We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iguana Crossing
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Albemarle(Puerto Villamil)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Casa de Marita(Puerto Villamil)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Galapagos(Puerto Villamil)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Casita de la Playa(Puerto Villamil)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Wooden House Lodge(Puerto Villamil)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sula Sula(Puerto Villamil)(Great Value!)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Gran Tortuga(Puerto Villamil)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Los Delfines(Puerto Villamil)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Loja(Puerto Villamil)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hotel La Laguna Galapagos(Puerto Villamil)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveler rating
452
120
34
15
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
120
34
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolhot tubtortoise breeding centerisabela islandwater savingwater conservationbeautiful hotelmarine iguanasfew secondspink flamingoscevichean ocean view roomjunior suitebest hotel on the islandpush the buttoncrossing the roadocean front
Filter
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 635 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2011

1. If you want a fantastic experience- don't take the rooms at the back. The ocean front rooms have soul refreshing breezes and inspirational ocean views.
2. The dining is "best of class". It is pricier than the rest of the Galapagos but well worth it. The wine and beer are overpriced but not by a whole bunch.
3. Daniel - the manager- is superb. He anticipates your needs and exceeds them. He offered us martinis in the hot tub on the roof at just the right time!
4. Location-location-location. This hotel is at the marine iguana crossing - go figure. Plus, it is a 30 sec walk to the most fantastic beach in the Galapagos/perhaps the world - with great surfing and amazing vistas ! Note: we screwed up and tried surfing on a section that was not safe due to submerged rocks which we had not noticed. A local kid came to us on a bicycle and warned us to move further down the beach.
5. There is local night life in bars close by - and a laundramat.
6. infiniti pool was a gem .
This was our favourite spot in the Galapagos. We could have spent much more time here. Since we were on a tour with Adventure Life, we don't know how much the rooms cost so do not know whether were good value. But they were undoubtedly the best we had on the trip.
Negative: SHOWERS SUCKED. Had to push a button and lasted 10 sec- positively stupid.

Room Tip: Oceanfront room essential
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rgttax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This was a beautiful hotel. Very eco-minded. The staff was spectacular. Unfortunately, during our stay the owner's extended family was also vacationing at the hotel. They were not an especially courteous bunch and often commandeered many of the common areas of the hotel. Despite this, the staff did everything they could to bring extra chairs in or to suggest to the owner that perhaps the 6-7 young children (who were part of the family) did not need their own pool deck lounge chairs.

The hotel is right on the beach along the south end of the island. Our rooms overlooked a beautiful deck with an infinity pool that seemed to blend in with the Pacific Ocean. The food was delicious -- on the expensive side, but after long days of hiking and snorkeling, we were too tired to venture into the small town for a late dinner.

The rooms were beautifully appointed; spacious and clean. The bathrooms were also very nice.

Room Tip: request a room facing the Ocean
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyMom_Madison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Dear Family:

I hope the hotel achieved to satisfy your needs, and that you enjoyed your time in the Galápagos islands. It was our privilege to had you with us. We sincerely expect the quality of our service was as good as this unique destination.

Best regards.

Juan D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Family of 7's (2 adults and 6'-4'-3'-2' and 8month years old...)...so its a troop. Commonly hotel on this specials sites do not expect large families w/ little children, so the design of it respond better for explorer or other kind of visitors....but was not a problem The first goal was to get a cradle for my 8 month baby...they got one with a friend of them at the town...and then we started our adventure...who's s sleeps with..dinners an so on... thanks to the very warming, caring & neat staff, the patience and client oriented Duty Manager let us enjoy this beautiful island.
Nice uniforms. Duty Manager always "on duty"
Public, rest areas & the pool are good well, all above the standard range on the island ... at least I could visit
Good food, the have a challenge w/ breakfast
Very good pillows

Room Tip: View Ocean...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoroEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

This hotel is in a beautiful beautiful place. The rooms are kept clean as is the rest of the facility. It is just off the ocean with wonderful views and a nice nature walk close by.
The day we arrived (I did not see anyone else staying there that night) we were offered a special tasting of the best of Ecuadorian food. What we got was an appetizer and entree off of the menu. There were six of us and we all received the same dishes. I thought the appetizer was very good and the entree mediocre. Bottom line it was certainly not a "tasting" of the best of Ecuadorian food. We would have been better off if each of us had been able to order separate dishes off of the menu.
To their credit they realized we were not happy and after speaking with us Mr. [-] expressed his regrets and suggested he would attempt to get us a discount on the meal. We later learned that he was unable to. They insisted they would prepare a breakfast for us as we were leaving early the next morning and asked us what we wanted. The next morning ignoring the previous nights offer they gave us each an apple.
I was subsequently contacted by, I believe, the company who owns the hotel and graciously offered a full refund for the meal. There were some difficulties in effecting the refund but they made it happen.
I truly feel it is a beautiful place. I'm not sure, however,how committed the immediate management is to the welfare of their guests. If I were going to Isabela again I would consider staying there but I would book it through Galapogos Alternatives and have my meals in the nearby town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NEKINGDOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Dear NEKINGDOM Guest:

Thank you for your important comments.
As replied for the previous review from DEBJURIST guest, we are working very hard to correct the inconveniences experienced by your family while in your visit to our hotel.
We sincerely care about improving our present and future guest´s experience,
Best regards
Juan D. Gómez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel with our 4 grown children. The location is amazing and the hotel is quite elegant. When we booked our stay through a tour group we were told there were only 2 rooms available, however when we arrived there were very few guests and we were offered the third room we had wanted at full price. They also suggested a special "prix fixe" meal for the 6 of us of local dishes. The food was okay and the service was slow, The next day we asked for the "tab" for the meal and found we had been charged full price for all the dishes and the meal was a whopping $435! To be fair we should have ascertained the cost before the meal, but we felt we had been misled. We brought this to their attention and had some polite conversations with the staff and were promised "something" would be done. However, we were then told that no refund would be made. They told us that they would make us a "take away" breakfast for our 5am departure the next day. They didn't even appear until our van had arrived. At that point we were offered apples.
After several email exchanges with the tour company and the management they finally offered to refund our money for the meal, however that process took quite a while and we were eventually told that they were not able to credit our account. We contested the portion of our bill that covered the meal.
The air conditioner in the room blew directly on the bed.
$10.00 was found to be missing from one of the rooms.
This is a beautiful hotel, however the management needs work.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debjurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2011

Dear debjurist guest:
As discussed in our e-mail exchange, held as soon as you left the hotel when in the comment cards these issues were brought to our attention, we sincerely appreciate your feedback and again apologize for the inconveniences experienced in our hotel.
We have taken measures to assure that the meals proposed to our clients are fully discussed and understood by both parties before the service takes place, so we can provide the appropriate experience.
We are also aware that the agreed compensation should have come much faster but there were limitations on our bank´s side in order to restore full amount for the meal (US$ 268 USD charged) including the US$ 10,00 missing .
The introduction and presentation of the clients to our in-room and general services has changed as well. Presently we take special care by explaining guests in detail, as well as letting them know how to operate safety boxes installed in all of our rooms.
We take full responsibility for the service flaws that are being corrected at the moment.
Respectfully
Juan Daniel Gómez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews