We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good restaurant, good bungalow, but the owner attitude is totally inadequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffalo Bay Vacation Club
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ko Phayam
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I totally agree with the review below. which i read before going and dismissed after talking with some of my friends who had been there. The location is nice, the food is great and not pricey, BUT:
- Grumpy is a feeble word to describe the attitude of the owner (who on the other hand is a very good cook). If you are into the accommodation business, learn to be accommodating and friendly with everybody (and not only repeat customers), or find somebody else to don't interfere with customers.
- Honestly, for the price we paid, which was 3500THB for a air con room, I was expecting way more in terms of facilities and (again) friendliness. I understand it was the beginning of the low season, and had to take out the facilities for kids, but then why do they charge high season prices?
All in all, not such a good experience. I will definitively go back to Koh Phayam, but will try PP if i want a middle/high end accommodation, or will stay at Lazy Hut on Ao Yai if i want low key.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 80 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

disregarding the 4* (?) blue sky resort located on the island buffalo bay vacation club is the only place on koh phayam that nearly offers resort-like conveniences (serviced rooms/bungalows, hot water, wifi, 24h electricity, aircon...), but the grumpiness of the owner and the staff (mind the exceptions in the kitchen and the lovely cleaning ladies) is real turn down and degrades it to an average place to stay for an over average price.

the restaurant though is excellent. couldn't fault a single meal whether thai, mexican or a simple breakfast dish, everything was cooked to perfection, but never served with a smile. what a shame...

Room Tip: bungalow nr. 1 is the only one with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank s_cinnamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The food of this hotel is really excellent. Not only the normal Thaifood is superb
but also the Mexican food (with selfmade dough of the tortillias and imported spices
from Mexico). The Lebanese salad, rosmarin chicken, seafood paella and creme catalan(both to order in advance), mashed potatoes, squid with black pepper and not to forget the passion fruit shake (made of fresh frozen passions fruits) are a dream. In this restaurant the russian owner (Dimitri)and his wife cooks themselves (of course also with some other employees). He uses only high quality ingredients and takes especially care of the hygiene. I wish all restaurants of Thailand would have such a good and clean food. You can eat and drink there really everything (not like in other restaurant where you have to fear diarrhoea - which we had three times after eating in other restaurants during our stay in Thailand). The only disadvantage of this beach in Ko Phayam (but this is not the fault of the hotel) is that you have only half of the day the opportunity to go swimming because of the low tide...(sea is than more than 1 km away). Behind Bungalow number 20 is the generator. So if you don't want to hear the noise of the generator you should take the Bungalows close to the sea. Our Deluxe Bungalow (no. 6) was very big, clean and had a nice furnishing. It is also super that you have fly screens on the windows and on the door. So you can leave the windows and door open while sleeping (why can't other hotels make this, too ???). The towels are changed every second day and the bedclothes after six days.
If you want to go to the restaurant for dinner you should better go before 06.30 p.m. because afterwards the restaurant is too full. The restaurant is open from 07.00 a.m. until
10.00 p.m.. For breakfast you can have a really good original German muesli with fresh fruits (it is not on the menu card - so just only ask for it...). If you want to use the free WIFI you should better log in to the "Buffalo Bay vacation restaurant"-address (just ask the owner to install this). It was not possible for us to log in with the "normal" address with our windows 7 computer. Best hotel on Koh Phayam !!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sigi905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We had the most wonderful stay here, booked for only one night and stayed for the full 2 weeks.
The food cooked by the owner and his wife was some of the best we have ever eaten, fresh fish can be ordered on request the wahoo steak is incredible !

Our room and bathroom ( western flushing toilet) was spacious and cleaned daily, it came complete with fan, bath robes, tv ,(fridge and very cheap mini bar where we could not resist the daily nuts and beer.)
their is a full dvd selection which is organised very randomly but we enjoyed hunting through them.
The beach has lovely white sand, the sea is clear blue and nice and deep for swimming !
(we found a great selection of inflatable lilos and rings to waste hours floating about on) The owner has two boats and is more than happy to do guest trips around the island,we meant to go for a trip up the mangrove river but time passed far too quickly.

The atmosphere is very relaxed and perfect for families and friends alike, the restaurant is on the beach and although it has a relaxed atmosphere we enjoyed many lively meals and great cocktails. (
Buffalow bay hosted one of the best holidays i have been on, the island has lots of different beaches and many a good party can be found or avoided.

Within walking distance is a little shop and a lovely chai tea place, on your way to the tea spot you can enjoy a thai torture massage, never have i been pulled in so many directions by such a small lady, we walked out 2 inches taler and felt both sore but amazing.

we will most definately be going back !!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tashbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

On internet the hotel promise kids activities, toys and possibilities for scuba diving and snorkling. In practice, however, there are not much to do for kids which is disappointing given the advertisement on Internett. In peak season the staff only work in the resturant so there are no time to attend to guests. The worse part is, however, service. There were no warm welcome as we are used to on Thai hotels, and we basically got a key in our hands and were told to find our own way. This also implied carrying suitcases over sand 100m. The hotel has a truck, but they did not care to pick us up at the pier. Neither was we told that we had to take motorbike taxi all the way to the hotel. Cleaning was terrible, and bedding is only changed every 6th day. On the plus side the bungalows were nice and the resturant was very good and incl kids menu. However, given that the resort was nothing more then ordinary it was rather overpriced. I would rather stay in nearby Phayem cottage which has a kids pool and kids activities or on the northern part of the same beach which was more charming

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The only thing he cares about is money. Good service doesnt exist in his dictionairy.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiv007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We had a fan bungalow which was great (no AC needed as there is always a little wind). The Bungalow is at the back of the Resort in a nice garden setting (no internet access back there, just in the front Bungalows, Restaurant and beach). The whole island is very relaxed and so are the people in the resort. Very easy going and friendly. The food is peeeerfect! Hughe portions! Watch out :-) We tried the pesto noodles which were nice and the portion was big enough for two! BUT you have to try the nachos grande and the burittos. The mexican food is just delicious and well worth the price! The beach is really nice and more or less almost empty (maybe 5 ppl). You can have a nice little walk or jogg at the beach. The water is crystal clear but you cant really swim in the afternoon (after 2) because of low tide. I can really recommend the hotel. If you don't stay there go at least for dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Phayam
21.7 mi away
Tinidee Hotel Ranong
Tinidee Hotel Ranong
#2 of 7 in Ranong
197 reviews
1.2 mi away
PP Land Beach
PP Land Beach
#1 of 3 in Ko Phayam
89 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Blue Sky Resort Koh Payam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baan Klong Kleng
Baan Klong Kleng
#10 of 45 in Ko Phayam
97 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flower Power Farm Village & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Rabbit Bungalow
Rabbit Bungalow
#2 of 45 in Ko Phayam
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Bay Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Bay Vacation Club

Address: 51/3 Ao Kao Kwai, Ko Phayam 85000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ranong Province > Ko Phayam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ko Phayam
Price Range: $28 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buffalo Bay Vacation Club 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach of Buffalo Bay at Koh Phayam island and open all the year, our club offers guests of all ages the perfect destination, with spacious, comfortable, modern bungalows at a very affordable price. From family escapes to long stay opportunity for your retirement, our resort suits most travel tastes. We provide the privacy, services and amenities associated only with luxury resorts at very moderate prices for guests seeking quiet and relaxing beach holidays. We are only a small resort, located on an island without electricity, a good source of fresh water and limited supply of staff and logistics, so please don’t expect Club Med , when everything is included or Marriott Club service. We are private club and in pick season or some weeks our activities or tours organised only for club members.Our bungalows offer some of the finest accommodation on Koh Phayam island. 24 hours electricity, only 22 bungalows, all are with own balcony with chairs, fully furnished with stylish wooden teak furniture, modern amenities and offering the comforts for all budgets. We provide different rental prices for our bungalows – with or without full amenities and discount for long stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Buffalo Bay Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Bay Vacation Club Hotel Koh Phayam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing