We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave!”
Review of Meganisi Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meganisi Villas
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Meganissi Villas (Just outside Katomeri on the road to Spartahori - Thomson/ Simply Travel) in July/August 2013 for two weeks. We didn't want to leave...
The holiday was simply amazing - one of the best Greek holidays we have been on. The scenery is breath-taking, and the people are incredibly kind and friendly.
We plan come back for some serious rambling one day - we were told that September/October is best for walking on Meganissi - the weather is more settled than the spring, and somewhat cooler than July/August.
The villa was spacious with good air-conditioning and fly-screens on the wndows; the pool was fantastic - chlorinated, self-cleaning and big enough for some meaningful lengths. Dimitri pops in occasionally to check everything. The villas are on a hill and usually have a welcome light breeze that keeps them slightly cooler than Katomeri or Vathi.
We stayed in Villa 1 (furthest from main road). It has views over Katomeri and over to the moutains on mainland Greece (It is NOT Lefkas you see from the Villas!). The views are amazing, and much better than you see from photos. It also has a side view over countryside, olive trees, grassland etc, and has a bit of a rockery style garden to the side and back. Very pretty.
The villas (there are 3 and Dimitri's house) have a security gate, and a very steep (mercifully short!) driveway up to the gates. The villas are well separated with fences/walls/plants - we only saw our neighbours when we arrived and when we left!
There is plenty of crazy-paved, outdoor space, with 3 sheltered sitting/eating out areas with plenty of tables and chairs - 3 tables and 12 chairs dotted around. There is a lovely 3-seater swing sofa. There were 4 bed chairs, with plenty of space around the pool. Large barbecue.
The kitchen has everything you need - Double sink, full oven and grill, microwave, coffee machine, kettle, toaster ,plenty of pots/pans and nice crockery, iron and ironing board. There is a large fridge with good sized freezer section at the top - plenty of room to make ice, as well as keeping bread and a few pizzas etc. . There is a clothes airer and pegs outside.
There is a dining table and 4 chairs in the kitchen. Our grocery pack had a bottle of water, wine, olive oil, honey, butter, 4 yoghurts, feta, tomatoes, fruit, bread, a few tea bags, a small tin of instant coffee, sugar, washing-up liquid and washing up pad. (Enough to get you through first day).
The water is drinkable here - it tastes fine. We did take a water filter with us as I tend to get upset stomach if there is a high mineral content (which there is). It is fine for cooking, tea and coffee making etc.
The inside is pretty and nicely furnished - a cool blue theme in the twin bedroom and a good sized bed (king sized I think) in the double. Plenty of storage space with built-in double wardrobes (with drawers), chest of drawers in double bedroom; bedside tables and lamps. Both have ensuite bathrooms (nicely tiled) with a good shower (hand-held) in a small bath. Shower curtain. Plenty of hot water all day.
The lounge/dining/kitchen is all one open plan space. Lounge area is pretty with sofa and two arm-chairs. (The sofa is actually a sofa-bed).
There are lots of paperbacks in the villa – mainly Nora Roberts, Catherine Cookson, Maeve Binchy, James Patterson etc.
The people here are extremely friendly, and will go out of their way to help. The supermarket in Vathi will deliver your groceries for you (as will several others - just ask first - as will the 'bottle-shop' in Katomeri.). We had ours delivered while we were out - and they even put all our cold stuff in the fridge for us! (They even 'delivered' us back to our villa once too, when we got rather too hot on one of our walks and ended up in Vathi, and couldn't face th walk home back up the hill - we were going to get a taxi, but they wouldn't hear of it and insisted on giving us a lift back to the villa!)
The villas are cleaned and bins emptied on a Wednesday and Sunday, but they stay quite clean in-between. (You may want to take a couple of extra ‘small bin’ bags for the bathroom – I find nappy sacks are useful). T-Towel, sheets (thick, fresh, crisp cotton) and towels (huge fluffy ones!) are changed then; pool towels changed once a week. Take a couple of black bin bags with you for empty bottles/cans etc, as it will save space in the kitchen bin.
Traffic is light on the island, so walking is reasonably safe. There are lots of paths, and alos good roads all around the island – the coastal walks are pretty.
By car - Katomeri is very narrow and twisty, so it is easier to go the long way round to Vathi. Spartahori is car free – has a parking area on the edge of the village.

Spartahori, Vathi and Katomeri all well worth a visit. All are within walking distance, but take plenty of water. Spartahori is more commercialised and 'touristy' than Katomeri or Vathi, and we found people a bit less friendly here.
There are several reasonable small supermarkets in Katomeri and Vathi - and sell most things you need. We did not find it too expensive, especially if you buy local stuff. Locals shop here too, so you are paying local prices, but remembering that everything has to be ferried in and that most of the shops are family run and not part of major chains. There is a bakery in Katomeri; also a hardware shop that seems to sell everything!
Don't miss the 'Greek Night' at the taverna in Katomeri - usually Fridays - this is a proper Greek night for locals where they get together to practice and show off their traditional songs and dances - not a 'touristy' version!
Many people do not speak English here, though most shop keepers and waiters do. Everyone is thrilled if you have a few words of Greek - you cannot go far without having to say 'Yassas' - everyone greets everyone here.

The gift shop in Katomeri has some lovely jewellery and local crafts - but it is a bit pricey we thought - 3.90 Euros for a T-Towel...!
Be careful about letting children poking around the rockery - there are some SERIOUSLY scary insects and spiders here! I have been unable to identify the spiders we saw - but they were HUGE - one had a body as big as my fist... the hornets and wasps are also huge. We also saw a snake in the garden once, but it was too quick for us to identify. Lots of large grasshoppers – they can nip a bit too!
The only bad thing about the holidays was that Thomson messed up our bookings for the transfers - they assured us that we would be met at the ferry and taken to our villa - this was not the case and the local rep (Trisha) had not been informed of any of this. We were half expecting this since Thomson's rep-line had no idea how the transfers worked! We did not want the car hire, but the rep was not told this, despite twice checking with our travel agent, and emailing Thomson (unanswered). It even stated that we had transfers to the door on our tickets.... Even their reps' information line seemed clueless. The local rep was amazing though, and sorted it all out - I get the impression that this is not unusual! The rep (Trisha) gives you her own mobile number and has masses of information should you need it. She is based on the mainland, but comes over once a week or so just to check everything is ok etc.

For those who want the car hire:
You sign the paperwork for your hire car at Preveza airport, but you are then taken in a taxi to Nidri; you are then taken across in a private boat (or water taxi - the speedboat transfer no longer operates - it seems that the driver was not properly qualified, and he was dropped we were told...); your hire car and Dimitri will be waiting on the dock for you. The cars stay on the island all the time.
Ask Dimitri if you need anything – he really is as helpful as everyone says – he picked us up at Vathi when we arrived, and also gave us a lift back when it was time to leave – he wouldn’t hear of us ordering a taxi… he is there if you need him, but is not the interfering kind.

Take with you: Comfortable footwear, also reef shoes or crocs as the beaches are mostly stony/pebbly with lots of sea urchins etc., several bin bags, star-gazing book, a good insect repellent, coffee filters.

Room Tip: Villa 3 has a washing machine and kidney shaped pool; Villa 1 has country view to the side as well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Magicratgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

These 3 villas are owned by Dimitri who lives in the bungalow before you get to the villas and he is very helpful if you need him and invisible when you dont.
We stayed in Villa 1 on two separate occasions, once in 2010 and 2011 then we stayed in Vllla 3 in May 2013.
The Villas are in the Simply Travel Brochure, part of the Thomson Holiday Company.
The Villas are well equiped with all cooking facilities and a great BBQ area where there are plenty of seating for al fresco dining and the swimmimg pool has its own cleaning system.
The views from the Villas are exceptional and its only a few minutes drive to all 3 villages, Katomeri, Spartahori and the main port area of Vathy, also you can walk to all these areas.
There is also a car included in the price of this holiday.
Definately returning next year, health permitting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank 126david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to stay with views to die for. We were in Artemis, which is villa 3. The outside space is fantastic with plenty of options throughout the day for sun or shade and a large pool. The villa was well equipped, fridge freezer, full cooker, microwave, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, washing machine and regular maid service. The three villas are all extremely private and we never saw those staying in the adjoining villas. I guess the only downside for me was that the inside of the villa seemed quite dark as the floors and ceiling were dark wood but, of course, this is down to personal preference and other than to shower and sleep we were always outside enjoying the wonderful views. The island is fantastic, we had some great meals on the waterfront in Vathy and caught the ferry to Nydri and Lefkas Town - everyone we met on this beautiful island were welcoming and helpful without ever seeming intrusive. The transfers to and from the airport by taxi and water taxi were seamless and fun. We would definitely return - one of the most relaxing holidays we've had.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sue13Cwmbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Hedingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a fortnight as part of a Simply Greece package holiday in October 2012. The villa was excellent, clean and well equipped with a fantastic view, a beautiful pool area and loads of space to enjoy the wonderful sunshine, with shaded areas as well as a bar-b-q if you felt like cooking. I would have no hesitation in recommending Meganissi villas as a wonderful place to come for a chilled out, authentically Greek holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tpouvtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Meganisi Villas are fantastic, if you want a chilled, relaxing holiday. The villas are comfortable, well equipped and have great views. The pool is a boon in hot weather and there is a built in BBQ for balmy evenings. There are three sitting areas for various times of day and sun or shade, so everything is there for complete relaxation. Well equipped kitchen and good showers with plenty of hot water. Dimitri (Jimmy) is a wonderful host- very helpful and friendly. We had great walks around the island every evening in May/June to enjoy this beautiful island. The restaurants in Vathi on the harbour are delightful and Meganissi Hotel in Katomeri is lovely too. Spartohouri is very characterful and has a couple of charming tavernas too, so there is no shortage of places to eat and drink. No ATM on the island so you may have to go to Lefkas or Nidri for a bank - then get back as soon as you can to escape the crowds, back to Meganissi's quiet beauty. Take lots of books, sun cream and your cossie and enjoy the complete break.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LSCSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Beautiful shiny new villa with its sister villa below (Villa Argiri). Very well appointed, wonderful views across to Spartochori, and a five minute drive from Vathi, where there are shops, restaurants and supermarkets.
Spilia has nothing more than a couple of tavernas and a beach bar, so peace and quiet is the order of the day. The beach taverna has a limited menu but is fine for a reasonable meal at a reasonable price. Staff lovely, friendly, as indeed was everyone we came across. More choice in Spartachori up the hill or Vathy. BTW contrary to all I read, you CAN use credit cards at some supermarkets, and they are pretty well stocked too. North of the island is stunning if you are a walker, tiny deserted beaches for a swim. Absolute heaven.

Room Tip: You can drive to the lower of these two villas, if you book the top one, then be prepared to lug you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank lynnelevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We have just returned from a week at Meganissi Villas with Thomson (Simply Travel) - hopefully this won't be too long, although there's not too much on the internet to read about, so we want to give as much detail as possible.
Firstly, there are 2 sets of villas called 'Meganissi Villas' and this is the set of 3 offered by Thomson, just outside of Katomeri on the island of Meganissi or Megansi (not sure who does the other villas).
This resort is not for the 'young' as it is a place to relax and unwind with no loud bars, no disco's, no beach watersports, etc, etc - it's ideal for the more 'mature traveller' who wants to get away from it all.
The villas are fantastic and are all very similar with one having a slightly larger pool (The owner, Dimitri, is a great guy who gives you your privacy, but is there if you need him). They are a 5 minute drive up the steep hill from the port of Vathi but because of this hill it is a 25 minute walk if you are going down, but at least an hour if are going up. Our villa (no. 2) was well equipped and if we wanted we could have not left it for the whole week as there is a nice little kitchen, full electric cooker, microwave, full fridge/freezer, full range of cups/plates, etc. There is no TV, but there is a CD player. The pool is roughly 2mt x 4mt and is very clean with a self cleaning system. It is very private with stunning views. You can walk down to Katomeri in 10 minutes and it's 20 mins coming back to the villa due to the hill and a large evening meal !! (I would suggest that if you have any walking difficulties this is not a good resort for you unless you have a car - which is a 'must have' anyway - or you are happy to stay in the villa.) In Katomeri the Meganissi Hotel is a great place to eat and it is happy for non residents to eat or drink there. When we ate out it was mainly in the port of Vathi and the sea food is excellent. Our main restaurant was 'Stavros' and it was just delightful eating as you people watch, as the boats/yachts pulled in. A nice meal (starter, main, couple of beers) was about €35 to €40 and well worth it. The people are all naturally friendly. There are 2 or 3 mini-markets where you can buy everything you need to be self sufficient, if that's what you want.
That's the practical part of our description !
The more personal bit is that you will not find a nicer island to visit. The views are stunning and the people are so naturally friendly - it's as if you have died and gone to heaven. When we had to leave it was a real heartache and we will 100% go back. It's a small place and you can drive around it in a couple of hours, but the sights are so stunning, allow yourself a full day.
Hope this helps and if you are thinking of going, just do it !!
MarknAnnie

Helpful?
35 Thank MarknAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vathy
5.2 mi away
Rouda Bay Hotel
Rouda Bay Hotel
#27 of 76 in Lefkada
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Studios
Paradise Studios
#4 of 7 in Meganisi
1 reviews
5.2 mi away
Vliho Bay Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Ionian Blue Bungalows & Spa Resort
5.2 mi away
Poros Beach
Poros Beach
#170 of 327 in Lefkada
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mistral
Mistral
#1 of 2 in Meganisi
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meganisi Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meganisi Villas

Property: Meganisi Villas
Address: Katomeri 310 83, Vathy, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Meganisi > Vathy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Vathy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Meganisi Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meganisi Villas Hotel Vathy
Meganisi Villas Greece - Vathy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing