We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excenllent”
Review of Chateau Carbonneau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pessac-sur-Dordogne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Carbonneau
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We spent 4 nights there and it was such a wonderful experience!!! Wilfred and Jacquie are very welcoming and our room (the telephone room) was so beautiful. My son enjoyed watching the frogs in the pond, swimming in their beautiful pool and playing with Doughnut (their dog). Jacquie's cooking was so delicious. We would definitely go back again next time to go to Bordeaux.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alittlefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 102 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2010

We have stayed at Chateau Carbonneau a number of times over the last few years and it just keeps getting better. Jacquie and Wilfred Franc de Ferriere are charming hosts. My husband and I are originally from New Zealand (as is Jacquie) which is why we heard about them. Therefore there is perfect English spoken (as well as French). We have 2 small childen and they love the safe open spaces and pool. Jacquie cooks wonderful meals which you can have on request at the chateau. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated to a high standard. Everything is clean and comfortable. Day trips to other small towns are easy with the use of a hire car which you can get at Bergerac airport as you arrive. We last travelled there with my mother and elderly friend from London and they loved it just as much as the grandkids. As its on a vineyard and they make their own wine, it is possible to have wine tastings and to buy their wine. This of course makes the trip even more relaxing ! We have recommended this place to lots of people and all have come back with favourable comments.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marion058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed in Chateau Carbonneau while on a Motorbike tour in September 2009. We found the Chateau in Sawday's guide to French B&B's and decided to book on spec on the morning of our arrival!
Jacquie and Wifred were wonderful hosts. we enjoyed ourselves so much that we extended our stay from three to four days!
We stayed in the Chambre Parc. The room was large and airy as was the bathroom and the roll-top bath was a welcome bonus after a day in the saddle!
Breakfast and dinner were communal and we had great fun meeting the other guests from around the world during our stay. Where Jacquie finds the time to run the B&B, raise children and serve up truly wonderful dinners, I'll never know!!!
The wines were (obviously) from the vineyard and I have to recommend the 2004 Cuvee Reserve :-) Wilfred gave us a guided tour of the vineyard and production facility and as luck would have it they were harvesting the Sauvignon Blanc while we were there. So we rolled up our sleves, joined the locals and helped with the harvest!!!
All in all Chateau Carbonneau was the highlight of our tour of France. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

This is the perfect setting for couples, families, foodies, wine lovers and anyone that wants to get away for the most relaxing, and absolutely beautiful escape ever! The owners and their family make the best food and wine and it is easy to want to stay forever! They include you in anything and everything you care to do and they are a very amazing and special family that take EXCELLENT care of their guests! I can not wait to return

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pkelly007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We recently stayed at Chateau Carbonneau for four nights in their "jonquil room". Our stay was in conjunction with our friends' wedding which was held in nearby St. Emillion. We plan to go back again, and are recommending this place to our friends/family. Below is a summary of our wonderful stay:

- Owners Jacque and Wilfred are the epitome of what B&B host families should be: caring, courteous, attentive, accessible, and most of all lovely people.

- Chateau was in excellent condition, meticulously maintained, and exuded classic french country charm. Our room (jonquil) was bursting with colors and sunshine, had high ceilings, large windows, and a nice bathroom. Bed and linens felt like home - super comfy.

- Breakfast was a nice mix of warm French croissants, delicious fresh jams, yogurt, fruit, granola, fresh OJ, and teas and coffee. Best of all it was available from 7 am until almost noon, which fit our varied schedules.

- The grounds are a mix of vineyards, farmland with grazing cows, gardens and a small pond with carp and frogs. Their Pool was large and had nice lounge chairs to sun bathe in.

- They'll arrange bicycle rentals (@ 30 Euros for 3 days), which is a must do to see the surrounding countryside and nearby villages.

- They'll cook dinner for you - we did not have this as we had wedding events to go to, but the other guests spoke highly of it.

- We recommend a car for your stay - this is the countryside and public transportation is not readily available. Ryan air flys into Bergerac Airport, which is a 35 minute drive door to door. Otherwise Bordeaux airport is about an hour drive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discrn_Trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank luc l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacquie F, Propriétaire at Chateau Carbonneau, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank KaPri80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Carbonneau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Carbonneau

Address: 1 Chateau Carbonneau | Saint Emilion/Bordeaux, 33890 Pessac-sur-Dordogne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Pessac-sur-Dordogne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pessac-sur-Dordogne
Price Range: $112 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Bordeaux vineyard, Chateau Carbonneau is ideally situated between Saint Emilion and Bergerac. In a unique and idyllic setting, the chateau offers luxury accommodation and fine wines on the slopes of Pessac sur Dordogne. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Carbonneau Hotel Pessac-Sur-Dordogne
Chateau Carbonneau France/Pessac-Sur-Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing