We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the Iguana Crossing”
Review of Iguana Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iguana Crossing
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss the Iguana Crossing”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Located at the end go the road of town, you'll find this gem of a boutique hotel. The marine iguanas have a designated rope crosswalk viewed easily by the infinity pool. Pedro will answer all of your questions, book your excursions and make your stay effortless. Behind the property you will find a turtle breeding center, flamingo lagoon and a pathway to an island walk that feels like you are in Darwin's footsteps. This property and the staff are a true find!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    104
    25
    13
    13
See reviews for
170
224
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We made the Iguana Crossing our home for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon. We were hoping to book the best place on the island, and we succeeded. Because the hotel is situated on the beach, you can enjoy the ocean breeze and the sound of the ocean from your bed. We enjoyed swimming in the pool every evening after the days activities to cool off from the Ecuadorian sun. After spending time on the island, you can appreciate the scarce resources available and the large undertaking required to build and maintain a hotel of this caliber. Rooms do have air-conditioning, flat screen tvs, and mini fridges.

The staff is very attentive and made us feel welcome for our entire stay. Breakfast was prepared every morning with eggs cooked to order and fresh squeezed juices. The cocktails were fresh and our dinner was delicious. Pedro helped us book all of our tours and was very helpful in navigating the island.

Because of the length of our stay, we saw many different travelers come through. Everyone was friendly- from families, older couples, young couples, and groups. I would be lying if i said i didn't shed a tear when it was time to leave.

Highly recommend Iguana Crossing

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We just came back from a Galapagos vacation. Our first stop was Isabela Island and we stayed in this amazing hotel. I was a little hesitant as I didn't know the place and some of the reviews were not positive. I have to say our experience was outstanding. The hotel is beautiful, the location is magnificent, the personnel was so attentive, professional and friendly. We experienced the Tsunami red alert the first day we arrived. The owner, Felipe, and his staff did a great job with the evacuation and made sure we are all safe and taken care of under the circumstances. Hopefully was only a scare and we were able to return to the hotel to enjoy a beautiful stay. We also had the junior suite (room 8) and the views were spectacular. This is a hotel that makes you feel at home as the staff make everything they can to help you make the best of your visit. When visiting Galapagos, remember that you are not going to a spring break destination nor to a five star location with the best accommodations, so to find a place like Iguana Crossing was the best! We would definitively go back! Thank you Iguana Crossing!

Room Tip: Try to get the junior or master suite. If you are on a budget, at least go for an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mg19692013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. We happened to be on Isabela during a freak tsunami red alert (Chile had had a giant earthquake that the USGS thought might bring a tsunami our way; this is a very rare occurrence, and shouldn't deter anyone from going to the Galapagos!). I was, as one might imagine, extremely alarmed, but the hotel had an excellent emergency plan and evacuated us to the hotel owner's place up in the hills, where we would be safe. Furthermore, once we were there, they went to great lengths to assure our comfort, bringing sandwiches, cake(!), a whole lot of water, extra mosquito repellent, building a fire, and on and on and on. Their hospitality was extraordinary. Within five hours, the alert was lifted. There was no tsunami. We went back down to the beautiful hotel and enjoyed a few wonderful days of seeing animals. Would recommend this place with all my heart.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank carbonarapasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and I ventured to this amazing property last month, March 2014. From the get go, Felipe and Alejandra (whom I believe are the owners) were wonderful at accommodating our requests between our dinners, our non-obstructed ocean front/view room, et al. A very easy, one-to-one engagement, which is rare.

The property/location was ideal to us in a sleepy little town in Isabela. Pictures of the resort do not do it justice - the craftsmanship that went into the resort design, pool, woodwork, etc alongside a very open/open air design was stellar. And you won't be disappointed as the resort lives up to its name with daily crossings of the Iguana's. Proximity is great as your just off the path to the town center (although very small town center) providing even more intimacy, but an easy 3-5 minute walk.

The coastal and highland zones are all wonderfully visible from the property itself, and the resort will undoubtably make any excursion for you upon request. And yes, plenty of sea lions in near proximity!

I'd say this simple review does not do this resort, island or location justice - a magical destination, but one last point of recognition I'd like to make was to our new friend Emma who I believe was one of the manager's - above and beyond she stood out to us and went on to help my wife and I on varying requests, as well as simply being a genuine kind, friendly and professional person. Although I can't recall a couple of the other individuals we engaged often....all top notch

Cheers!

Room Tip: Top or bottom floor facing ocean are all great, but 2nd floor provides more view. All balconies are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesschildknecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this wonderful hotel a few weeks ago. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, we were expecting a fantastic hotel and we weren't disappointed! We splurged and booked an oceanview junior suite (room 8) which was amazing. Our balconey wrapped around the hotel and we had an oceanview and a sideview of the lagoon. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back if we are fortunate to get back to the Galapagos! Staying on Isabela and at the Iguana Crossing was one of the highlights of our trip!

Room Tip: Room 8 had an amazing view of the ocean and a side view of the lagoon where we could see the iguanas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanetOO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We couldn't have picked a better hotel to spend our vacation in the Galapagos. The place not only blends in perfectly with the pristine feel of the island, but the staff was so friendly and hospitable! They always found a way to accommodate our needs. The food was also out of this world. During our entire stay in the island we only ate at the hotel. We were told that the restaurants around town were very good, but the hotel offered a wide selection of local flavors that we couldn't resist but to try them all! The room we got was also very comfortable: an amazing view, complimentary drinking water, warm water in the shower, AC... Overall, it was a wonderful experience! Plus, the hotel is located right in front of the beach, so you can enjoy the island's beautiful scenery and fauna while taking a swim in the pool. On our last night, we enjoyed freshly grilled seafood on the hotel's breathtaking sundeck. We would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PS_ec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.4 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Rincon de George
Hostal Rincon de George
#7 of 10 in Isabela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#3 of 25 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casita de la Playa
Casita de la Playa
#2 of 25 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Crossing

Property: Iguana Crossing
Address: Av. Antonio Gil, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Iguana Crossing 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Crossing is Isabela's newest and most innovative hotel. Its minimalist design and superior service offer guests a privileged experience on this scarcely populated island. Iguana Crossing is located in between Isabela's extensive white sand beaches and directly behind a wildlife-filled lagoon. Iguana Crossing offers an oceanfront swimming pool, Jacuzzi, 12 fully equipped rooms and a master suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Iguana Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Crossing Hotel Puerto Villamil
Iguana Crossing Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing