We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ben Derby is very picky”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Liverpool (Roby) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huyton
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Got to agree with Kirk Duyt.Best Premier Inn me and the family have stayed in.Staff at Roby are the most helpful we've come across yet ,and the rest have been great at the other P I hotels we've stayed at.The difference at Roby is that they are more like extended family.They couldn't do enough for us in the hotel and also at Derby Lodge where the staff were equally as friendly and helpful.I can without hesitation recommend this hotel to stay at if you are going to Liverpool for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAVID J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 604 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay and found the hotel as per usual premier standards more than adequate. Rooms comfy, bathroom although small nice and clean. All staff very helpful even arranging a taxi for us into Liverpool. Overall a very nice affordable hotel just outside the city with free parking.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

It's been a while since we stayed so apologies for a brief review but all I can say is don't stay here, it's no where near usual premier inn standards. We've stayed at a lot and this is by far the worst we've stayed in. This used to be a different hotel that premier inn brought and this goes a long way to explaining why it's not as good as the others. The TV was very difficult to get to work (old rubbish CRT one). The bed wasn't particularly comfortable. Bathroom was small. Most things were adequate at best.

After reading a few recent reviews praising the close proximity to the train station I thought it was worth mentioning that they don't run in the evening so it's great if you want to do a bit of shopping but if you want a nice meal in the evening you'd better add about £25 on for a taxi - the location is awful if you want a night in Liverpool.

So onto the major gripe of our stay. we stayed 3 nights and on the Saturday morning around 9:00 I woke up to the very loud noises and the room literally shaking. I thought the Koreans had got long range missiles! It turned out that they thought it was a good idea for workmen to start drilling to replace the bathroom floor in the room below us. Really? 9:00 on a Saturday morning? It wouldn't have been too bad if they'd have informed us about the scheduled work at check in - surely that's what anyone with half a brain would have done.

So unfortunately this was the only time we have ever had to use their good night guarantee for a refund on that night. Yes it was cheap but next time I'll pay more for a better hotel if we're in Liverpool (or a different PI!).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Liverpool (Roby) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

My favourite premier inn, top quality staff, clean very comfortable rooms and lovely food , ive been stsying here for 8 years, and nothing has changed, the best premier inn i have ever stayed in!! what more can i say that i haven't said in previous reviews, so value for money!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brutrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We wanted a few days away to visit Liverpool and looked at other hotels near the city center but most had no parking facilities (apart from pay and display public carparks), so with this being only a few mile from Liverpool we thought we could just drive into the center each day. But once we were there at Roby we realised that the train station was only 200 meters away from the hotel and with a train every 15min into Liverpool Lime street and only £2:70 return for adults this was a bonus. We parked the car on the first day and never used it again until time to travel home. Hotel was as you would expect from Premier, clean and tidy with all the facilities you need and friendly staff. The attached restaurant was the same. If you are looking for somewhere to stay for a few days away to Liverpool then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent Easter weekend here, and had a lovely time. The welcome was friendly, the room lovely, warm and spacious, and as with all Premier Inn rooms, was clean and had plenty of towels. The hotel itself is in a quiet spot, and set in nice gardens, but is no more than a 5 minute walk to the train station, where a train to Liverpool cost only 7 pound for 2 adults and 1 child, and they run every 15 mins!! Perfect for a car fee weekend. The only thing that let down the hotel was the restaurant, hence the very good rating as opposed to excellent. We ate there the first evening as we were tired out, but the food was very disappointing. It took less than 3 mins to get to our table after ordering, which is never a good sign, and it was poor in quality, not the norm for Premier Inn in my experience. All in all, a great hotel, super friendly staff, fab location, just let down by the food!! Although with the choice of restaurants in Liverpool, we didn't struggle for the rest of our stay.

Room Tip: Top floor, less noise and large rooms overlooking gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked for 2 nights, but had to come home after 1 night. When we chacked out the staff were really concerned that they'd done something wrong. They needn't have worried as we had a great stay. I have a superb bed at home and usually struggle to sleep in hotels, but the bed here was so comfy, I slept really well. It was really cold outside, but the hotel was warm and cosy.

The restaurant was really busy, but the service was quick and very friendly. We ordered a takeaway coffee from the bar just before checking out, but the machine wasn't working, so they gave us a complimentary one from the restaurant.

I have today booked a return to this hotel for June as we enjoyed it so much. As for Liverpool, it was love at first sight for the whole family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChesMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huyton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Childwall Abbey Hotel
#67 of 98 in Liverpool
145 reviews
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Liverpool (Roby) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Liverpool (Roby) Hotel

Address: Derby Lodge Roby Road, Huyton, Knowsley L36 4HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Knowsley > Huyton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huyton
Price Range: $59 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Liverpool (Roby) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for travel into Liverpool City Centre. Roby train station is a 3 minute walk from the hotel and only a 15 minute journey into Lime Street station. Large free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Liverpool (Roby) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Liverpool (Roby) Hotel Huyton, Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing