We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base to Explore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Base to Explore”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent 4 nights at San Vincente and took their day tours. It's a great location, easy to walk to shops, beaches, jetty and restaurants / bars "downtown" :). Rooms are very big and comfortable with AC, hot water, TV, private ensuite and are very clean. The also have a hot tub (we didn't use it). Meals were pretty good and the beer plenty cold. Had to go to Albatross Market for wine though. We had a set tour for 3 days and the guides were all excellent, spoke good English, passionate about the environment and knowledgeable about the local wildlife. Had a great time staying there and exploring Isabella. A couple of comments: Firstly, bring your ear plugs - they have fighting roosters on Isabella that don't stop calling (nothing to do with the hotel) in the village. Second (to the hotel), allow longer-staying guests to set-up a tab (instead of paying for drinks every time we grab one) - as the drinks are so reasonably priced, we very quickly ran out of change to pay for drinks.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main reception / restaurant area are quieter. We had the room in the back, on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank allykat76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSanVicente, Gerente at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your great experience in Isabela - Galápagos. We really look forward to providing the best accommodation while our guest are spending time in Isabela; not only in the stay but in all services such as guides, staff, services, excursions. Believe me if I tell you that we are constantly fighting to take the roosters problem out of our hotel. We will take consideration of this comment and the set-up tab for the drinks for sure!

It will be our pleasure to give assistance every time you or your friends want to go to Galapagos.

Best regards,

HOTEL SAN VICENTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    39
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
22
38
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

San Vicente is a well placed hotel, just a couple blocks from the beach. The rooms are comfortable, they have AC, hot water, TV, and are very clean. The price is excellent for the service and accomodations; it includes breakfast and they can help you to set up tours or activities for your stay. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maugusta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSanVicente, Gerente at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Maugusta8

Reciba un cordial saludo por parte de Hotel San Vicente, es un gusto poder recibir comentarios tan positivos como el suyo porque nos impulsa a seguir brindando un servicio de calidad.

Esperamos contar con su presencia la próxima vez que desee visitar lsabela - Galápagos.

Atentamente,

HOTEL SAN VICENTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. I wish it was longer. The hotel was very clean- lots of natural light in the rooms. It felt like staying in someone's home more than a hotel. The staff were all very sweet and warm. Delicious fruit for breakfast and different exotic fruit juice everyday during dinner. I definitely recommend staying here!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank MandeeNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSanVicente, Gerente at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear MandeeNY

It's a pleasure to get such a positive feedback coming from you! We higly appreciate if you reccomend our hotel as your first option if somebody else wants to go to Galapagos.

it'd be a pleasure to have you in our hotel any time you would like to go to Galapagos.

Best Regards,

HOTEL SAN VICENTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour to Isabella. Didn't expect much but got a huge clean room, good breakfasts and even better three course dinners (the soups were the main highlight).

We were also here when Ecuador were playing an important football match and watching it with the staff was great (not quite Scotland at Hampden, in fact not even close, but still great).

There may be better hotels on Isabella but on a budget it would be hard to complain about this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willgo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSanVicente, Gerente at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Willgo79

Thanks for sharing your great experience in Isabela with us as you've been doing in every single place you visited. Be part of your best trips is really encouraging. We really hope you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and all the tour in the Galapagos Islands specially the time spent with local people.

Please, come back any time you want to tour again Isabela - Galapagos Islands.

Best wishes,

HOTEL SAN VICENTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo,Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

O.K accomadations. The food was good! Tour guides from the hotel were great!!! Ricardo is a sweet heart!!! We had a group of four travelling together. Myself an another were going to share a room.When we checked into our room it had not been cleaned yet. Used towels still hanging and waste baskets not emtpied. So to make up for that I asked if my room mate could have the room next door (which was clean) and I would wait for them to clean the assigned room. So for this inconvience at least we were comped a second room for no charge.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank butterflygirl789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSanVicente, Manager at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear butterflygirl789

Thank you for letting us know about your stay in our Hotel. We were very worried at the moment we saw this feedback because our first commitment is to please our guests! We are actually working on a better service and get everything done before our guests' arrival to the hotel. We really appreciate your feedback because it makes us improve more than we except we should. As you mentioned, our staff and tours were amazing and we will keep on doing even better!

We hope you have enjoyed your visit to Galapagos!

Best of all,

HOTEL SAN VICENTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was an ok hotel; not bad, not great. It was very convenient for arranged tours, as NG&E tours start here and all the meals are here. People staying at other hotels had to walk here for everything.

I had reserved one of the new/superior rooms and also requested one on the 1st floor. When I arrived, a lady who spoke no English put me in an older room. I tried to explain to her that this was not what I reserved but had to wait until an English-speaking person arrived. For reference, the older rooms appear kind of dirty, the fixtures are all old and the bathroom is super tiny.

As it turns out, she put me there because it was the 1st floor, but I was certainly not going to accept a downgrade (when I pre-paid for an upgraded room) just to be on the lower floor. I wound up in a much nicer room on the 2nd floor, as she insisted nothing was available on the 1st floor. But I was later fairly annoyed by this as the room directly below me on the 1st floor was empty (you can see nearly the entire room through the windows when the curtains are drawn). But I was not about to repack and unpack again so I let it be.

The newer room was nice and housekeeping did an excellent job each day of cleaning up all the beach sand in the shower, which is an inevitable mess here. The food was ok; not great, but edible. The eating area was mostly outside, so bugs did tend to be an issue, which was not fun. The one small indoor area was ok for dinner, but I was told by staff that inside was for employees only during breakfast and lunch. Yes, they kicked me out to eat with the bugs so they could sit in comfort, which was kind of annoying.

A couple of the other staff there were very nice and accommodating though. Caroline, a very sweet lady from Great Britain, was especially helpful. But many of the others appeared disinterested.

And I should mention all the noise at night, which made it extremely difficult to sleep. Roosters were crowing and dogs barking. A tour guide on another island later told me it was illegal to house roosters and chickens in residential areas. So I am not sure why this hotel has done nothing about it, as I see many reviews here with the same complaint. There was also a family living outside my room below who had a small child that screamed quite loudly every morning as the mother walked him down the block…every morning. I began to wonder what was wrong down there. I guess he was the back-up alarm to the dogs and roosters? ;O) Poor kid.

So it was not the worst place, but not great either. The island is quite lovely though so just enjoy the surroundings.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanillo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our group of 7 people stayed at the San Vicente for 4 nights. It was relatively clean, but the bed sheets were all pilled and scratchy. The breakfast was not very good - insipid looking fruit and cold eggs. The biggest problem we had was that no one seemed to care whether we were there or not, unless they were trying to flog various tours off on us. The hotel needs to work on their attitude and customer service.

As an aside, there are no ATM machines on Isabela - and most restaurants do not take credit cards - make sure that you take lots of cash!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenwcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Villamil hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.5 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Rincon de George
Hostal Rincon de George
#8 of 10 in Isabela
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#4 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 27 in Puerto Villamil
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Vicente Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Vicente Galapagos

Property: Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Address: Av. Cormorant and Puerto Villamil 1204, Puerto Villamil 52172, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Vicente Galapagos 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos is dedicated to provide the highest quality of service and comfort to each and every of its guests. We like to complement your visit to the Galapagos as perfect as possible. We are proud to say that Hotel San Vicente has become one of the most popular of the Galapagos hotels on Isabela Island, which we believe is due to our standard of excellence and personal commitment to our guests. From our Galapagos hotel you can arrange a variety of land tours that are sure to leave you breathless. The natural beauty of the islands will amaze you while you enjoy a comfortable and superior service from the friendly staff of our Hotel San Vicente Galapagos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Vicente Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing