We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakie”
Review of Caffe & Co

Caffe & Co
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Rainhill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Specialty Coffee Shop & SCA (Specialty Coffee Association) Coffee Training School. Brunch, Ice Cream Bar.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a full english, really good quality food. Nice setting and a nice environment. Good varied menu. Will be back for more.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank LiverPau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 108 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2019 via mobile

Stopped for lunch and was very happy with the food and the staff. Will be visiting again. the cafe was clean and reasonably priced with a good choice of snacks

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank rumbam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

Went for a family breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed it. Great coffee & wonderful food -between us we had varied dishes - all of which were beautifully cooked & well presented. Well worth a visit if you’re in the area.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank IDRvwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

Standards slipping ?
Dirty tables, dishes not collected, staff distracted, food below standard, floor dirty

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Obewan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debuffedu, Owner at Caffe & Co, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2019

Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately our manager was unexpectedly off this day and it does indeed seem that standards slipped with distractions leading to the subsequent problems you raised. I have spoken to everyone who worked that day (and those who didn't) to reinforce our expectations to keep our standards high and to ensure our customers are greeted with readily cleaned tables and seating areas (where possible, as inevitably on occasion we can be extremely busy and everyone comes and leaves at once in which case the place can look decimated until we have had the opportunity to clear everywhere). Could you please however clarify your point regarding the food being below standard. What exactly was the problem and was anything mentioned in the cafe at the time of your visit to allow us to rectify it? Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

Do not like writing poor reviews about local business but not impressed by Caffe & Co. Went in for a coffee but did not know how to make a 'dry' coffee, when questioned became aggressive! Not much custometer service here. Also more expensive than most outlets.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank S3197LApaulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debuffedu, Owner at Caffe & Co, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2019

Im sorry you seem to have experienced some aggression, that of course should not happen so I would like to invite you in to discuss this - so please contact me directly. A ‘dry’ cappuccino is not actually on our menu although we are fully aware of what it is. As a rule we do not advertise it because we do not make ‘frothy’ milk only textured steamed milk according to Specialty Coffee Association standards. If a customer does ask for something that isn't on our menu we will always endeavour to do it. It may not be the same as you normally drink but we made it and we refunded you as you ‘demanded’ a refund. So it’s our loss for making something we don’t normally do that you weren’t happy with. Our coffee is generally more expensive because we use far better ingredients. We use specialty grade coffee, Jersey cow milk, far superior equipment and properly SCA trained staff. We know exactly what we are doing with coffee. We cannot be compared to the High St coffee chain and stores who all use inferior low quality coffee and standard supermarket milk. We have a huge following people who appreciate our coffee and in fact the vast majority of relatively new independents in the North West have been trained by us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe & Co also viewed

 
St Helens, Merseyside
 

Been to Caffe & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing