We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in a place not safe for travel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Finca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Finca
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Catemaco
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a place not safe for travel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We've made almost 20 trips to Mexico and are real afficionados of the country. Both of us are professional but very low profile folks who can adapt well. First of all, this hotel was great. Nice views of the lake. A bit expensive for the area of the country it was in but the rooms were decent. I have no complaints about the hotel but the surrounding area is exceedingly poor. Gangs of young men patrol the streets and put ropes to keep you from driving through and demand money. Most of the people are unemployed and angry about it. We were constantly over-charged for things or not given the right item (were substituted something cheaper instead) or not given the appropriate amount of change (shortchanged). People in the area see tourists as prey who are fit to be cheated and are unfriendly and even hostile. I think it was only a matter of luck that we did not meet serious trouble while in the Lake Catemaco area. I think the area is beautiful but not ready for travel yet until there are more jobs and opportunity for the people. I would not recommend this place for travel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MexTraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    50
    14
    2
    7
See reviews for
34
27
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leon, Mexico
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

Our family recently enjoyed two nights at this resort. We were the only foreigners at this resort which caters to Mexico's middle and upper class. I'd agree with it's four star ranking. The only negative is that breakfast is not included in the price, though the restaurangt is nice. If we return to the Tuxlas, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

Knowing nothing about the area, we chose La Finca because we could be on the lake, but at the same time walk to town. This may be the only hotel on lake where this is really possible. We really enjoyed our time there. Pros: room balcony with great lake view. Lovely grounds. Really nice staff. We had laundry done there - a good job at a low cost. Didn't use spa services so can't comment on them. Cons: price seemed high, but suppose on site spa, pool, etc. may justify it. Room, while large, was devoid of any charm whatsoever, furnished minimally. Kind of like sleeping in a bowling alley. Restaurant (except for outside area) was also charmless and food just so so. Unlike another reviewer, we did a lake tour with the hotel and enjoyed it. Suspect it depends on who your boatman is on given day. I've forgotten the name of ours but he was great, knowledgeable about the area and quite articulate once he realized we knew a little Spanish. Catemaco and surrounding area is great, we're sorry we didn't stay longer to see more of it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
949 reviews
403 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2008

Very nice accomodations. Don't take the lake tour through the hotel. The rooms are comparable to a confort inn. They have this mosquito like creatures called Amoyos. They don't bite, they are just around at night by the thousands. The food was reasonably good. We did the temascal, not my favorite and had a masage in the room. The suronding area is great. Don't miss the Epiyantla falls. We were going to stay 2 days and ended up staying 4 days and din't see all there is to see in the area. You must go to Monte Pio to eat langostinos. Second palapa as you get to the beach where the casco of an old hacienda stands. Delicious!

  • Liked — View and facilities
  • Disliked — The rooms can be cleaned better
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendale Ca.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

I went to vacations to Catemaco Veracruz, I need more words beautiful, beautiful, .... town ,hotel La Finca the best staff ,prices perfect, quality food 10 score, the lagoon so big so pretty , you will fall in love with this town, no matter what Mel Gibson film here the movie apocalypto, hotel pool nice for all edge, perfect location in front of the lagoon, dont forget to visit all area, eyipantla falls, where the movie was film, Laguna (lagoon) santecomapan you rent a small boat and you go to a beautiful beach La Barra, highly recomend that, the people is not like in Cancun or Los Cabos. if you dont tiped they dont give you a good service... here is diferent you see it!! you will love all this area not discover yet for the internacional tourism, I left my hart there.....

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — insects, but is normal!!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank beachman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catemaco
2.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Azul
Hotel Playa Azul
#3 of 4 in Catemaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Prashanti Tebanca
Hotel Prashanti Tebanca
#26 of 80 in Veracruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Santiago Plaza Confort
Hotel Gran Santiago Plaza Confor...
#1 of 1 in Santiago Tuxtla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel de los Perez
Hotel de los Perez
#1 of 2 in San Andres Tuxtla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#5 of 16 in Catemaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Cristal
Hotel Playa Cristal
#6 of 16 in Catemaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Finca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Finca

Property: Hotel La Finca
Address: Carretera 180 km. 147, Catemaco 95870, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Catemaco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Catemaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Finca 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Finca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort La Finca
Hotel La Finca Catemaco, Mexico - Veracruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing