We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glen Helen Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveler rating
87
218
116
56
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
218
116
56
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsormiston gorgethe west macdonnell rangesochre pitswest macslive music in the barpalm valleyoutback experiencepowered sitegreat outbackhelicopter riderooms are basicremote locationred centrecliff facered cliffslarapinta trailtea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 515 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My parents and I booked 3 beds (bunk beds) for a total of A$ 90. Upon arrival the shock. In contrast, a prison cell on Alcatraz is a 4-star hotel. Fluctuating bedsteads, no lateral fall out protection, no air conditioning by over 30 degrees. Free cancellation? The "Manager" told me you booked 3 beds - you got them, cancellation cost the full price. Australians are not service oriented and inhospitable, that we found out already when we arrived Australia. That the cell had no air conditioning was never mentioned. Not so in the Ayers Rock Resort and Kings Canyon Resort, even the most inexpensive rooms do have air conditioning. By the high room temperature in the Glen Helen Resort we could not sleep, so we went to Alice Springs late in the evening. There we got a 4-star hotel room (with air conditioning) for about A$ 100. The paid overnight fee of A$ 90 at Glen Helen Resort was not refunded. Day trip to Glen Helen YES, stay at the Glen Helen Resort, NO. HANDS OFF!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MLA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outback_oasis, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Helen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2011

Dear MLA2010,
I'm so sorry that you had a bad experience and chose not to stay with us back on October,
I have your reservation request email in front of me, and you very specifically requested a bunkhouse room for yourself and your parents. Our reply email confirming your reservation clearly states our cancellation policy and explains the reasoning behind it. Our cancellation policy is also on our website, on the booking form page where you made the reservation. I am not aware of ANY hotel that does not charge the full price for a cancellation on the day. I appreciate that on our website it does not mention that the bunkhouse rooms are not air conditioned, although it does clearly state that the motel rooms are... We do offer removable side rails for our bunk beds if they are required or specifically requested, but there was no mention of this being necessary on your reservation.

The cheapest rooms at kings canyon start at $120. But in reality, you are trying to compare us directly with multi-million dollar corporations such as kings canyon and uluru. As big a compliment as this is, it really isn't a very realistic comparison.

From myself and the rest of the management team here at glen helen we are very sorry that you didn't stay and enjoy the resort and the area.

Regards,
Dean O'Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I was plesantly suprised when we arrived ,the friendly staff the atmosphere and the food were very good,the view from the room & the gorge were brilliant (stayed in september 2011 )
the guitarist after dinner was very good,wish we had stayed 2 days instead of 1.The only down side was the bed was like a rock & the room was a bit antiquated,but we were in the bush
Tony/Kerry
Belmont nsw

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outback_oasis, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Helen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2011

Dear Tony H,
It makes me very happy to hear us referred to as an "oasis in the desert", as that is exactly what we aim to provide! We aim to offer an exceptional and personal level of customer service and make you feel right at home.
The standard of the mattresses in some of the motel rooms has only recently been brought to our attention and we will be adressing it very soon, this is why we appreciate feedback like yours, It enables us to adress the issues that our valued customers find important. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you return to stay with us again soon.
Regards,
Dean O'Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The people here would be the first to admit the place could do with a lick of paint. However the staff could have not been more pleasant. The food in the resterauant was really good and the live music was the best in Oz. We could not have been made to feel more welcome, our short but pleasant stay here is one of our best memories of Australia, it was real bonsa!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank luckycol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outback_oasis, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Helen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2011

Dear Luckycol,
Thanks for your review, you are correct in your comment about the lick of paint, maintenance of an outback property is an ongoing challenge. We attempt to adress maintenance issues as they arise. The Namatjira gallery restaurant is something we take a great deal of pride in and have recently implemented a completely new menu with the help of our new chef. We aim to provide a very high level of very personal customer service and get to know our guests as much as possible, we want you to feel at home!
Regards,
Dean O'Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Get there early to get a good camping spot, they are a bit limited on the grass. This place sits right on the waters edge with the ancient cliffs towering above which can be seen from everywhere. The camp shower block is a bit small but clean and hot. The water is quite hard and not so great on the hair!! but who cares, its all about the experience. The Gorge is stunning but very cold to swim in. Lots of birds so sit quietly and just watch.
The bar, restaurant are nice and cosy after a long day on the Meereenie Loop and the night sky stunning. It is a great base to explore so many surrounding sites close by like Ormiston, Ellery Creek and the ochre pits.
Dee

Room Tip: Book early for rooms, we camped
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YarraVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outback_oasis, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Helen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2011

Dear YarraVictoria,
thankyou for your review, it's always nice to get some feedback from campers to go alongside the motel reviews. The hard water is something that we will most likely always have to deal with out here, being located as far from alice springs as we are. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate Glen Helen as a place to base yourself for all the beautiful things that the area has to offer, as this is something that we strive to achieve.
kind regards,
Dean O'Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

After Ayers rock resort and king's canyon resort, I was a little afraid at the idea of going to another « resort » in this area..but glen helen resort is closer to a big B&B then to a resort.

The area is really beautiful and peaceful with the glen helen gorge (very interesting view) that you can see from the cute rooms.

The room are clean and filled with everything you can need (soap, lot of towels etc..) and the staff is very nice and helpful.

The food is uncomparable to the other places around, the restaurant for the night served me the best lamb with honey i could wish for, with a homemade bread very fresh and tasty !

There is not a lot of things to do around but it is a really good place to relax, enjoy the view, and visit the other sites around.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outback_oasis, Manager at Glen Helen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Dear Amyonite
thanks for reviewing your stay at Glen Helen, and well done for appreciating the uniqueness of our location and property! We try to interact with everyone we possibly can, and make everyone's stay special.
Our restaurant is going from strength to strength with our great new chef, and we are so glad you enjoyed your meal.
We hope you can come and stay with us again soon. We have a newly made nature trail near the Resort, and the National park is looking wonderful with wildflowers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews