We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Meganisi Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meganisi Villas
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were in villa no 2. 29th June 2014 for 1 week. Great location looking out to sea and the mainland. Extremely private villa. Found it very comfortable with large king size bed in one bedroom and the other a very large twin. The villa was larger than expected inside. With comfortable sofa seating in the lounge. 2 bathrooms each having a shower over the bath and a curtain and constant hot running water which is unusual in my experience for Greece. I found the bed comfortable. The air con was effective although a little noisy not a problem as it was a constant hum.

The trip from the airport was a pleasure in a private organised taxi to lefkas harbour. When we arrived at the harbour we were greeted by a gentleman to sign for our hire car before we were transported on a private boat to meganissi about a 20 min journey on very calm waters. On arrival at meganissi our hire car awaited with Demetri on his motorbike who led us to the villas.

Everything about the holiday was fabulous. Eating out was a real pleasure by the many waterside tavernas in Vathy and spartochori. The best beach we found was down the road from the villas just follow the signs for precious cafe (which was great stopped off one day for a fab homemade waffle and ice cream) and continue to end of road. There is a little bay with a cantina. No sun beds but a great little cove with crystal clear waters. we found meganissi to be a beautiful island. With views out to sea of the mountains of the other islands. Very pretty indeed. This year does seem to be a bit of a problem with wasps which was a bit of a nuisance but did not stop us enjoying ourselves. Didn't get badly bitten by mosquitoes just an odd one here and there.

There is a new bakery at the beginning of the harbour in Vathy opened up whilst we were there where they import lovely cakes from lefkas. You can choose one and sit and eat it with a coffee or alcoholic drink - heaven.

Demetri was very discreet and respected your privacy whilst still being very friendly. The cleaner came Wednesday evening and was very cheerful. We didn't require a clean just took clean towels which was fine.

I will also mention that Demetri allows you to stay in the villas on the day of departure until 2pm free of charge. he came on the final morning to borrow the car for cleaning. the charted boat was at the harbour at 4.15 which allowed time to drive to the harbour for a leisurely final feast. Then park the car up ready for the next lucky guests.

If you are thinking of a relaxing trip I would recommend this island. We are well travelled grecophiles and have not found a better spot this. Enjoy

Room Tip: All villas have fab sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Wendy47474747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Slightly confusing as there are 'Meganissi Villas' in Spartachori but we returned from these Villas in Vathy /Katomeri just over a week ago and I can truly say I was so sorry to leave the quietly relaxing environment of Meganissi.

We got off to a good start with the Thomson flight being on time and the travel over to the island went smoothly. We were in Villa 1 (1 of 3) Those first impressions when you open the door of your accommodation are all important for me and when we arrived early evening after a long day it was a comfort to find an immaculately clean, tidy and well laid out Villa. The two bedrooms are large and either a king-size or twin room. The on-suite bathrooms and plenty of cupboard space was a welcome change to some places we have stayed in. From the moment we arrive Dmitri made us welcome as did the villagers in Katomeri;.this is one of the friendliest islands we have stayed in and I would seriously consider staying there again... what a shame there are so many places to see and so little time to do it in!.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a review of Villa Alex which is a James Villa in Spartochori/Spilia and not one of Meganissi Villas.

James Villas made everything about our holiday easy. We're used to arranging and checking and double checking all our details, transfers, flights etc and they took care of everything, even providing written instructions from the airport to the villa. There was a problem I will come to later in the review but they brought this to our attention themselves and rectified it quickly and with no fuss.

The villa - The rooms are spotlessly clean and the villa is well laid out with a large kitchen/living/dining room and has everything you could need provided with all electrical items (including a toaster, sandwich maker, coffee machine, dishwasher, fridge freezer, modern oven and hob, kettle and washing machine) being good quality plus crockery, cutlery, cooking utensils and glassware. Towels, teatowels, extra blankets, throws and pillows are also stored in the upstairs cupboards if required.
One double bedroom is on the ground floor next to a shower room. There is another double room with terrace including a table and two chairs, a twin room and a bathroom on the first floor.
Outside the living room is a shaded terrace with dining table and six chairs and a separate area with a built in barbecue, an outdoor sofa, two armchairs and a coffee table with a large parasol.
A few stone steps take you down to the pool with sunbeds and more parasols.
The villa was cleaned once during the week and the pool cleaned twice.
If I have anything negative to say at all it would be about the 124 steps from the roadside to Alex. You can halve this by walking up the drive to the lower villa and taking the steps from there. Be aware that at the end of the season the timer for the outside lighting is still set to summer hours and should you, as we did, have to leave early in the morning on your departure day it's very tricky negotiating those steps with suitcases in the dark.

The views from the villa are amazing looking out to sea and the islands, over Porto Spilia and the beach and over to Spartachori village on the other side of the bay and these do make up for those dreaded steps.

Surrounding area - If you choose to eat at Taverna Spilia on the beach, which is the closest food you'll find to the villa and probably the only place within comfortable walking distance after eating and drinking, you can get an idea of how busy it will be based on the amount of boats moored. The menu was slightly limited given the time of year we stayed but we enjoyed every single thing we ate and the owners are fantastic, friendly people. Excellent English is spoken across the island but we found that making even a small effort to speak Greek (even if it's only please and thank you) goes a long way. If you want to go into Spartochori it's a good idea to leave the car outside the village and walk in as the roads are only barely passable and you'll probably find yourself backing up a long way along the very narrow streets in order to find somewhere to let someone pass you.

The island - Nothing is too far away to drive to and I recommend Vathi, which is a lovely fishing village with lots of restaurants along the port. The Avis car hire can be found here. Fuel can only be found just outside of Spartochori. Fanari beach is pretty with shallow water and a beach bar and sunbeds. However if you're looking for an array of things to do and see, Meganissi is not for you. It's a peaceful, tranquil, traditional island and you will have no option but to relax. One day cruises and a busier pace with more touristy shopping can be found back at Nidri.
There are no ATMs on the island and very few places will take payment by card.

The ferry - In high season, I'm sure the ferry from Nidri is an excellent way to cross from Meganissi to Lefkada and back again. It runs promptly and provided you're prepared, particularly at the Meganissi end, to get off quickly, it's a pleasant, fuss free way to make the crossing and see the sights along the way. It's also very reasonable as a foot passenger at 1.80 each. Be aware though that once October is here the service becomes limited to a couple of crossings a day and it doesn't always stop at Spilia AND Vathi, it may be one or the other. This is where we had the one hitch of the holiday. We were due to leave Spilia on Sunday morning to catch a lunchtime flight. Unfortunately the only ferry of the day was at 10.30am and was going from Vathi. James notified us of this and arranged for us to leave our hire car in Vathi and an alternative boat and transfer to the airport.

Overall, we had a wonderful week in a lovely house in a beautiful place and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Downstairs bedroom is cooler but has no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Meganissi Villas (Just outside Katomeri on the road to Spartahori - Thomson/ Simply Travel) in July/August 2013 for two weeks. We didn't want to leave...
The holiday was simply amazing - one of the best Greek holidays we have been on. The scenery is breath-taking, and the people are incredibly kind and friendly.
We plan come back for some serious rambling one day - we were told that September/October is best for walking on Meganissi - the weather is more settled than the spring, and somewhat cooler than July/August.
The villa was spacious with good air-conditioning and fly-screens on the wndows; the pool was fantastic - chlorinated, self-cleaning and big enough for some meaningful lengths. Dimitri pops in occasionally to check everything. The villas are on a hill and usually have a welcome light breeze that keeps them slightly cooler than Katomeri or Vathi.
We stayed in Villa 1 (furthest from main road). It has views over Katomeri and over to the moutains on mainland Greece (It is NOT Lefkas you see from the Villas!). The views are amazing, and much better than you see from photos. It also has a side view over countryside, olive trees, grassland etc, and has a bit of a rockery style garden to the side and back. Very pretty.
The villas (there are 3 and Dimitri's house) have a security gate, and a very steep (mercifully short!) driveway up to the gates. The villas are well separated with fences/walls/plants - we only saw our neighbours when we arrived and when we left!
There is plenty of crazy-paved, outdoor space, with 3 sheltered sitting/eating out areas with plenty of tables and chairs - 3 tables and 12 chairs dotted around. There is a lovely 3-seater swing sofa. There were 4 bed chairs, with plenty of space around the pool. Large barbecue.
The kitchen has everything you need - Double sink, full oven and grill, microwave, coffee machine, kettle, toaster ,plenty of pots/pans and nice crockery, iron and ironing board. There is a large fridge with good sized freezer section at the top - plenty of room to make ice, as well as keeping bread and a few pizzas etc. . There is a clothes airer and pegs outside.
There is a dining table and 4 chairs in the kitchen. Our grocery pack had a bottle of water, wine, olive oil, honey, butter, 4 yoghurts, feta, tomatoes, fruit, bread, a few tea bags, a small tin of instant coffee, sugar, washing-up liquid and washing up pad. (Enough to get you through first day).
The water is drinkable here - it tastes fine. We did take a water filter with us as I tend to get upset stomach if there is a high mineral content (which there is). It is fine for cooking, tea and coffee making etc.
The inside is pretty and nicely furnished - a cool blue theme in the twin bedroom and a good sized bed (king sized I think) in the double. Plenty of storage space with built-in double wardrobes (with drawers), chest of drawers in double bedroom; bedside tables and lamps. Both have ensuite bathrooms (nicely tiled) with a good shower (hand-held) in a small bath. Shower curtain. Plenty of hot water all day.
The lounge/dining/kitchen is all one open plan space. Lounge area is pretty with sofa and two arm-chairs. (The sofa is actually a sofa-bed).
There are lots of paperbacks in the villa – mainly Nora Roberts, Catherine Cookson, Maeve Binchy, James Patterson etc.
The people here are extremely friendly, and will go out of their way to help. The supermarket in Vathi will deliver your groceries for you (as will several others - just ask first - as will the 'bottle-shop' in Katomeri.). We had ours delivered while we were out - and they even put all our cold stuff in the fridge for us! (They even 'delivered' us back to our villa once too, when we got rather too hot on one of our walks and ended up in Vathi, and couldn't face th walk home back up the hill - we were going to get a taxi, but they wouldn't hear of it and insisted on giving us a lift back to the villa!)
The villas are cleaned and bins emptied on a Wednesday and Sunday, but they stay quite clean in-between. (You may want to take a couple of extra ‘small bin’ bags for the bathroom – I find nappy sacks are useful). T-Towel, sheets (thick, fresh, crisp cotton) and towels (huge fluffy ones!) are changed then; pool towels changed once a week. Take a couple of black bin bags with you for empty bottles/cans etc, as it will save space in the kitchen bin.
Traffic is light on the island, so walking is reasonably safe. There are lots of paths, and alos good roads all around the island – the coastal walks are pretty.
By car - Katomeri is very narrow and twisty, so it is easier to go the long way round to Vathi. Spartahori is car free – has a parking area on the edge of the village.

Spartahori, Vathi and Katomeri all well worth a visit. All are within walking distance, but take plenty of water. Spartahori is more commercialised and 'touristy' than Katomeri or Vathi, and we found people a bit less friendly here.
There are several reasonable small supermarkets in Katomeri and Vathi - and sell most things you need. We did not find it too expensive, especially if you buy local stuff. Locals shop here too, so you are paying local prices, but remembering that everything has to be ferried in and that most of the shops are family run and not part of major chains. There is a bakery in Katomeri; also a hardware shop that seems to sell everything!
Don't miss the 'Greek Night' at the taverna in Katomeri - usually Fridays - this is a proper Greek night for locals where they get together to practice and show off their traditional songs and dances - not a 'touristy' version!
Many people do not speak English here, though most shop keepers and waiters do. Everyone is thrilled if you have a few words of Greek - you cannot go far without having to say 'Yassas' - everyone greets everyone here.

The gift shop in Katomeri has some lovely jewellery and local crafts - but it is a bit pricey we thought - 3.90 Euros for a T-Towel...!
Be careful about letting children poking around the rockery - there are some SERIOUSLY scary insects and spiders here! I have been unable to identify the spiders we saw - but they were HUGE - one had a body as big as my fist... the hornets and wasps are also huge. We also saw a snake in the garden once, but it was too quick for us to identify. Lots of large grasshoppers – they can nip a bit too!
The only bad thing about the holidays was that Thomson messed up our bookings for the transfers - they assured us that we would be met at the ferry and taken to our villa - this was not the case and the local rep (Trisha) had not been informed of any of this. We were half expecting this since Thomson's rep-line had no idea how the transfers worked! We did not want the car hire, but the rep was not told this, despite twice checking with our travel agent, and emailing Thomson (unanswered). It even stated that we had transfers to the door on our tickets.... Even their reps' information line seemed clueless. The local rep was amazing though, and sorted it all out - I get the impression that this is not unusual! The rep (Trisha) gives you her own mobile number and has masses of information should you need it. She is based on the mainland, but comes over once a week or so just to check everything is ok etc.

For those who want the car hire:
You sign the paperwork for your hire car at Preveza airport, but you are then taken in a taxi to Nidri; you are then taken across in a private boat (or water taxi - the speedboat transfer no longer operates - it seems that the driver was not properly qualified, and he was dropped we were told...); your hire car and Dimitri will be waiting on the dock for you. The cars stay on the island all the time.
Ask Dimitri if you need anything – he really is as helpful as everyone says – he picked us up at Vathi when we arrived, and also gave us a lift back when it was time to leave – he wouldn’t hear of us ordering a taxi… he is there if you need him, but is not the interfering kind.

Take with you: Comfortable footwear, also reef shoes or crocs as the beaches are mostly stony/pebbly with lots of sea urchins etc., several bin bags, star-gazing book, a good insect repellent, coffee filters.

Room Tip: Villa 3 has a washing machine and kidney shaped pool; Villa 1 has country view to the side as well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Magicratgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

These 3 villas are owned by Dimitri who lives in the bungalow before you get to the villas and he is very helpful if you need him and invisible when you dont.
We stayed in Villa 1 on two separate occasions, once in 2010 and 2011 then we stayed in Vllla 3 in May 2013.
The Villas are in the Simply Travel Brochure, part of the Thomson Holiday Company.
The Villas are well equiped with all cooking facilities and a great BBQ area where there are plenty of seating for al fresco dining and the swimmimg pool has its own cleaning system.
The views from the Villas are exceptional and its only a few minutes drive to all 3 villages, Katomeri, Spartahori and the main port area of Vathy, also you can walk to all these areas.
There is also a car included in the price of this holiday.
Definately returning next year, health permitting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank 126david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to stay with views to die for. We were in Artemis, which is villa 3. The outside space is fantastic with plenty of options throughout the day for sun or shade and a large pool. The villa was well equipped, fridge freezer, full cooker, microwave, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, washing machine and regular maid service. The three villas are all extremely private and we never saw those staying in the adjoining villas. I guess the only downside for me was that the inside of the villa seemed quite dark as the floors and ceiling were dark wood but, of course, this is down to personal preference and other than to shower and sleep we were always outside enjoying the wonderful views. The island is fantastic, we had some great meals on the waterfront in Vathy and caught the ferry to Nydri and Lefkas Town - everyone we met on this beautiful island were welcoming and helpful without ever seeming intrusive. The transfers to and from the airport by taxi and water taxi were seamless and fun. We would definitely return - one of the most relaxing holidays we've had.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sue13Cwmbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Hedingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a fortnight as part of a Simply Greece package holiday in October 2012. The villa was excellent, clean and well equipped with a fantastic view, a beautiful pool area and loads of space to enjoy the wonderful sunshine, with shaded areas as well as a bar-b-q if you felt like cooking. I would have no hesitation in recommending Meganissi villas as a wonderful place to come for a chilled out, authentically Greek holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tpouvtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vathy
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meganissi
Hotel Meganissi
#2 of 2 in Meganisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Studios
Paradise Studios
#4 of 7 in Meganisi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mistral
Mistral
#1 of 1 in Meganisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thalassa Limonari
Thalassa Limonari
#5 of 7 in Meganisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Meganisi Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meganisi Villas

Property: Meganisi Villas
Address: Katomeri 310 83, Vathy, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Meganisi > Vathy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Vathy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Meganisi Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meganisi Villas Hotel Vathy
Meganisi Villas Greece - Vathy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing