We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iguana Crossing
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Albemarle(Puerto Villamil)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Casa de Marita(Puerto Villamil)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Galapagos(Puerto Villamil)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
$90
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Coral Blanco(Isabela)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$320
$243
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Redmangrove(Puerto Villamil)
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel(Puerto Ayora)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveler rating
452
120
34
15
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
120
34
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolhot tubtortoise breeding centerisabela islandwater savingwater conservationbeautiful hotelmarine iguanasfew secondspink flamingoscevichean ocean view roomjunior suitebest hotel on the islandpush the buttoncrossing the roadocean front
Filter
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 635 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This is a boutique hotel with the most amazing views of a white sand beach, magnificent sunsets, and the daily parade of iguanas crossing from the ocean to the lagoon. Accommodations are stylish and comfortable, & service is impeccable. Staff go out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. My only reservation is that food & (especially) drink at the hotel seem really overpriced, but it's a small drawback for a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Don't think twice about staying here--it's a treat.

Room Tip: You don't want to be on the ground floor, overlooking the pool (not very private)
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPSRWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear JPSRWW:

We enjoy very much, the wonderfull location we have the luck to be placed in as well as having you with us. We keep on working hard to have the hotel just as beautiful as its excellent emplacement. We are very happy to know that you´ve found our work as great as you describe in your very kind review..
Thank you very much...
Perhaps you may consider that the costs of running a hotel as ours in such a far away location, obligates us to promote rather higher prices compared to other places in the island...

The only thing we must ask you, is, When are you coming back?
Thank you once again and greetings from Isabela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed here three nights over Christmas as our Christmas Treat. Ironically, the transfer to the hotel was provided by the Red Mangrove Lodge, who we had stayed with in Puerto Ayora! Once there we were greeted by the manager who welcomed us with a juice and explained the need to save water (the showers operated via a push button for this purpose) and the fact that the TV had no signal!

The hotel itself is beautiful and is located on a beach about 10 minutes walk from Puerto Villamill centre. We weren't sure what to make of the hotel manager at first as he was constantly asking us did we want this or that and it felt a bit like he was constantly trying to sell us something, however after a while we came to the conclusion that he was making an effort to ensure we were happy and enjoying ourselves. Perhaps its a cultural thing but I prefer to be left to my own devices and I'll approach a staff member if I want some help or advice.

The room was also very nice and we both had a laugh at the fancy wide screen TV that had no signal! But we weren't there to watch TV so it didn't bother us. One of the best features of the hotel is the rooftop garden and the hot tub, both of which have a beautiful view of the sea. We did find that service was a bit slow, but then again we were in no particular rush...

The restaurant was a bit disappointing as the room itself was soulless and uninviting. When we did look at the menu we found the selection limited and the prices were high. Now if the restaurant had been a bit more inviting we might have tried the meal but it wasn't so we nipped past the manager three night in a row and dined in town. we also dined twice during the day at the Red Mangrove lodge, which was more reasonable priced. Breakfast at the Iguana Crossing was disappointing, the worst we had at the three hotels we stayed at in Galapagos, for the price they charge they could definitely do better in terms of what's on offer at breakfast.

Puerto Villamill is charming in that it still has sand for roads and is very quiet. We found somewhere open to eat, even on Christmas Day and the food was good and reasonably priced. There's a very nice walk out behind the Iguana Crossing through the Mangroves to a tortoise breeding centre. Another good walk is back to the pier and go past it to the right to the snorkeling point which is accessed via another walkway through the Mangroves... be prepared to limbo!

Overall Puerto Villamill is a lovely little quiet town and we really enjoyed out time there. If you have days to spare, spend and extra one or two here instead of on the strip in Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the sea is a must, perhaps try for the first floor as the hall outside the groundfloor rooms can be noisy at times.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Dave W:

Thank you for your possitive comments about the hotel, as well as for your important suggestions.
As we allways try to make our service better, allow us to tell you what has taken place in the hotel since your departure.

Perhaps the enthusiasm of trying to have our guests confortable, and of course, promote our different services, could be sensed as too much by some guests, and we apologize for this.
It´s very important to truly understand the guests needs and adapt properly, and believe us, we make a huge effort to make it.

The tvs still don´t have signal, but since we only have one channel in Isabela, (Two in weekends!!) we sincerely believe that our guests may not have any interest in them. So, we incorporated DVD players to all rooms, and a selection of movies that are allways available at the reception desk.

Our restaurant´s included breakfast buffet has been as well redesigned (even with the limitations of Isabela´s supplying), listening to our guests suggestions.
It would have been a pleasure to have you dining with us, the ecuadorian specialities of our two menus are most valued by most of our distinguished clients.

Best regards from Isabela, and perhaps until the next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We recently stayed for 5 nights at Iguana Crossing. We had a wonderful time at this beautiful hotel. We booked the trip with Kattya, who was very helpful and answered all of our questions. When we arrived, Juan was there to greet us and show us around. He made us feel very much at home and runs a very customer/eco friendly hotel. We ate most nights at the hotel which was the best place on the island to eat. Maria and Jackeline were very friendly and always so helpful. Iguana Crossing is a very relaxing and happy place to stay. Juan and his staff really go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We would love to return again !

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Karen L:

It was great to share with you and your family these days.
We thank you deeply for your very kind comments of our service and staff.
We are very happy to have achieved, making your stay as special as the ocation that took place in our hotel.
I´m only sorry that i´m not able to find my Yankees cap, no!!!

Thank you once again, and we hope to see you back soon.
Greetings from our staff to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Iguana Crossing for three nights and had a wonderful time. The service was especially noteworthy, with Daniel extremely responsive to any requests that we had. The views were spactacular, and the food was superb. I really appreciated Daniel's recommendations on what to try and his comments on what was special on the menu. The entire staff was tremendously friendly and accommodating. Our trip to the Galapagos was greatly enhanced by the delightful experience we had at Iguana Crossing.

Room Tip: We happened to be placed in a disappointing room (for us) at first. It was small, had no closet, had no safe, and was not quite what we expected. However, Daniel quickly reinstalled us in Room 13, which was wonderful in all respects. The first room was fine, but probably more for a single person or perhaps a younger, less demanding couple!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KingStablein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Dear KingStablein:

We thank you sincerely for the possitive comments of the hotel, it´s kitchen and staff. We enjoyed very much working trying to provide you with an experience as memorable as this fantastic destination.
Ceviches, Encocados and Tuna tartares will allways wait for your return!

Greetings from Isabela and our staff...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights and 3 days, the staff is very accommodating, they took the time to know who you are, they made you feel at home and welcome, food is great, view is amazing, this is a must go to place in isabela

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Dear Eileen D:

We are very happy we achieved to make you feel at home. Is our task to do so, while you enjoy this beautiful island.
We thank you very much for your kind comments, and for giving us the chance tommet you as well.
Cheers from Isabela Island!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews