We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Les Bains de Secours
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed in seven hotels and bed and breakfasts on our walk between St Bertrand de Comminges and Oloron this September,but this was definitely the best.

The hotel is a good two kilometres from the main road near Sevignacq Meyracq. Because of its distance from our planned route,we almost cancelled but I'm glad that we didn't because from the moment we saw the lovely old building with shady courtyard set in wooded hills,we knew it was going to be good.

Our room was big,with a double and a single bed and plenty of storage space.It wasn't bang up to date but it was modern in style,clean and airy with a view over the countryside.The bathroom had a good sized bath with loads of hot water.Breakfast was house made croissants,pain au chocolat and bread served in the farmhhouse style dining room.We paid 71 Euros.

We had dinner in the restaurant. We forewarned the hotel about my wife's vegetarianism and the care the chef showed in his production of an excellent soup,stylishly presented salad and an excellent plate of local cheeses was exemplary. My main course of local lamb with dauphinoise potatoes was terrific,an opinion confirmed by one of the many couples dining that night. My dessert was a fruity concoction,beautifully presented and full of clear,fresh flavour.There is an excellent range of wine by the glass,half bottle and bottle,much of it from the South West and of a sensible price.Service was caring and attentive.The house cocktail that I started the meal with was a wicked pleasure.

All this would have been more than acceptable even before we found that the hotel was doing a "Buy one,get one free." deal that night on dinner but at the price we paid,it was simply the best restaurant value that I've had in thirty years of visiting France.At the full price,the meal was worth the detour.Two menus are advertised at 15 and 29 Euros but the cheaper version seemed to be for lunch only,at least while the "BOGOF" was operating.

The chef has done some walking himself.He took interest in our route and described his own journey to Compostella when we came across him during the restaurant's downtime.Everyone we spoke to in the place was friendly and helpful and the number of people taking lunch and dinner there reflects the clear quality of what is offered.There were accents in the dining room from around the world,so somehow the place has become known.I hope those diners don't react with horror to my adding a little to its fame but I couldn't keep this place to myself because it deserves all the recognition it can get.I'm surprised that the place hasn't been reviewed here before.

The area has plenty to see and any number of walking possibilities and there are spa treatments of varying ferocity available a few minute's walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Marevalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank corinne y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marie-noelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Camping J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank RazoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jp L, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Bains de Secours, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank olivier d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jp L, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Bains de Secours, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevignacq-Meyracq
2.7 mi away
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1 of 1 in Arudy
29 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant L'Ayguelade
9.8 mi away
Logis Le Vieux Logis
Logis Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Lestelle Betharram
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Auberge de la Vallee d'Ossau
11.5 mi away
Amphitryon
Amphitryon
#3 of 6 in Oloron-Sainte-Marie
124 reviews
10.7 mi away
Au Bon Coin
Au Bon Coin
#1 of 2 in Lurbe-Saint-Christau
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Bains de Secours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Bains de Secours

Address: route des Bains de Secours, 64260 Sevignacq-Meyracq, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Bearn > Sevignacq-Meyracq
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sevignacq-Meyracq
Price Range: $89 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Bains de Secours 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel les Bains de Secours is situated 20 km south of Pau, at the entrance of the Ossau Valley, one of the most beautiful Valleys in the Pyrenean mountain range for the variety of the naturals sites and where you will see the rich culture and strong traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Les Bains de Secours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing