we were not asked a single time if we want to have a drink or something else. Even more if we wanted to get a drink or snack we had to go down from the roof top lounge every time by ourselves to get something we wanted or needed although there´s a nice bar on the roof but was closed completely… sometimes we even did not found anyone at the front desk, so we had to look for the staff downstairs in the kitchen if we needed something.

Furthermore, when we stayed once in the hotel lounge at the ground level for some relaxing and book reading the staff watched a soccer game on the hotel presenting screen for their private pleasure, not paying attention to us or the fact we wanted to chill out and not hearing the noise of the TV speaker and the staff yelling for the goals!

The ocean view room we we´re staying was clean but after two days we found an ant highway from the floor to the air condition and also the bath smelled quite sticky. Also curtains with noumerous holes are not what we have expected in such a hotel.

Coming to the breakfast I would rather say it´s reasonable but not more and not what the menu in the room promised us or we were expecting from a superior hotel. The variety was quite limited which we would accept to a certain extend since of course it´s hard to provide a first class variety on Galapagos. But this was not far away from the breakfast we had during our stay in hostals on other Islands of the archipel. In addition to that we read in the room menu waffles could be ordered for breakfast, but if we asked the staff they pretend that there are no waffles available.

In fact we were asked if we wanted to have some eggs but not at all for coffee or tee? Furthermore sometimes 3 poeple of the staff were standing around in the breakfast room and chatting all the timing or screaming to front desk to talk with the staff sitting there. Not very romantic...Furthermore right after we got our eggs there was nobody seen in case of any further needs.

Starting our days, several mornings we were woken up at 7 or 8 o' clock in the morning by the staff moving some furnitures for whatever reasons on the floors. From the outside of the hotel loud noises kept us awake as the pool area was refurbished. This was ongoing until we left. Every day 10 more wooden panels to clean with the high pressure cleaner and to paint. This limited the desire to rest outside as it was loud, not very welcoming with the machine standing around and  the sunbeds were not prepared. Although we stayed in the hotel during the low season we would have exspected more sensitivty to the guests convenience or at least this is done within a short amount of time when you inform your guests ahead of time and offer some alternative.

Our booking included a promotional dinner which we were looking forward very much especially after we already had an excellent dinner at the second night. This gave us the feeling of a fair discount for the low season. To be honest this was our negative highlight during our stay. The evening we went for the promotional Dinner we had to realize that we were not able to order anything from the regular menu but only from a dedicated card with very low skilled and only cheap food. This neither fits to a superior Hotel nor has any positive experience for guests. For us we almost wanted to skip the dinner. The only reason we did not was our parents education. We were really disappointed of the offered choice as well as from the food and crashed our mood for this evening since we felt totally ripped off and frustrated, which was definitely not what we were looking for in our vacation.

Entering this hotel did not really felt like coming to a place that could be our home for some days but more not to bother the staff too much since they were doing anything else but not giving a warm welcome.

Most of the aspects maybe could be seen less dramatic if we wouldn't have paid for a superior hotel with excellent service and facilities which would be the only reason to spend so much more money for. We also could have the same level accomodation for a significant lower price and a way better service only a few meters next to this place. Overall the level of pricing does not suit the level of service which is offered to the guests, neither for the accomodition nor in any other aspect of the hotel.

Before I end I want to give one positive note – Piarina the lady who manages the booking was always very helpful and before our arrival she was a big help for us as well as to help to organise our deparure.

To sum this up, the stay at Iguana Crossing was the most expensive part of our vacation as well as one part we were really looking forward to, but at the same time the one which disappointed us the most and we do not found any reason to recommend the hotel to any of our friends or in any other way.

After coming back home we've contacted the hotel management upfront before we wanted to rate the hotel in order to give them a chance to improve things. What we got was a rediculus answer which for us marked the peak of the insolence, after waiting several weeks for it. This was filled with lousy excuses, for instance that the behavior of the staff was explained with local attitude....

Therefore we decided to publish this evaluation.

If you want to spend either time in a nice hotel or lot's of money on isabella there are better places.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
26  Thank Hannes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

I had an excellent time here, I had the opportunity to be treated by the owners, excellent people also, thank you, I had a great time here, congratulations for the service, and all of the sevice staff, nothing to complain about here, everything was great, greetings to la negra and husband!
Mona

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Mona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio1959, Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear guest
For all the people who make the Iguana Crossing Hotel was a great honor and pleasure to have shared with you stay, I hope you never forget those happy moments they spent in the hotel.
We look forward to your visit in a new opportunity, we said goodbye to you, but not before reiterate our appreciation and self-esteem.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had one week on these amazing Hotel at Isabela, with a nice ocean view! good restaurant! the best of the island, service was perfect. Best snorking ever with pinguin and seals, We travel with all family, and kids enjoy everything. Super cool

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio1959, Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear guest
For all the people who make the Iguana Crossing Hotel was a great honor and pleasure to have shared with you stay, I hope you never forget those happy moments they spent in the hotel.
We look forward to your visit in a new opportunity, we said goodbye to you, but not before reiterate our appreciation and self-esteem.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The location is excellent right at the junction to the tortoise breeding center and iguana cross the road to dip in the sea during the day. The food was pricey but excellent and the lounge definitely the best part of the hotel. One of the attraction of this place and the reason why a room costs more than $300 is that it has a nice pool or so it seems from the pictures. When we got there the pool had been emptied and we were told it was going to be ready next day. It was not and it only got full by our last day though it had been raining and it was quite murky. We were explained that rain can have an impact however I am not sure why was the pool drained in the first place? T. A word of warning for the excursion that we pre-booked with them the mark ups are extremely high and some of the information was incorrect, book directly with the operators down the road there is never a fully booked situation. Service is good but on the slow side when it is there, but be aware that comes 9 pm in the evening you will find yourself alone at the bar with the staff all gone which was not as advertised (kitchen open all the time). Finally some words for whoever designed the rooms there are a number of flaws in the interior design that are rather annoying. We were in room 8 that has a wonderful view on the ocean and the mangroves you could not switch off the bed side lights without walking to the main switch and then had to find your way to bed in the dark. The air conditioning unit is wrongly located right on the top of the bed ours in fact was not working so we had to relocate to another room after complaining at bed time (we had not checked it before and the staff had not checked it either) this was fixed the day after.
The blackout blinds are made partially of plastic so when exposed to the sun melt and stick to themselves when pulled out produce holes and therefore are not that much of a black out, let alone the fact that there is a opaque glass to the bathroom that has no curtains so don't think of having a too dark room. The mosquito net have a design fault and gaps on both sides and mosquitos are a problem due to to proximity with the mangroves. The bathroom have a water saving system that provides water on demand and shuts off 8 seconds after for the shower and 3 seconds for the sinks. The sinks do not have hot water which is annoying if you want to shave.
I am fully supportive of the desire to avoid waste and water is precious on the island but the water supply of the sinks is a pain as you don't even press it that it stops again.
We were offered a discount to compensate for the pool not working and also a partial refund on the excursion by the very apologetic manager that I accepted to move on as we did have a good time on the island however this was all in all not good value for money and there are some things to be taken care of in this hotel as they look like structural or design defects.

Room Tip: Beach front have a great view and room 8 especially
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Interceptor121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.4 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Galapagos
Hostal Galapagos
#5 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
34 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#21 of 25 in Santa Cruz
42 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#8 of 10 in Isabela
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Crossing

Address: Av. Antonio Gil, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: $206 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Iguana Crossing 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Crossing is Isabela's newest and most innovative hotel. Its minimalist design and superior service offer guests a privileged experience on this scarcely populated island. Iguana Crossing is located in between Isabela's extensive white sand beaches and directly behind a wildlife-filled lagoon. Iguana Crossing offers an oceanfront swimming pool, Jacuzzi, 12 fully equipped rooms and a master suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Iguana Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Crossing Hotel Puerto Villamil
Iguana Crossing Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing