We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation”
Review of Aracari Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aracari Resort
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed at the resort in October,2013, friendly and helpful staff, breakfast was excellent, planning to stay there for my next visit! Very peaceful! I love the De Elegance room. Room service everyday! Courteuos front desk staff,always there to give assistance. My room was decorated with fresh flowers and the room had a lovely vanilla secnt.............i enjoyed the fresh air in the under the benhab!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 689annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 24 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here a number of times on a recent trip in July 2013
The hotel is located in a area that is easily accessable both by the Demerara Harbour Bridge and the Boats at the Vreed en Hoop Old ferry docks. The hotel is in need of some repair. The locks needs replacing, the bathrooms need a facelift (taps etc). The safety latch is not there. It is not a 5 star but it is okay for the price they charge. The staff are friendly and helpful, the two manager I believe Abishek and Noamie very nice and accomodating. One night the locks were broken and she switched us to another room. The food was not so great on some days, but was great on others i think it was a different cook. The linen needs changing, it is soiled and looks bad. The security at the hotel is a different issue, one gentleman looks disoriented most of the time after around 2200 hrs. He is poorly dressed with his shirt hanging out. The hot water works great. Room service is always prompt. Staff that brought our food was kind and had a smile, a rarety for guyana in most places. A advice would be to offer tea/coffee service. I would recommend this hotel for short stays. I was satisfied with the rooms they were clean and the ac worked well. The rooms varies, they are supposed to be DLX with sofa and minibar and a microwave, but not all of them came with those amenities. I would stay here again in my future travels, it is convenient to get to all major areas.

Room Tip: choose the deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanessamoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We first stayed at the resort in Oct, 2011 for our anniversary and the accommodation, service and food was quite okay, no complains, it was like home away from home and this enticed us to return. On our last visit, two days ago, it seems that a lot has changed, we could not wait to get home. 1) the Wi-Fi service sucks, 2) we couldn't watch a proper movie. For this sort of establishment shouldn't you have DIRECTV installed with a variety of channels not standard cable tv.3) My wife and I were having breakfast and we can hardly hear ourselves talk, the staff in the kitchen were very loud. The food also needs much improvement. 4) I wonder if there is a maid service cause we surely didn't see any for the duration of our stay for even a change of sheets and towels. 5) Their is no privacy in the rooms, I can hear my neighbour gaffing in the other room and you know what else we can hear.6) On entering this establishment there is a sign posted at the gate "WE ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY LOST OR DAMAGE TO VEHICLES", on seeing this made me want to change my mind on staying there. If I am a guest at your resort and you are not responsible for my vehicle that is parked in your compound then why would one want to be there in the first place if you are telling me that I am parking there at my own risk. It's a very good hide out and I belief that better can be done.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSwagg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for three days, was planning on staying for two weeks, but was not satisfied with most of the sevices, the rooms doors are always screeching, WI fi does not work, if you have to make a call you have to call front desk for them to put through the call, you have to waith a few minutes before they put the call through, if they don't get throught they would not call to let you, also on the closet door they was a large nail sticking out, I call asking them to fix, was not fixed before I leave, I think this hotel is very very beautiful and peaceful place for a vacation, its has a lot of potential, I would suggest to the owner, do some work and you would have a flourishing business becaues of the area and the room space, work on WI FI, do maintainace on the rooms, from desk and the maid are awesone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spicekid235, Front Office Manager at Aracari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your very Positive suggestions, same will be taken into consideration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Resort for 12 days, We booked our rooms early and when we got there our rooms were ready. We were comfortable, felt safe, the room were very spacious and well equipped. The staff there very friendly. I will recommend this resort to anyone going to Guyana on vacation. The only problem is the security, they let you through the gate without any questions asked. All in all we had a great time at Aracari. We will be back.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Iril D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My family stayed at the resort, nice place the kids really love the hotel, the maid are the most courteous and help maid I have met, they went above and beyond to assist in anyway they can, my only problem is the salon, a young lady by the name of Reshma, who claims to be the owner,I must say she has no class she is very unprofessional, does not know to speak to customer, has a nasty attitude, need to go to a training school and learns etiquette, if you go to Aracari do not go to the salon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shaleeza977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My Family stayed at Aracari from Nov. 16th to 19th 2012. We booked two rooms and was accomodated for early arrival, which is great. The rooms were very spacious and equipped with everything you need. The linen on the bed was stained and looked disgusting, we asked for it to be changed and it was. Front desk staff was mostly very nice except for one person. All other staff were really friendly and very helpfull, especially the maids. The pool was clean and nice, the kids had fun.Breakfast was included, eggs and toast every morning, you can purchase other menu items if you like but may have to wait for an hour, so plan ahead.

The two things we weren't impressed with are as follows.
Security, we were never stopped or questioned by security, you can come and go as you like. We had people just driving into the compound and coming up to our room without any interaction with security or fron desk.

Construction workers, there is renovation work taking place at the monement. We were awaken to load noise, banging and profanity early in the morning. Apprently, construction workers were building a scaffold between the two rooms and could care less that the rooms were occupied or that it was early in the morning. We called the front desk to voice or displeasure, they claimed they had no idea this was happening. We were more annoyed with the profanity that the noise, had kids in both rooms.

To conclude, I would rate our stay as average but think with a security review and some hospitality training, Aracari has the potential to be a really fun destination spot. We would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors, you can open the windows and enjoy the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Khan16_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essequibo Islands-West Demerara
0 mi away
Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown
0 mi away
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels
0 mi away
Baganara Island Resort
Baganara Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bartica
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Signature Inn
Signature Inn
#7 of 21 in Georgetown
49 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Coastal Hotel
Grand Coastal Hotel
#5 of 21 in Georgetown
154 reviews
0 mi away
The Eldorado Inn
The Eldorado Inn
#6 of 21 in Georgetown
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aracari Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aracari Resort

Address: Lot 160 Plantation Versailles | West Bank Demerara, Guyana
Location: Guyana > Essequibo Islands-West Demerara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Essequibo Islands-West Demerara
Price Range: $44 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aracari Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in June of 2008, Aracari Resort and Hotel is Guyana's only destination resort. Scattered across a vast 150,000 square feet of historic Dutch plantation land, the hotel has 52 units made up of 16 Executive Suites, 18 Deluxe Suites and 18 Standard Units that caters to vacationers, professionals and budget conscious travelers. With amenities that includes a fitness center, swimming pool, restaurants and bar, a salon and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Aracari Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aracari Hotel Essequibo Islands-West Demerara
Aracari Resort Guyana/Essequibo Islands-West Demerara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing