We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I first stayed at this hotel 6 or 7 nights, and I was so thrilled with everything about the place I came back a week later to spend a few days more.

The rooms are perfectly clean and cosy, the food is of very good quality (thank you Mario!), you can eat inside or outside in a nice courtyard, and the hotel proposes very good activities and tours, with good guides and coordinators (thank you Rodolfo!).

Great place to meet people from all over the world.

The Spanish-speaking staff may seem a little rude sometimes - though I really enjoyed practicing my Spanish with them and I had a great time with them.

Caroline, the English woman who works there, is truly fantastic. She is always available for you, trying to answer all your needs and resolving any of your concerns, if there are. Her service is excellent, and she definitely contributes to your feeling at home in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. What a nice feeling! Also, she knows a lot about wild-life and she has all sorts of stories to tell you about sea lions, turtles, iguanas... A passionate woman who loves her job and her island!

Very good location too. Drinking water fountains (tap water is not potable on Isabela). Close to a supermarket and to the beach.

I was completely satisfied with my stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clelia1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSanVicente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest

We are thanks full you took that time to write you review of our hotel. We are always happy to learn we contributed to make someone’s stay on Isabela so pleasant. I hope you enjoyed the other islands equally.

It is a good thing to learn that food was good and tasty, as we have been working on improving our meals, so it seem to be working good : ) . Thanks for mentioning the guides, as we this let us know that they are getting along very well with the travelers. Most of our staff does not speak English indeed, but they try to compensate that with service, we are glad you could practice you Spanish with them.

We shall pass your comment to Caroline to let her know what great job she is doing too! She really lover her job and the island, as she certainly loves to share that passion other visitors.

Best regards!

PS. Thanks for the recommendation on the water; this is indeed useful for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    39
    33
    10
    8
See reviews for
21
37
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a nice hotel and I had my meals here as well. The room was very good and the shower had the best showerhead I have ever experienced. The food was great as well-buffet style with different meats and vegetables. I would say the only bad thing is the rooster out back. Understandably there are roosters all across the island crowing at 4:30am, but the one in the back sounds like he's standing by the bed due to thin walls (not that thicker walls would help with that as he is so loud!) My friends who stayed in the front side of the hotel did not even hear him so definitely request for a front facing room. The tours provided by this hotel are very good as well! I would pick this hotel again-but instead, stay in the front side.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel is owned by Nature Galapagos and Ecuador, it is of average standard, but it is sufficient. If you go with Nature Galapagos and Ecuador tour, the hotel is very convenient as they are the starting point for almost every tour. There is a convenience store or supermarket nearby and everything is within walking distance. Food was nice on some days and it was ok on other days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cewcil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

there is no 5 stars hotels in puerto Villamil...so people used to more be advised...i travel not often in less than 4 stars hotels but this one was really cozy and enjoyable...i would rate it a 3 stars...the only thing is the roosters waking us up at 4h30 in the morning...but it's ok! food was great, host were very friendly...would sleep there again for sure, or would try their other hotel:la laguna...more recent and closer to beach, but must be more expensive.

Room Tip: Room 16 seems to be the largest one, nice ceiling...third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piboMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSanVicente, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Guest
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review. We are most glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We are sorry for the rooster next door, we actually hear that a lot, but it belongs to our neighbors and we cannot really do much about that. Still, sorry for the inconvenience, I am glad it wasn’t that much of a bother. We do try our best to make passenger feel cozy on a familiar environment. I am glad you like our meals, we shall pass that compliment on our chef! We would be pleased to have you visiting us again if you come to Isabela Island.

Hope Isabela and Galapagos treated you well…. Thanks again for your comments.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for two nights as part of a tour. Unfortunately I believe I had one of the smallest rooms located by the kitchen, which was a little noisy at times. The room itself was clean and functional as was the bathroom. There was no view to speak of as the window looked out onto the wall of the neighbouring building. Breakfast and dinner here were good on both occasions I ate there although there was a bit of a shortage of tables to eat at when I was there. All in all reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLNixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSanVicente, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Greeting from San Vicente and thanks for your review and for your comments on out hotel. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Isabela Island and Galapagos overall.

I am sorry for the accommodation, not all of our rooms have a nice view. We usually offer different room categories and prices. We should have warned you on the room size beforehand. We will do that with our next guests.

I am glad you found the room comfortable overall concerning the fitting and cleanliness. We also make our best to prepare varied meals. August is indeed a very busy month; we will try to double our effort in organizing meal timings so travelers won’t feel uncomfortable.

Once again, thanks for your review and taking the time to write. Hope you enjoyed Ecuador and Galapagos overall!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabela, Ecuador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We staid four days in the Hotel San Vicente and we spent a wonderful time. The Hotel doesn't only count with a good hotel service but also with nice rooms, wonderful showers (specialy enjoyed that), friendly staff, a perfectly working air conditioning,a service for good guided tours, a good breakfast buffet, nice sitting places in and outside, the cheapest bear prices we found on isabella and rent of all the equipment neceasary for each type of journey on the island.
After a rather easy flat in Santa Cruz we were absolutly satisfied with our stay in the hotel.
Greetings to all who take the good decision to come to Galapagos! It's wearth it all!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a basic hotel. Our room was clean, large and light. Bedclothes were spotted. Towels were frayed. We did not recieve any new towels during our 3 night stay, insted they just folded the dirty and wet towels and put them on our bed again.

Hot water was to an from. The cocrels of the neighbourhood was bothering us, often from 03.00 in the mornings. Breakfast buffet was not big, but we enjoyed it. Good juice, yoghurt and basics. Nothing extravagant.

We liked the guides working there, but they had a difficult work at times, due to too large groups. Some of the tours felt like time-fillers, and we felt like we wasted valuable time on Isabela. The place was too commercial. We were prepared that they propabely wouldn't be anything special, but it is a shame that they waste a place with potential. They had far too large groups, and clearly had problems handeling everyone. People were friendly, but we were twice placed to have our dinner/lunch at other hotels within minutes notice before it started. One time we asked not to because our kid was sick with an upset stomac, but not! That was a BIG disapointment. People were also placed on several different hotels.

There were lots of smaller and seemingly more charming places to stay. Search other options before you choose Hotel San Vincente. If you choose to stay here, know that it is basic and nothing else. Be prepared on flexibillity!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalmkruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSanVicente, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest
First of all, thanks for taking the time to review us and for giving us such a useful feedback on our services. I am very concerned that your stay was not all that it could on Puerto Villamil.

I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and our staff for your stay. Our service is not usually this unsatisfactory. We try to keep things orderly as possible and neat. I am so sorry your towels were not changed every day. Our standard procedure is not change them daily, our staff must have missed it. We will make sure to pay more attention next time. We are well aware of the noise caused by cockerels from neighboring houses. Some passengers don’t bother, but others do find this annoying, we usually warn passenger on this beforehand. I am sorry nobody asked you about this as we could have placed you on a different room.

We are glad you enjoyed breakfast and that you find our staff friendly and our guide knowledgeable. As for the interaction with our staff member with regards to your meals, it is not typical and we will be sure to be more conscious when dealing with these issues
As for tours, it does get specially crowded during this time of the year. We receive lots of travelers on this August. We actually try to keep an eye on everything sin our hotel, from tours to comfort. We do care for every passenger either if they are in large groups or individuals. I am sorry if your experience was misfortunate and that you got the idea we are too commercial, we just try to keep things as good as possible. We are thankful for your feedback as we can focus better on these aspects later on.

Once again please do accept my apologies; we think Isabela Island is so beautiful and it saddens us we could not complement it better. I do hope that the rest of your stay in Galapagos was most enjoyable.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Villamil hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.5 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Rincon de George
Hostal Rincon de George
#7 of 10 in Isabela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#3 of 24 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wooden House Lodge
The Wooden House Lodge
#1 of 24 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Vicente Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Vicente Galapagos

Property: Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Address: Av. Cormorant and Puerto Villamil 1204, Puerto Villamil 52172, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Vicente Galapagos 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos is dedicated to provide the highest quality of service and comfort to each and every of its guests. We like to complement your visit to the Galapagos as perfect as possible. We are proud to say that Hotel San Vicente has become one of the most popular of the Galapagos hotels on Isabela Island, which we believe is due to our standard of excellence and personal commitment to our guests. From our Galapagos hotel you can arrange a variety of land tours that are sure to leave you breathless. The natural beauty of the islands will amaze you while you enjoy a comfortable and superior service from the friendly staff of our Hotel San Vicente Galapagos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel San Vicente Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing