We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning mountain accommodation with wonderful hospitality”
Review of L'arrajou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'arrajou
Ranked #1 of 2 Bilheres B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a lovely stay here whilst on a cycle trip up into the pyrenees. The welcome and hospitality was warm and friendly, while the rooms and common areas were beautifully designed with stunning views. Breakfast was a delight, while we were directed to a charming and good value local restaurant in the evening. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andylockyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

We received a warm welcome when we arrived at this beautiful B&B. We loved the stunning views from our room (Iraty) & from the dining room. Veronique has created a charming and thoughtfully equipped home from home. We loved the sun terrace, and all the facilities which included a kitchen & lounge for use by the guests. The little village of Bilheres is ideally situated for exploring the pretty Ossau valley. There are lovely walks on the nearby plateau and interesting places to visit by car-we would love to return one day. Thank you Veronique for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sssdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I highly recommend this bed and breakfast. It is in Bilheres, just north of Laruns, and has easy access to the Pyrenees park. In June the views of the green mountains and Pyrenees just beyond were even more stunning than shown on their website. The owner Veronique was very gracious and helpful. She speaks English. The breakfasts were wonderful, especially the cups of coffee served in (generous-size) bowls, a custom I could get used to. There is wifi and a beautiful common room for guests with a full kitchen and large dining table.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank R O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is an absolute gem on the French side of the Pyrennes with breathtaking views from the modern, comfortable rooms. The extensive breakfast is all part of the service from the host Veronique, who also speaks excellent English.

Room Tip: The local pub is a short stroll away and does an excellent 3-course meal with wine for around 15E.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roscoetas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband and I were only disappointed that we could not stay longer. This is a beautiful house, joyfully run by hosts Veronique and Herve Cambier. Stunning views, kind hosts, a beautiful and peaceful setting in a tiny village perched high in the Ossau Valley. The house is comfortable, tastefully decorated, and built to maximize the views. Our room on the main floor had a balcony and views in two directions of the valley and surrounding mountains. Although it seems remote, is only 30-40 minutes from Pau. We highly recommend l'Arrajou!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a trip to the Pyrenees in France and Spain. We were fortuanate to find a great B&B in the small village of Bilheres, France. Our stay was very pleasant. This B&B was built by the owners so everything was very well thought out. 3 of the rooms are on the lower lever. We had a huge room with twin beds that were pushed together to form a king size bed. We loved the extra room. Also, we had a good size bathroom, with a vanity with much room to lay things out as you get ready in the mornings. The breakfast were very hearty with yogurt, granola, various fruit and breads. There was always something that Veronique has baked herself. She is also quite the decorator. It was more than reasonable as far as the rates go. Everything was first class. The area is just gorgeous with lots of hiking. We would love to go back again one day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrannieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: toutes les chambres ont de superbes vues sur la vallée, et un balcon ou une terrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gourmet496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'arrajou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'arrajou

Address: quartier de l Eglise, 64260 Bilheres, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Bearn > Bilheres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bilheres
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your L'arrajou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing