We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Glamping Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We recently stayed (3 nights in late September) at the APT Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge. Hard to get to, four wheel drive only (we drove the 53 kilometres in 2 hours), but what a wonderful experience glamping in the Australian Outback.
This camp is well set up with communal eating area and the "tents" are well appointed with king size beds and en-suite. The staff, when we stayed, were very helpful and accommodating. My wife and I are vegetarians, and were a little concerned before we arrived as to what might have been on our menu - we were very impressed with the different vegetarian dishes (not just salad) each night, as well as the packed lunches to suit our requirements. Special thanks to the staff there at that time - Penny, Chris, Zoran, Will & Alinta, you guys were great. We would definitely consider going back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

If you want to stay overnight in Purnululu National Park (which we did) and you are not campers (which we are not) this is your only choice. And you pay dearly for being a captive audience. But it is captivating - worth every penny. I would do it again in a heartbeat and our party of two couples regretted staying only one night. Our friends felt it compared favourably to safari tent experiences they have had in Africa. The staff were charming, the tents were well appointed, with comfortable beds and good en suite bathrooms. There were only 16 of us "in camp" the night we were there and nibbles and drinks were served around the campfire. We then decamped to the open-air meals area, where we sat around one big table and enjoyed a delicious meal (included in the tariff, along with the cooked breakfast). For an extra fee, we had packed lunches for our day in Purnululu. I had been advised to book early, but I suspect that unless APT has a tour in, there is usually availability. A highlight of our three-week trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The private APT campsite at Bungle Bungles is 'Glamping' (glamour camping). It has power (solar of course) for light in tented cabins but no power points, no refrigeration, no shops, no fuel.. accommodation by pre-booking only. It IS remote ! Most people fly in or come by APT 4WD "bus".
Access to anything other than 4WD is prohibited. The road is rough and 53+13 km takes 2-3 hours in a 4wd. The are numerous (dry) creek crossings and continuous corrugations. However one CAN pre-book accommodation and come in by private or hire 4WD.

Considering all the additional expenses of hiring a 4WD one would be wise to consider the economies of fly-in fly-out tours whereby APT provide local transport to walks etc. Of course one has to meet their timetables but the guides and super vehicles, morning teas etc DO compare very favorably to the private/rental 4WD option.

3 nights is plenty to see 90% of the attractions - 4 nights says you need to bring a good amount of reading or be very enthusiastic about walking or bird watching or watching ants etc.


The only option is all meals and the meals are GREAT. Bush cooking at its finest - 3 courses all included. They serve soft drinks and alcohol and considering how far out it is prices are very reasonable. Of course their is nothing to stop you bringing your own to the tent but it won't be cool.

Winter is the ONLY time to come and it is still HOT! July was 29-39 C in day time and 15-20C at night. Walks are moderate, typically 10-15 km from 'camp', then 3 km each each way on foot ..but in that heat ..it is sufficient. The time to walk is early morning and then find a shady place to sit out the hot part of the day.

Their are 2 types of cabins, std with twin beds and 'better' with double beds and two extra chairs and a small table. If choosing, try and get an East facing cabin to avoid the afternoon 'bake', ideally one facing the creek (for privacy) and remote from reception, to avoid the after dinner chatter which does go on a bit.

Overall the comfort is very good and the staff are excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sbadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in the twin Eco tent two nights in early June. Very comfortable and the staff are fantastic. I hope they are WELL LOOKED AFTER by APT. They add a huge amount to a great experience, with their knowledge of the area and willingness to share tips and overall friendliness and professionalism. The tents are spacious and comfortable. The showers were OK but just having the ensuite bathroom was a great luxury after a day out tramping around the sights. We cannot recommend this site highly enough. The evening meal was a lovely surprise, fantastic food and lots of it. I have never eaten so well. The staff go out of their way to accomodate all dietary tastes and requirements. We cannot speak highly enough of the whole experience. The only negative thing was that our tent faced due west and we were unable to even consider sitting out on the balcony as the sun was unbearable. Fortunately we were able to head over to the main area for tea/coffee and shaded verandahs. It would have been nice to also have tea/coffee making facilities in our room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomads_in_training
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We arranged for a one night two full day trip to the Bungles, using a small plane to access the area. On arrival we were met by a young man who was our guide throughout our stay. He drove us to a number of trailheads and we took a number of spectacular hikes. We stayed in a superior tent and found it very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

There are 2 APT camps at the Bungle Bungle's, we stayed at the newest camp also smaller than the other camp.
This is the camp site they use for the promotions for the camping experience,.

There is nothing I could fault, it is a destination you remember. Food was great, staff the best of all APT sites..

For the middle of the middle of nowhere, this is luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arcticozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nites as part of our self drive trip through the Kimberleys (Aug). We found the food to be a good quality, the staff were excellent, helpful. Although this is an APT camp we were included as part of the group. we had standard tents which included ensuite bathrooms. bear in mind if travelling this way in August the nites can get a little cool so pack a lite warm top.
there is no power to tents for charging small items, however the staff offered an evening charging service if wanted. if travelling with car fridge as we did ensure you have a duel battery system in vehicle.
Highly recommend a stop here for a couple of days to explore this area. nice to come home to a cold drink or a "cuppa" and know that you are not cooking dinner.
up there with the best of them. We rated this camp as 1 of our top 3 stays on our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Garry01Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Purnululu National Park
0.0 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.0 mi away
Mitchell Falls Wilderness Lodge
Mitchell Falls Wilderness Lodge
#31 of 75 in Kimberley Region
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bell Gorge Wilderness Lodge
0.0 mi away
Karijini Eco Retreat
Karijini Eco Retreat
#1 of 2 in Karijini National Park
500 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emma Gorge Resort
Emma Gorge Resort
#4 of 10 in Kununurra
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge

Address: Purnululu National Park, Purnululu National Park, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Purnululu National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Purnululu National Park
Price Range: $312 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to accommodation in Purnululu National Park, Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge sets a standard all of its own, and is guaranteed to be a holiday highlight. APT's private Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge is located right in the heart of World Heritage-listed Purnululu National Park. It offers convenient access to the stunning beehive domes of the Bungle Bungle Range, and the breathtaking beauty of Piccaninny Creek, Cathedral Gorge, Echidna Chasm and Mini Palms Gorge. The idyllic bush setting gives you the opportunity to immerse yourself in the national park's tranquil beauty. The private ensuited tented cabins are strategically placed to ensure your privacy, whilst still being located close to the main lodge facilities. Soak up the tranquil atmosphere from your private deck, as you observe the abundance of beautiful birdlife. Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge features two grades of accommodation, Standard Twin or Superior Twin/King Double tented cabins. 3 Course dinner and breakfast are included in your tariff. Dining facilities at the lodge feature a retractable roof, offering you the opportunity to dine under the stars. After dinner, relax with new friends around the campfire as you take in the beautiful bush surrounds. Lunch is also available upon request (additional cost, please advise at time of booking). Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge is a licensed premises and has a small range of alcoholic beverages available for sale. We are proud of our 'leave no trace' philosophy, which helps protect this unique World Heritage-listed national park. The Award-Winning Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge was awarded the inaugural New Product Development Award by Australia's North West Tourism, an affiliate of Tourism Western Australia. It also received a silver medal in both the Ecotourism and Unique Accommodation categories of the Western Australian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungle Bungle Wilderness Hotel Kununurra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing