We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of our worst experiences”
Review of Chateau Carbonneau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pessac-sur-Dordogne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Carbonneau
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had booked for two nights in the "Piggeonaire". The owner had told us she would be away, but we would be looked after by her "able American assistant". After we had been in the room for a few minutes, there was a noise like a small jackhammer from the bathroom. It lasted for a few seconds and then re-occurred intermittently at random times. Sometimes every few minutes and sometimes not for 30 or 40 minutes. It went on all night. It was impossible to sleep. In the morning I complained to the American assistant who made no apology, but merely said "ok".
I then spoke to the owner on the telephone who to my astonishment said she knew about the noise, but claimed that it only occurred when someone in the Chateau turned on the water!
The price of the room was 125 euros. The owner had the temerity to only offer a discount of 25 euros. We eventually settled at 50 euros and left after a very poor breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 546John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 102 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We recently took a 16-day trip through France. Essentially we circumnavigated the country starting in Paris, going to Lyon, Chamonix, Bordeaux, the Loire valley, Mont St Michel, the D-day beaches, the American Cemetery near Bayeux and then back to Paris. We used rail passes and stayed in numerous hotels, and B&B’s. Without a doubt however the best accommodations were at Chateau Carbonneau.

The Chateau is located near the village of Gensac, about an hour east of the city of Bordeaux. Set in rolling hills of the Bordeaux countryside it’s a beautiful estate that has been in the family for several generations. Wilfrid and Jacquie Franc de Ferriere are the current owners. They are wonderful, gracious and charming people and the home is grand. Even their dog “Donut”, a very large Bernese Mountain Dog, is a friendly ambassador of the estate.

Our room was the Parc room, which is upstairs in the chateau. It’s a very large room with a sitting area, closet and a huge bathroom that includes a claw foot tub and a separate walk in shower. The room looks out over the terrace in the back of the house, down the hill to the pond and off to the vineyard beyond.

Our first evening there we were treated to an absolutely delicious dinner prepared by Jacquie. Before dinner we had wine and snacks in the parlor. Their own delicious white wine, olives and nuts whet our appetites for the dinner to come. Dinner started with a tart that had cheese and red onion jam that was delicious. The entrée was duck a l’orange that was fall-off-the-bone tender. Fabulous. Dessert was a parfait of mascarpone, strawberries, raspberries and biscotti. The dinner was paired with their Sequoia wine, a medium bodied red that is delightful. Dinner the other two nights of our stay were also prepared by Jacquie and were equally as grand.

There were numerous other guests there during our stay. A couple from the Normandy area, a couple from Switzerland, a couple from England, a couple from New Zealand and their son and his wife who live in Dubai. Conversations at dinner each night centered around each of our respective homes, families, past travels, and what we each did that day or what we had planned for the next. Wine and appetizers started each evening about 7 PM. Dinner started at 8 PM and the conversations were so lively that we did not leave the table before 11:30 PM any night of our stay. With the international mix of guests, the stimulating conversation, the wonderful food and wine, and the beautiful setting, there were moments where I felt like I was in an episode of Downton Abbey, although with decidedly more casual attire. It was magical.

Not knowing the area or the distances involved, we had not rented a car, which would be advisable if you plan on seeing the countryside (supposedly the closest place to rent a car is in Libourne). However being the ever-resourceful hostess that she is, Jacquie arranged for a cab to help get us around. Her friend Sophie, who is a delightful local cabbie, shuttled us between St. Emilion, the chateau and the train station in Velines. Jacquie also arranged for bikes one day so we could ride to the market in St Foy La Grande. What a fun day that was biking through the vineyards of Bordeaux.

Our last evening at the chateau, just before dinner, Wilfrid gave all of the guests a tour of the winemaking operation, speaking to us about winemaking in general and also winemaking particular to the region of Bordeaux. We learned some new things about winemaking and also cleared up some misconceptions as well.

On the day we left, contact information was shared, bottles of Sequoia were packed into our luggage, there were hugs and pictures all around, and we felt like we were leaving our newly discovered French relatives.

I cannot say enough about our wonderful experience at Chateau Carbonneau. We would love to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UlvaZell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were recommended Chateau Crbonneau by friends and were not disappointed. Jacquie and Wilfred are warm hosts, the Chateau and the grounds are beautiful and Jacquie's cooking on the evenings she offers dinner, is delightful. Their wine is superb.
We relaxed instantly here and the table comun for dinner allowed us to meet some interesting and entertaining fellow guests.
We are looking forward so much to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Thoroughly recommend going there!
The most beautiful room and fabulous welcome.
Have started tasting the wine with friends and they love it too! I'm sure that we'll be ordering more.Would plan on going back but it's a bit remote from the areas we visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A friend and I spent two nights at Chateau Carbonneau and only wish we'd spent ten! Absolutely lovely (French New Zealanders) owners share their beautiful 150 year old home with its vineyard and wine and associated farm. The rooms are large and lovely with peaceful views out over the country. We had two dinners there that were as good (excellent) as any we had at restaurants (and we made a point of eating at good restaurants), and they were enhanced by conversations with other guests and our hosts who are simply delightful. It's a bit in the middle of a beautiful nowhere, but only an hour from Bordeaux, 30 min from St. Emilion, and probably 30 from Bergerac (we didn't go there). We just LOVED it! By the way, it was in Sept of Oct 2012 Food and Wine in an article about affordable Bordeaux and they have their own website.

Room Tip: We thought the blue room was the best but my photo didn't turn out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHPMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our evening here was one of the highlights of the trip. We received a wonderful tour of the vineyard and had an educational and relaxing tasting. Exploring the grounds was a delight. The home was beautiful.

The couple who run this bed and breakfast are amazing. They are affable and entertaining, but also truly interested in listening and learning about their guests. Great wine, amazing food, and stimulating conversation made our time here fly by. But it is truly memorable.

Next trip to bordeaux will certainly include a few nights here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTSstm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a really lovely overnight stay at Chateau Carbonneau recently. It's a beautiful building in charming grounds, the swimming pool looks very new and maintained very well. The room (Pivoine) we stayed in was beautiful, full of character, and with very comfortable with an enormous modern bathroom. A slight shame that the child's bed and the baby's cot we had asked for were not assembled in the room on our arrival, and we had to sort them out ourselves, however in all other respects the hosts were charming and accomodating of our needs travelling with two young children. The evening meal was very tasty, although quite simple (possibly a little too simple for the price?), but of course the wine was excellent and the company enjoyable (dining with the other people staying at the Chateai that night). A beautiful spot in the countryside.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Robbie_the_forehand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Carbonneau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Carbonneau

Address: 1 Chateau Carbonneau | Saint Emilion/Bordeaux, 33890 Pessac-sur-Dordogne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Pessac-sur-Dordogne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pessac-sur-Dordogne
Price Range: $112 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Bordeaux vineyard, Chateau Carbonneau is ideally situated between Saint Emilion and Bergerac. In a unique and idyllic setting, the chateau offers luxury accommodation and fine wines on the slopes of Pessac sur Dordogne. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Carbonneau Hotel Pessac-Sur-Dordogne
Chateau Carbonneau France/Pessac-Sur-Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing