We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad to have stayed there”
Review of Frog Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frog Beach House
Ranked #4 of 8 Ko Phayam B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Thanks Gop for your warm hospitality in the true Thai style. It was so nice to get off the backpacker trail and relax in the classic, clean and comfortable bungalows with their own bathrooms. The beachfront aspect of Frog Beach House is only a stone’s throw away from the clear ocean waters. The ferry ride from Ranong to Koh Phayam is amazing after passing through the fishing port with classic Chinese style fishing boats you will be treated to stunning views of Burma and the mountains along the Thai coast. Koh Phayam is a jewel in the Thai experience with secluded beaches and friendly locals. It was just what I needed to unwind and I was fortunate to see a hornbill on one of my walks. Truly the best hospitality in Thailand, thanks again. I wish to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 57 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

I can't speak highly enough of the fabulous people at Frog Beach House who look after their guests so well, you really feel you are part of the family. Their restaurant service delicious Thai food and it's always fresh. The accommodation is great - comfortable, clean, roomy and the bathroom is wonderful - you must go and stay. Frog Beach is on the beach at Aow Yai and you really feel like you are in paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We arrived a mess and in bad humor so late at night after finding a place we had been told to stay was fully booked, but Nop and gang showed us kindness we didn't deserve. Lovely, airy, clean bungalows, good food, footsteps from the ocean, no appointments to keep.... Our week there left us with memories that we will always treasure.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I loved Frog Beach House so much I went back again. Accommodation is clean, comfortable, great bathrooms and only about 100 metres to the ocean. The restaurant has delicious food and the friendly people who run Frog Beach House are delightful. I highly recommend Frog Beach House and I'm going back for my third visit as soon as I can.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Even though frog beach house was not as cheap as most of the other choices in the vicinity and the bungalows weren't directly on the beach (the distance to the beach was maybe 100 meters or 110 yards) we felt that the quality of the bungalows and the excellent service made our stay definitely worthwhile.

Our bungalow was sturdy and stylish with mosquito net, fan and a private bath. In my opinion it resembled a real house more than the usual simple huts on a beach. As a fun detail, the bathroom was situated in an outdoor-enclosure linked directly to the bungalow and made it possible for us to have a shower directly under the stars. The original price was 800B a night, but since we stayed a whole week, we got a 100B discount a night. The bungalow did get a bit hot during the day, but then Thailand was experiencing an all-round heat wave of temperatures over 40°C/104°F

The beach was also very nice and long (about 3 km or 2 miles) with enough waves to go boogieboarding on the edges of the beach or surfing on the middle of the beach. We were able to borrow the boogieboards free of charge from the reception. We did some ordinary swimming and floating in the water too, so the waves were not too big.

The thing that really made our trip to Koh Phayam, was the service and food. The service was very friendly (even among Thai-standards) and considerate and we felt truly welcome and the food in the small restaurant was probably among the best thaifood we've eaten during out two-month stay in Thailand. And it was fresh too, for example one day some sea gypsies came to offer the restaurant some clams they had just caught and we were asked if we'd like to have some for dinner that day. And they were delicious :-).

I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone, excluding those people who have a serious aversion to Bob Marley, since Frog beach house is situated near a bar called "Rasta baby bar". The bar didn't bother us, since the only the thing we heard from there was the music (which usually stopped before our bed-time), and we were in the bungalow situated nearest to the bar, so you could always ask for one in the back of the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fmluder135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Entweder viel Geld zahlen für ein vernünftiges Zimmer, aber besser ganz woanders hin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nanapsy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ein Standardbungalow mit Ventilator liegt näher am Haupthaus und dem Strand. Sehen optisch auch schö...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phayam hotels
1.3 mi away
Buffalo Bay Vacation Club
Buffalo Bay Vacation Club
#2 of 3 in Ko Phayam
79 reviews
2.5 mi away
PP Land Beach
PP Land Beach
#1 of 3 in Ko Phayam
88 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lucky Resort
Lucky Resort
#2 of 8 in Ko Phayam
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rabbit Bungalow
Rabbit Bungalow
#2 of 45 in Ko Phayam
93 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Blue Sky Resort Koh Payam
2.1 mi away
Baan Klong Kleng
Baan Klong Kleng
#8 of 45 in Ko Phayam
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frog Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog Beach House

Address: 15/6 Moo 1 Aow Yai, Ko Phayam 85000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ranong Province > Ko Phayam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phayam
Price Range: $31 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Frog Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Frog Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing