We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunately the only choice...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Helen Homestead Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glen Helen Homestead Lodge
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Unfortunately the only choice...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed here in July-2009 at the cost of $160. Whilst not expensive for a room necessary it is expensive for Australia - it is expensive for what you get. Unfortunately if you have a day up from Alice to the West Macdonnell ranges - this is your only choice & as they know that they rip you off even more than usual.

The room was very basic & in need of renovating. It is supposed to have been renovated recently but it doesn't look like it. The room was tiny, the bed uncomfortable, the water pressure for the shower was appalling - we stayed at more "desert like" places which succeeded to do better. There were no room to put your bag/hang your clothes. They kindly tell you that you can drink the tap water but that it taste awful - they provide you with two very small glasses worth of water then refer you to their shop where they sell overpriced water.

Then I get to the food. Omg - it was the worst I've eat in the 2 years I've lived & travelled around Australia. They charged almost $40 for what was stated to be fillet steak, potato rounds and sauce...translation overcooked rump steak with boiled potatoes & powder gravy. As there is nowhere else to eat - you are stuck with this.

Now to the only good thing - the location. Just by the cliffs which changes colour amazingly - well it's just stunning. Shame about everything else.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    185
    109
    52
    35
See reviews for
121
211
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Antony, France
Level Contributor
345 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

This hotel is located in the middle of nowhere. Do not search for another one, the only other solution is the camping of the Hotel!

The staff is so nice and the location is so quiet!

Rooms are really rustic and you need to save more than usually the water and electricity because they are so far away that nothing comes to them. There is a generator for electricity and a tank for water...

The restaurant is really great and it is by the way strange to find this food at this place!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schuminou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2009

We really enjoyed the experience of Glen Helen. Yes, the rooms are small and basic, but are clean. Dont be put off by the toilet or hand basin stains...remember its is Outback Aussie and not a Metropolis! The water here is bore water and highly mineralised, leaving extremely hard-to get-off stains on white porcelain and shower bases. Owners of about 18 months are trying hard to renovate the complex.
The setting is beautiful, looking out onto high red orange cliffs and the gorge itself. The stars on a clear night are totally amazing..a must to see.
Dinner was really really good, they have a great chef.
Guests can get together with locals at the bar...ther are some interesting characters to talk to from all over the world. Small pool was a welcome relief from 40c heat!
The helicopter flight was really worth it. Gives you a perspective of how the ranges were formed...they were once higher than the Himalayas.
Go there with an open mind, dont expect 5 star accom..(.the only stars there are in the sky!) and you will love it
We went off season and paid $A130...think prices they charge for peak season are far too high

  • Liked — Scenery, food and the people
  • Disliked — High prices they charge peak season
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussierover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2008

Stayed one night in a campervan. Site is situated by the "hotel" and bar, next to the river and gorge. Very little shade, pretty rough site overall. Pool was ok. Restaurant and bar on-site, with views over the river to the gorge. Showers and toilets Ok. Main gripe is prices: fuel was the highest we encountered in a week's touring of the Red Centre, and so was the site fee. Way higher than Ayers Rock Resort for instance, yet fewer facilities and much lower quality. Wouldn't bother staying there next time, would do a day trip from Alice Springs and stay there.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_the_Taf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2008

OK Glen Helen I think is the definition of love it or hate it, and I have to say that it absolutely blew me away, so much so that for reasons I probably can't quite convey or understand it was my favourite place in 3 weeks in Oz. Firstly the setting.. Glen Helen itself is a gorge in the West Macdonnel ranges, that's it, just a break in the mountains with a watering hole at the base, there is nothing else there apart from endless outback. The wateringhole, with the birds flying in and out to get their refreshments, and the glimpse and promise of the endless expanse in the background for me was like standing looking back millions of years into some prehistoric past. Across the main road from the 'resort' is an area for riverbed camping and off road 4WD driving which would be great to explore as long as you are prepared and have full supplies, we just played at exploring for 30 minutes or so only staying about 500m away from the road, so you feel adventurous whilst still being perfectly save. The 'resort' itself as other reviews have conveyed is very very basic, particularly the rooms which have air con, a small shower room a bed and a fridge, oh and a chair and that's it. There is also a little card in the room advising you that as this is the outback you may get 'unwanted visitors' ie hairy things with 6 legs or I guess non-hairy slidey things with no legs. The card promises that they are harmless but if you feel unnerved then go to reception who will be pleased to remove them. Well Hubby and I are unashamedly terrified of spiders and what did we find resting on our window frame but the largest hairiest spider I have ever laid my eyes on. While he stayed on spider watch I dashed to reception to find a knight in shining armour which came in the shape of a lovely lady who picked up her dustpan and brush and came to our rescue, she got the spider (after telling us that it was a huntsman.. but only a baby... gulp!) and put it far away outside our room. Later in the bar she told us about the many splendid varieties of spiders and snakes and lizards that you need to know about in the outback whilst letting us choose the music to play in the bar. Anyway I digress, the point is that the people here are lovely, really great down to earth folk who make you feel like the place is your local. The Chef who I think has been described elsewhere on the site as 'eccentric' is a legend, not only does he cook great meals but he provides top entertainment too. Oh and you can go on a helicopter ride to view the ranges, but my other phobia of heights prevented me doing that so can't report on it. I'm not sure how long people work here for, its probably the sort of place that doesn't keep staff for the long haul as it is so far out in the middle of no where, so by the time you travel the wonderful people that we met might have moved on, but I would definately recommend that you give this place a go as part of your outback adventure, I think the experience will stay with you for a long time.

  • Liked — Location and the people
  • Disliked — hairy spider
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DorsetKezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

The positives are the scenery, the outback atmosphere, the friendly staff, the bar and the good food. the negatives are the overall "basic-ness" of the place and the price - clearly being the only place to stay within a 100km area, they can charge the prices they want. That said we had a great time as it made a change from your average characterless hotel. Rooms were very basic and cleanliness met the minimum standards. Nevertheless we (2 adults and 3 young children) loved it for one night. Not sure we'd have managed two nights though...

  • Liked — the atmosphere
  • Disliked — bit shabby
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank middge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2008

The Glen Helen Resort is located in an absolutely stunning environment. However the Resort is not maintained well. So the price is too expensive. Staff is very friendly, and the quality of the restaurant is above average.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThornyDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West MacDonnell National Park hotels

Been to Glen Helen Homestead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Helen Homestead Lodge

Property: Glen Helen Homestead Lodge
Address: 1 Namatjira Drive | West MacDonnell Ranges Via Alice Springs, West MacDonnell National Park, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Glen Helen Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > West MacDonnell National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in West MacDonnell National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Helen Homestead Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, previously known as Glen Helen Resort is a Lodge style property with simple, compact and comfortable rooms, great scenic location with old fashioned welcome and outback atmosphere.We are renowned for great personal service, great dining in our Award Winning Restaurant and great live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glen Helen Homestead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Helen Homestead Lodge Australia/West MacDonnell National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing