We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, wonderful hotel, great staff”
Review of Iguana Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iguana Crossing
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2012

The hotel was gorgeous! The location amazing - it really is where the iguanas cross so you can sit and watch them from the roof top or poolside. The beds were really comfortable, the room beautiful and the staff terrific. All facilities were top notch. We would go again tomorrow if it wasn't so far! Highly recommended.
Daniel and staff even put on a ceviche cooking class for us. It really was a totally memorable time.
A suggestion re the shower: in the interests of water conservation, which is a huge issue on the Galapagos, you have to press the button to shower. It lasts for around 20 seconds so we had to keep it pressed while trying to shower. If this could be altered to say 1 or 2 minutes, it would be much better and probably save more water.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

Dear Judith B:

We thank you deeply for the the great comments about our work and hotel. We´re working hard to provide the best experiences we can for our clients. We´re very happy you liked the ceviche class, and hope you can perform a ceviche party for your friends and family, so you can feel a bit back on Isabela island.
We empathize with your kind suggestion, but we´re afraid the time of the flow of water on sinks and showers can hardly be altered, and we´re aware that so few time of flow can be annoying. We apologise for this inconvinience, but it´s thought in the best interest of water conservation, one of our most precious ressources, and part of our politics as an all Isabella´s hotel and community. We´ll certainly try to find a way to improve this issue.
Still, we hope this won´t keep you from coming back... we´re waiting for your return!!
Cheers from Isabela and thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 588 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2012

This hotel is really an amazing experience, the staff is 100% concerned about your satisfaction, it doenst matter if you are sad, happy or mad, they will be available to help you and support you with anything you need. Always with a smile on the face these smart and well educated employees will be ready to get what you need even if its "just" tons of ice bags brought up from the kitchen located 4 floors below to cool a little the hot jacuzzi for your relaxing! (the jacuzzi water was taking longer to lower its temperature by normal process, therefore these amazing and incredible guys didnt wait an extra minute to get all that ice in the tub, and it worked!) We had a wonderful night outside covered in a confortable temperature water just wathching the gorgeous beach moonlight and wondering what would be the iguanas doing on the lagoon just behind us ...

The hotel is located in a key point: behind its a brackish water lagoon and the beach is right on front of the hotel, so the millions of iguanas (all color and sized) keep crossing the road right in front of the hotel. This crossing point has became a touristic hot spot,

Well, the aminal life is just few seconds from this luxury boutique place: just a second from a beautiful clear water beach with pelicans, iguanas and other birds, behids the amazing lagoon you can walk the nice and splendid catbridge which will take you to other laggons full of Flamingos! going further you will get to the Giant Tortoise park with thousands of turtles (forget Darwin Station, Isabela is the place to feel like a stanger in a Tortoise world)

Nice rooms, get the ocean view on second floor, the infinity pool is great and refreshing, the cosy and kind Coastal Living decorations makes Bora Bora resort jealous (just too exclusive)

If you go to Galapagos, visit Isabela its heaven on earth, and this hotel experience is the best climax you can have for a lifetime

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gtamega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Dear gtamega:

We deeply apreeciate the comments reviewed.
We´re very happy to satisfy any special needs our dear guests could have during their stay at the hotel.
We regret that you couldn´t stay for more days with your beautiful family.
Thank you.
Cheers from Isabela and hopefully until a next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We (my husband and our 2 teenagers) stayed at Iguana Crossing over Christmas. We were traveling with a small group with Thompson Family Adventures and arrived at the hotel after having camped for two days on San Cristobal (an awesome experience, by the way). We were greeted like family by the manager Daniel and his staff, served a drink in the bar, and were quickly checked into our large, immaculate, modern rooms where we soon had the showers going! We spend two nights at the hotel, ate breakfast and one dinner there, had drinks at the bar, enjoyed the pool area, visited the village, enjoyed the beach... . In every regard, the hotel rated 5 stars, as did the staff. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel and this island to anyone planning a trip to Galapagos (we also visited San Cristobal and Santa Cruz but Isabela was our favorite).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Dear Denise B and Family:

You know as well how much we liked to have you staying with us, we think we shared and amazing experience with your beautiful family.
We thank you very much for your rewarding comments. We make efforts so you and our future guests will enjoy as much as possible your travel. We hope you enjoyed your stay in every aspect.
We would love to have you back!!
Greetings from the enchanted islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We ended up staying at this unpretentious, five-star hotel because we were told by Galapagos Alternative that it was the only hotel available over Christmas. So, it cost us a fortune for the five nights we were there. That said, we loved it. We were both sick with colds and coughs and couldn't have been attended to better. I can truly say that I have never met a hotel manager kinder and more service-minded than Daniel. The guests' wish are his command. Even to the extent of helping us varnish the back of the art piece we bought so that we could get it through Chilean customs.The room was super comfortable, the ocean view fabulous, and we only had to walk two minutes to the beach or to the bridge where there were loads of iguanas, which was incredible. If you want to pamper yourself in the lap of luxury, go for it... this is the place!

Room Tip: We LOVED the view from our Room 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judythr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Dear Judithr:

We were really happy to provide you with the best service that we could.
All the staff works really hard to satisfy the needs of our guests and your kind comments let us know that we performed a good work.
We thank you deeply for your very positive comments about the hotel and its staff.
Hopefully we´ll meet again in Isabela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed in Iguana Crossing for four nights. A beautifull situated hotel located at the egde of town. We received perfect service from the staff, especially Daniël. You van actually sit by the pool and see the iguana's, pelicans and frigat birds. The rooms are very comfortabel and very clean. Isabela is a relaxed island and has long sand beaches and plenty to do and see on land and sea. We recommend going to Isabela and especially staying at Iguana Crossing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Dear JWM68:

Thank you for your very possitive comments about the hotel and its service. We´re very committed in completing and trying even to enhance the amazing experience of visiting such an outstanding and unique destination as Isabela island, for all our present and future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at Iguana Crossing as part of our Duvine Tour of Ecuador and the Galapagos. We were met by Daniel, who was the general manager, and he was great. The service was fantastic and the staff was really nice. The pool and hot tub on the roof was great, especially after a long day of hiking around. The food was very good, but not outstanding. The wine selection was weak and they often run out of the wine we liked. The rooms were very comfortable, but the windows need screens as there were many annoying flies buzzing around. That being said, the hotel is far and away the best hotel on Isabella and is an easy walk to town.

Room Tip: High floors have better view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHtravelers41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Dear NHtravellers41:

It was great to welcome you at our hotel as well.
Thank you for your comments and for suggesting what we can do better. We´ll work hard in improving for we also share your passion for fine cuisine and wine!
Greetings from Isabela !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed next door and wish we had stayed at iguana crossing. We enjoyed n amazing dinner and evening at the lovely property. The staff were unbelievably nice - Daniel made sure everyone was welcomed whether or not they were guests of the hotel. Delicious meal and drinks - truly five star experience. A must on a visit to Isabela.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keightat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2012

Dear Keightat8 and Sandy_B001:

We are very happy to have had the opportunity of welcoming you at our hotel. We thank you deeply for your possitive comments about our house and it´s cuisine. Hopefully the next time you´ll grant us the pleasure of having you as our in-house guests.
Cheers from Isabela and thank you for your visit to the enchanted islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.4 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Galapagos
Hostal Galapagos
#5 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Blanco
Hotel Coral Blanco
#8 of 10 in Isabela
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casita de la Playa
Casita de la Playa
#3 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Crossing

Address: Av. Antonio Gil, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: $206 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Iguana Crossing 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Crossing is Isabela's newest and most innovative hotel. Its minimalist design and superior service offer guests a privileged experience on this scarcely populated island. Iguana Crossing is located in between Isabela's extensive white sand beaches and directly behind a wildlife-filled lagoon. Iguana Crossing offers an oceanfront swimming pool, Jacuzzi, 12 fully equipped rooms and a master suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Iguana Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Crossing Hotel Puerto Villamil
Iguana Crossing Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing