We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely chateau with wonderful hosts”
Review of Real

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Seurin-de-Cadourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Real
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay and Violaine and Patrick are wonderful hosts. Our room was spacious with an updated bathroom. The garden is beautiful and peaceful. Violaine made us a delicious dinner with ingredients from their garden. We especially loved that Violaine and Patrick joined us for dinner instead of serving us as guests and leaving us to dine alone. We had a very nice evening of good food, wine from their chateau and great conversation. Breakfast was enjoyed with the hosts and other guests, again, with a lot of Violaine's homemade treats. Be sure to read the book in the salon as it describes the history of the chateau and how it was handed down through the generations. There are lots of pictures too. We were only able to stay one night but wished we could have stayed longer. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Real
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 22 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were on a cycling holiday through the Medoc area. Our last 2 nights were spent here . The best was saved for last! Fantastic food, gracious hosts and wonderful surroundings. We will definitely try and return Great value and a real treat

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Violaine & Patrick welcomed us with tea & cake in the gardens of their beautiful chateau located within easy distance of all the Medoc attractions. We stayed for 2 nights with dinner, bed & breakfast. Violaine is a wonderful cook and serves locally sourced food cooked in delicious french provincial style accompanied by the Chateau's own wine. Sharing this with Violaine, Patrick and the other guests in the charming dining room after aperitifs in the lounge made us feel like we were at a large family dinner, both nights were great fun. Our room was on the first floor, well appointed with a large comfortable bed, sitting area, WiFi access and veiws accross the vines. We had a wonderful couple of days and felt very spoilt by Violaine & Patrick.

Room Tip: Parking is across the road.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

chateaux real exceeded all of our expectations. the property is peaceful and beautiful and the owners are absolutely charming. we would definitely like go back there again..and again! some of the highlights were being greeted with tea and cake, playing table tennis in the garden, and dining with the owners and the other guest of the chateaux.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank larajo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Our hosts Patrick & Violaine were marvellous, and made us feel very welcome. The Chateau located in St Seurine De Cadourne was very well placed within the Gironde to visit lots of places on bike. The couple made good recommendations. The room was excellent, spacious and very comfortable. The garden beautifully tendered and had a resident owl. Violaine was a 'master chef' in the kitchen - using locally sourced products - the garden & local fishermen - my husband and I were bowled over at the effort made especially as he was a vegetarian - breakfast was sumptuous - boasting home baked breads, pancakes & no less than nine different home produced jams. The chateau has been in the family for a generations and has lots of charm. English was well spoken. As we cycled back to catch our coach from Bordeaux we both felt quite lucky that we had found Chateau Real - it really made our good holiday outstanding. Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pipsqueak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Fantastic chateau - chambres d`hotes owned by the same family for over 200 years. The room was very characterful with amazing views from its own balcony and superb value for the stay. After aperitifs in the garden the table d`hote dinner was all home produced by the lady of the house ( including wine from their vineyard) and beautifully cooked. The next morning the breakfast was even better. The table groaned with home made jams, breads, yoghurts, and lemon cake. Their is also a swimming pool. All this for a very reasonable price. We cannot recommend this chateau highly enough. They do speak some English if you have not much French, but are so willing to please that we are sure you would get by anyway. We have no connection with this family but, having fallen on it by pure chance, we felt really welcomed. We shall certainly go again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truth2tell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpviandon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Seurin-de-Cadourne
6.9 mi away
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
2.9 mi away
Chateau Pomys
Chateau Pomys
#1 of 1 in Saint-Estephe
129 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel de France et d'Angleterre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin
Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin
#1 of 1 in Gaillan-en-Medoc
96 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Cadournaise
La Cadournaise
#3 of 3 in Saint-Seurin-de-Cadourne
6 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau Ormes de Pez
Chateau Ormes de Pez
#1 of 1 in Saint-Estephe
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real

Address: 6 rue Clement Lemaignan, 33180 Saint-Seurin-de-Cadourne, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Seurin-de-Cadourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Seurin-de-Cadourne
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medoc and its world-famous vineyards and a short distance from the mighty Gironde estuary lies Real a family residence for more than six generations. Built around 1800, steeped in the history of the "vine" Real now offers the perfect location for " chambres d'hotes ". In an idyllic natural setting it provides the ideal environment to relax and unwind. In addition this location would be very suitable for small groups of people interested in participating in short courses or ' workshops'. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing