We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All You Need in Isabela”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Redmangrove

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Villamil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redmangrove
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All You Need in Isabela”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here as part of our excursion with the Travel Zoo special for Red Mangrove. The guest rooms are spacious and bathrooms are nice. All rooms are steps to the beach. There is a nice deck for relaxing and watching the sunset. Meals were fine with lots of selection to choose from and one drink was included the first night. The reception area closes early, so my advice is to fill up your water at dinner. We did not know the reception area closed early (8-ish) so we had to walk to town to have drinking water in the room. We did have a nice walk in town to explore the local church, plaza and restaurants. There are also pharmacies and small shops near the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    63
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
69
86
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

stayed here as part of the Travel Zoo special with the Red Mangrove and enjoyed it very much. We had a room right on the beach and loved it. The little town was small with only a few shops and places to wander in but so quiet and nice. The food was very good and the staff was helpful and attentive. The snorkeling was exceptional and we spent a good part of the day finding turtle after turtle. I wish we had more time to explore this island and hope to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamamarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a relatively small hotel with a superb location right on the beach. After the busy-ness (relatively) of our days on Santa Cruz, this hotel was such a gift. The staff is incredibly attentive and helpful. The food was great; I really wanted to be able to tell the cook how exceptional it was! Some meals are buffet, some are served. Even at lunch there was an option for the appetizer (my son chose the soup and I had the sauteed octopus one day!). You an eat inside or outside. Bottled water is available for free; getting more just means going a few steps to the restaurant. The sitting area on the beach is shaded yet you can see and hear the ocean. This area so invites you to sit with a good book and a glass of wine. You can explore the beach to see the iguanas and the locals enjoying the water; the children were so much fun to watch! I was really sorry when it was time to leave this hotel and head back to Santa Cruz, although the Red Mangrove on that island also provides a very fine experience...just not the laid back and slower pace of the Isabella.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiAnne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We visited the Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge as part of our 6 day Darwin's Triangle Tour with Red Mangrove. We had the two front rooms overlooking the deck and the beach. Service was excellent and the accommodations were great. The rooms are a little more sparse than those at the Aventura lodge, but we felt that was to be expected on a less populated island. The excursions provided from this location were fantastic and living beachside for a few days was very nice. The rooms were kept very clean and neat. And, the service was excellent. They make a mean caipirinha as well!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for beach front. It's worth it on this nearly untouched pristine island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This lodge is only a few steps from the beautiful beach. The Manager and all the staff were wonderful, couldn't have possibly ask for better service. There were 7 of us and we had a fantastic time and enjoyed our stay very much. The food was great and the rooms were very nice and clean. We enjoyed our meals on their patio most of the time, but they do have inside seating in case of rain. All our excursions were well planned with lots of wildlife to see and the second largest Volcano crater, 4 miles across, in the world. Nice hike up to the crater with beautiful views. I would definitely recommend this lodge and would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge is located right on the beach. You can listen to the waves crashing while enjoying meals and drinks on the patio. The staff at the hotel was very accommodating. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. I'm a picky eater, but found the food to be surprisingly good.

We were there as part of a Red Mangrove Darwin's Triangle tour. Overall the tour was amazing. The guides were extremely knowledgeable about the area. The activities were fun and the seeing the wildlife up close a once in a life time experience.

I highly recommend both the Isabela Lodge and Red Mangrove tour.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

The lodge was located on the beach. There were lounge chairs outside by the restaurant that you can sit and relax, you can hear the sound of the waves few meters away...what a perfect background sound to sleep. The room was average size, clean and has basic amenities. The bathroom is small but clean and toiletries were provided. There is no TV in the room. Free Wi-Fi but no connection in the room, only in the restaurant area and has slow connection. We had an all-inclusive package and Adventure activity package and a naturalist guide provided. The food in the restaurant was very good. Bottled water was provided daily. The lodge staff were very nice and helpful and attentive to our needs. Isabela Island has a typical island ambiance, no shops, buildings or restaurants, just simply an island environment. We had a nice Coco Loco drink at Beto's Bar by the beach, 10 mins walk from the lodge. We hiked the Sierra Negra Volcano up to the caldera, about 12 Km back and forth, what a spectacular view. We saw many plants and trees endemic to the island. We did snorkeling in the bay by the Los Tintoreras islet. We saw sea turtle, sea horse (7 inches long), colorful schools of fish, magnificent frigate birds, penguin (small, so cute !), marine iguanas and sea lions swimming with us, Sally lightfoot crabs, and other birds endemic to the island. What a wonderful stay we had in Isabela Island staying at the Red Mangrove lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.5 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Rincon de George
Hostal Rincon de George
#7 of 10 in Isabela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa de Marita
La Casa de Marita
#2 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#3 of 24 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redmangrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redmangrove

Property: Redmangrove
Address: Av. Charles Darwin | Piqueros, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Villamil
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Redmangrove 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Beach Hotel, Iguanas, blue footed boobies, penguins at the beach ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Mangrove Isabela Hotel
Red Mangrove Hotel Isabela
Redmangrove Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing