We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience in Galapagos”
Review of Iguana Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iguana Crossing
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience in Galapagos”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My husband and I went to Galapagos on a land base trip. We stayed 4 nights in Santa Cruz and 3 nights in Isabela island. We chose Iguana Crossing and had a magnificent experience there. Iguana Crossing was the first hotel that made us feel "at home". We spent most of the time in the public areas as if we were in our own living room.

- The staff was very friendly and helpful; they were even better than friends.

- The food was excellent. Everything was local and fresh.

- The organisation of the tours was outstanding.

- The location was great. You could see and hear the waves of the ocean from everywhere. The beach was beautiful. Many lava formations, marine iguanas, pelicans, light foot crabs, etc.

- The Rooms were also wonderful.

Isabela is a wonderful island. Iguana Crossing makes it even better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Guests:

It is us that thank you for the opportunity to help out making your vacations as special as you expected. It´s true that is very hard to match this magical destiny with an equal service.
Your kind comments help us keep on working and improving.
Greetings from the Galapagos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    105
    25
    13
    13
See reviews for
174
228
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We were traveling from Quito to Cuenca to Guayaquil to the Galapagos. The Iguana Crossing was the stop over before a 6-day-cruise. We were sad that we only had time for a short stay of two days - the Iguana Crosing is a perfect place to relax. A very nice hotel with excellent staff at paradise.

Thank you for two wonderful days!
Hans + Iris, Munich, Germany

Room Tip: ocen front, if possible 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Dear Hans and Iris guests.
We thank you for choosing us at this fantastic island and for your kind and motivating review. We´re glad we achieved to meet your expectations.
Best regards from all our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My girlfriend and I loved our stay at the Iguana Crossing. It is definitely the type of modern and clean place that is nice to come to after a long day of hiking and enjoying Galapagos. The people showed care and concern for our well being. The only reason I did not give the highest score is because the place still has the feel of a new place that is working out some bugs like the shower never getting hot for the first person (although I've heard this is a problem on the whole island), a TV, but can't watch anything on it, etc. little things that you know a solution will probably found in the future, but have not yet. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear Brett Guest:

It was great to welcome you as well at our hotel!
We sincerely thank you for the suggestions made, these will be very usefull to improve our services.
Best regards from all our team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our 2 night stay at Iguana Crossing as part of a tour group. The hotel is beautiful and clean with a helpful and friendly staff and manager. We enjoyed our yummy breakfasts and dinners at the hotel. There is a lovely infinity pool and hot tub that we did not get to enjoy as we preferred to walk and relax on the beach instead. The location across from the beach is fantastic!!!! The beach is so amazing and you really feel "away from it all." The walk to the Turtle Breeding Center is behind the hotel along a boardwalk where you can spot marine iguanas and flamingos in the lagoon. It was a great location to come back to after our day trips on the island. I would highly recommend. The only thing that takes getting used to is operating the shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with beach front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLNYC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Beautifully designed hotel with amazing view on the pristine beach of Puerto Ayora. The rooms and the common facilities are splendid, the service is excellent and the food is perfect.
It is definitely the only true luxury hotel in the Galapagos, and it managed to keep its soul. We felt at home and we knew the staff could help us with any request (tours, food, transfers, etc).
Great experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Google Translation
Chères clients K et O:

Nous vous remercions davantage pour vos favorables commentaires. Nous espérons d´avoir satisfit et excédée vos expectatifs et besoins dans ce merveilleuse destin.
Veuillez recevoir nos salutations chaleureuses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed for two nights and had a great time. The hotel is very well appointed, modern, and luxurious. We spent a lot of time in the "living room" overlooking the beach. The staff are very service oriented and will quickly attend to your every need.

Room Tip: Get a beach view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocco1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Hotel and staff were great but I would question whether the manager has sufficient experience to run this hotel for the types of clients that it receives.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Dear Guests:

As we think there were many misunderstandings experienced by your group, we believe in permanent improvement so we thank you for your possitive comments and suggestions.

Best regards

Juan Daniel Gómez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.4 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Rincon de George
Hostal Rincon de George
#8 of 10 in Isabela
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#4 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Crossing

Property: Iguana Crossing
Address: Av. Antonio Gil, Puerto Villamil 200250, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Iguana Crossing 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Crossing is Isabela's newest and most innovative hotel. Its minimalist design and superior service offer guests a privileged experience on this scarcely populated island. Iguana Crossing is located in between Isabela's extensive white sand beaches and directly behind a wildlife-filled lagoon. Iguana Crossing offers an oceanfront swimming pool, Jacuzzi, 12 fully equipped rooms and a master suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Iguana Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Crossing Hotel Puerto Villamil
Iguana Crossing Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing