We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen Helen Homestead Lodge
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I think calling this place a 'resort' gives a rather false impression - the facilities are definitely quite rustic, and on the scruffy side. That however isn't necessarily negative, as the place has a genuine feel to it and the staff are incredibly helpful, but you definitely need to make sure you know what you're getting before booking. The dining, however, is absolutely 'resort' standard, and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The food was excellent, as was the service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TazzieDevils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outback_oasis, General Manager at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Jred_Jred

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Glen Helen Resort.

We are so glad you felt 'the feel' that you did, as we know there is magic in that!

Glen Helen is unique and we try to keep that quality with our service and our wonderful meals.

We know the word 'resort' conjures up different images than what we present at first sight, but as we offer so many different services, lodge-motel, backpackers, outback pub, Restaurant, café, live entertainment, campground, helicopter scenic flights, 4WD tours, the word 'Resort' just puts all these services into one collective.

We just choose to use the term redefined!

Kind regards

Shelagh O'Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 499 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were visiting the caravan show in Melbourne a couple of years ago, and met Sheleigh on the NT info stand, got some fantastic brochures, so stayed at Glen Helen a few nights, this is a great place to park the van and explore the region. We missed the area so much we returned again for a few more nights the following year.We get a very good feeling staying at Glen Helen, very relaxing, and so much to do, we will be back again next year, fingers crossed. Both Gail and myself feel sad leaving this area after a visit, as we miss the magnificent views of Mount Sonder, and Fink River, the howl of the dingo at night in the gorge, the wandering camels, better start packing now I think..
Mike n Gail

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MikenGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outback_oasis, Manager at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Mikengail

thank you for sending in this review of your experiences at Glen Helen. It was great to have you return and we look forward to seeing you next year too!

It is great that you have been able to explore our amazing area from your base at Glen Helen, and come to really appreciate all the things that make it so special.

Our campers have a great opportunity to stay a bit longer and explore a bit deeper the fascinating geology and ecology of the West MacDonnell Ranges.

Sadly all but a few of our Motel guests have time constraints meaning they must leave too soon. But we definitely recommend staying 2 nights out here if you can!! We have some great specials going currently

Kind regards

Shelagh O'Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The first time I stayed at Glen Helen Resort was in one of the motel rooms. Lovely! This time we went cheap and stayed in a twin bunk dorm room. Not so lovely. Bleedin' cold, in fact. The bedding seriously needed replacing. One of the ladies' showers didn't work and the toilet paper was so thin, you needed three times as much as you'd normally use. False economy, as far as I'm concerned. Yes, it was a bed and many people are perfectly happy with just a bed. As for the food - dinner was delicious. We ate in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The staff was lovely. All that aside, it's such a unique spot. Just spend the extra and stay in one of the motel rooms.

Room Tip: If you can afford the cabins, go with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelster24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outback_oasis, Manager at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Shelster 24

Thankyou for reviewing Glen Helen. We are glad your great meal balanced out your stay in the Stockman's quarters. You will be pleased to know that heaters have now been placed in all rooms and blankets upgraded.
The bunkhouse serves a purpose in providing a really basice alternative that is less exposed than camping. It is really popular for school and bushwalking groups.
We are working on making all our motel rooms as comfortable as possible in our remote and simple setting.
We hope you can visit again in the comfort of motel accomodation and enjoy further our excellent menu

Kind regards

Shelagh O'Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

If traveling in the West Macdonnell Ranges you must stay at least one night at Glen Helen Resort to experience it's excellent restaurant, an almost unbelievable experience in this remote location. The Resort ( I think it is a bit of an overstatement to call it a resort, Outback Station or Lodge might be more appropriate) is in a beauty's location and encompasses the magnificent Glen Helen gorge, waterhole and towering red cliffs. The facilities are basic but clean and tidy. The staff are all very friendly and eager to please. There is obviously very good supervision and management of staff who predominantly appear to be back packers.

The restaurant, open for dinner, was a most unexpected and pleasant surprise. The a la carte menu offered a range of entrees, mains and desserts that reflected the produce of the region, including game meats and bush tucker ingredients. The chef was outstanding in his culinary skills and the meals were beautifully presented. They also offered an interesting wine list and very good wine service. Our dinner here was an absolute delight, one of the best we experienced throughout our six week trip through Central Australia.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outback_oasis, Manager at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Anglea C

Thankyou very much for your kind words about your recent stay at Glen Helen. We have always had the policy of growing up into the Resort name, however ammending it may well be a great option.
Our work to reach a high standard of dining is all worth it when we receive such positive comment,s. We have been striving for excellence in service, dining and atmosphere for some years now, and will continue to work to further improve our guest experience. It was great to hear that you allowed 6 weeks to enjoy the outback. That is a really great holiday and gives you a tremendous opportunity to really tune in to all that Outback Australia has to offer

Kind regards

Shelagh O'Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Glen Helen resort is not so much a resort but an experience. Situated 141 kilometres from Alice Springs, it can be visited in a day by those who are pressed for time. Those with time to spare can choose a number of options including camping & caravan sites. The attractive thing about this place is the scenery & the walks. Resort is not a word I would use to describe Glen Helen for it is 'rough' as far as amenities are concerned. Those thinking it is a 5 star place with a pool & plumbing to match will no doubt be disappointed. Those who can value a genuine Australian outback experience will love it.To be honest I did not stay overnight but came on a private day trip. I was able to buy a cup of coffee which I was able to serve for myself in a bar/dining area which oozed laid backness. It felt odd doing this for the coffee was free for guests who had paid for their rooms & I hoped that they didn't think I was free loading, but in a place like this I dont think anyone took any notice of me. I sipped my coffee on the back veranda whilst taking in the view. Bliss!! I could have spent some considerable time in this place if not for a pressing schedule.
I did not try the restaurant but the menu seemed very interesting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DougFromAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outback_oasis, Manager at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear DougFromAlbany

Thankyou for reviewing Glen Helen Resort. I enjoyed your comments and your interesting photos. You are quite right that we do not fit the regular definition of a Resort, and while we hope to continue to upgrade facilities, and continue to offer excellent service, we are proud of our unique take on the term.
I am so glad you enjoyed your coffee on our verandah, and took in the beautiful Glen Helen Gorge.
It is my wish that you do return soon, Doug, and stay with us, sample our Gold Plate winning Menu in the Namatjira Gallery Restaurant and have the time to soak up the atmosphere and ambience that surrounds our property.
Again, my thanks for your review

Kind regards

Shelagh O'Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Out of all the Stations and Resorts on the NT Red Trail, this was by far the best. Lovely location under the red sandstone cliffs by a waterhole, this old fashioned station still captured the pioneering spirit of the early settlers. We were campervanning. The site was tidy with good facilities, not overly large so you would have to book in high season. The delightful surprise was the fine dining. We had entree of tasters of camel sausage, buffalo steak and crocodile tail. And then the most beautiful dish of kangaroo steak, tenderly cooked to perfection. Bliss.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outback_oasis, Manager at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear lovegeog

thankyou for reviewing Glen Helen. We are delighted that you had such a relaxing and enjoyable time!
We are 'growing into' the name Resort (which we inherited), because we offer a range of services, so we are not just a motel, or just a campground etc. One day there will be some wonderful deluxe facilities and then the name will not seem odd.
We are currently preparing the 2013 season menu for our travellers and look forward to competing successfully for more Gold Plate awards.
We hope you can return some time in the future.

Kind regards
Shelagh O'Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

At first sight 'resort' seems rather a grand term for what is little more than a roadhouse with outbuildings. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to others.The rooms are functional but have fridges and air-con, and who wants to stay indoors when you have that view of the river and gorge just outside? There is a small swimming pool with sunbeds too. The terraces in the sunshine are a birdwatcher's paradise. The real jewel here is the restaurant which serves excellent food - it was a real surprise! Afterwards, sit in the bar area and soak up the atmosphere; there's also free tea and coffee here for residents, as there is no room to provide this in your own room. It is a short walk to Glen Helen Gorge and well worth it. We found it hard to tear ourselves away from this wonderful location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovegeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outback_oasis, Manager at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Lovegeog

Thankyou for your review of Glen Helen Resort

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is also great that you discovered and enjoyed our restaurant, as we are proud of what we have acheived and we love to surprise our guests!
It is our privelege to have the chance to welcome so many visitors from all over Australia and the World to our beautiful region
Kind regards
Shelagh O'Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glen Helen Homestead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Helen Homestead Lodge

Address: 1 Namatjira Drive | West MacDonnell Ranges Via Alice Springs, West MacDonnell National Park, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Glen Helen Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > West MacDonnell National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in West MacDonnell National Park
Price Range: $112 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Helen Homestead Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, previously known as Glen Helen Resort is a Lodge style property with simple, compact and comfortable rooms, great scenic location with old fashioned welcome and outback atmosphere.We are renowned for great personal service, great dining in our Award Winning Restaurant and great live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glen Helen Homestead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Helen Homestead Lodge Australia/West MacDonnell National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing