We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach and restaurant”
Review of Baan Klong Kleng

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Klong Kleng
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach and restaurant”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here as three couples in April 2014 in rooms bungalows 5, 6 and 7 at the back of the resort. Overall, we were very impressed and would recommend staying here.

The bungalows are basic but comfortable with nice outside areas. There is no electricity after 11 or so at night which means the fans stop - as we went in late April, this meant it was too hot to get a good nights sleep.

We were really impressed with the food which is made fresh to order (it sometimes means you have to wait a while but it is worth the wait).

The location is fabulous. Its on the best beach on the island, and the sea is great for swimming in. I would recommend getting mopeds for a little explore. We also rented sea kayaks from the place next door.

The staff were all really friendly but not too overbearing. The lady who does the massages is amazing - the best thai massage I have ever had.

The only things which could be improved were that I think that the outdoor bathrooms could do with cleaning everyday if possible, and a hammock or more relaxing seating outside the bungalows would be nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lawa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    19
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
62
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

i was there during the low season. the bungalows were nicely built. but it wasn't so private since each of them were so close to each others. but during the low season there was no one around anyway. they got nice bathroom, clean wooden floor which was enough for simple bungalows. i found it was a bit too dark inside but over all i enjoyed.

Room Tip: What outstanding about this place was the food. Their chef cooked amazingly! The best taste and valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Baan Klong Kleng has to be the most wonderful place to relax on Koh Phayam. We spent 9 days here and felt as though we'd landed in paradise. The french host Fabian was fantastic, so welcoming, friendly and helpful. He also baked his own french bread. The Thai cuisine was simply mind-blowing, the best Thai food we've ever sampled in fact. The cottages are lovingly cared for, well positioned and the beach, just at the foot of the restaurant, is peaceful and pristine! Couldn't wish for more! (we shouldn't really tell the rest of the world about this little gem!)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHyllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Fabien and Nok are the best hosts you can imagine! Their well-managed bungalow resort is lovely. The wooden bungalows are tastefully decorated and spacious, the beds perfectly comfortable. The beach was one of the best on Koh Phayam. I will definitely come back. Thanks, Fabien and Nok, for making my time in your home an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Me and my wife spent my honeymoon here.. Our first visit to Phayam, but certainly wont be our last. An amazing Island with many beautiful beaches that has yet to succumb to mass tourism. As for Baan Klong Kleng, if what you require is a very clean well equipped accommodation (provided you are not keen on air-con, as I am not) with very helpful staff in idyllic surroundings at a reasonable price.. Then this is for you! SUPERB!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I would highly recommend staying at this resort! Book ahead so not to be disappointed.
The rooms are comfortable and clean. They have great little balcony areas too.
The owners are lovely with wonderful staff. The service was great at all times.
The food is amazing! Truly the best food you can get anywhere! Also fresh french bread & croissants in a morning which is wonderful little treat when you away!
The thai massage is one of the best I've had anywhere in thailand! You must book the time you want the day before so not to be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sablet, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed in ppland on the "mainland" side of the island for a month in November, which is a terrific place to stay. I only glimpsed inside the huts at Klong Kleng and they seem fine. The point of this review is to add my voice to other reviewers' raves about the food and ambiance in the restaurant. I often rode my motor bike over to Klong Kleng and Heaven Beach to enjoy Buffalo bay and the marvelous sunrises and sunsets there. Klong Kleng's comfortable restaurant with its great views of the beach serves up brilliant western style breakfasts (especially the cinnamon rolls he does a couple of times a week) and some of the best Thai food on the island. The atmosphere is laid-back and somehow the people staying there seem to get on well together. Fabien is a droll fellow with a quiet sense of humour and high standards. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froglink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phayam hotels
2.3 mi away
JJ Beach Resort
JJ Beach Resort
#3 of 42 in Ko Phayam
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flower Power Farm Village & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Rabbit Bungalow
Rabbit Bungalow
#2 of 42 in Ko Phayam
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chomjan Beach Resort
Chomjan Beach Resort
#5 of 42 in Ko Phayam
56 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sabai Sabai Beach Bungalows
1.5 mi away
The Blue Sky Resort Koh Payam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Klong Kleng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Klong Kleng

Property: Baan Klong Kleng
Address: Aow Khao Kwai Beach, Ko Phayam, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ranong Province > Ko Phayam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phayam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Baan Klong Kleng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing