We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just completed our 2d stay at Beau Jardin and it was great! The owners are wonderful people and they make you feel right at home. Meals are also great...try the duck, it was so good, I ordered two nights in a row! The location is just right if you plan on going to the beach, winery tours, or getting your fill of oysters during the summer festival in the area. We will definitely stay there again the next time we pass through Bordeaux.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    18
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
67
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We arrived here on a cycling holiday having moved on from our disappointing previous accommodation a day ahead of schedule. We were so relieved to arrive at the Chateau Beau Jardin! It was everything we'd hoped for: beautiful grounds, stunning hotel, excellent decor with wonderfully welcoming owners and staff. Michele was friendly and helpful as was Gary, her friend working there for the season. They had the perfect balance of allowing us to feel free to relax in the hotel and go about our day as we wished but were available for any advice, suggestions, help etc we needed. Jean's food was absolutely delicious and the wine suggestions to match the food were great. We slept extremely well in our light, bright, exceptionally clean room, and the ensuite bathroom was of a very high quality. We had a wonderful stay at the Chateau Beau Jardin and would highly recommend it to anyone travelling to or through this area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaembeMaembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights earlier in March. There was a warm welcome (and tea) from Jean and Michele, who rather surprisingly is English. The Chateau is quite small, very comfortable, and 15 minutes from the endless beaches along the west coast of the Medoc, as well as close to the well known vineyards of the region. Jean is the chef, and we enjoyed some delicious meals in their stylish and comfortable restaurant. The fresh fruit at breakfast was also very tasty.

Room Tip: Tho quite close to the main road, and on the ground floor, our room was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The first thing to note is this hotel is a good hour (drive) north of Bordeaux. It is located at the the very northern end of the Medoc - not that far from the mouth of the Gironde.

We chose it to end a day of meandering through the vineyards of the left bank of Bordeaux. For that it is well located.

If you are expecting a grand chateau - well you might need to adjust your expectations a little. This is a comfortable country hotel - small with a small restaurant attached. There is very little near it - the nearest town is a couple of kilometres away. If you choose to stay here you do so for peace and quiet of the countryside. Our room was comfortable, without being grand, our only (minor) irritation was the noise of the airconditioning unit. However, on a very warm night it was something we were willing to bear.

The restaurant will not win any Michelin awards for ultra fine dining, however it did deliver very acceptable meals. Better than bistro quality, but not quiet fine dining. Being a family restaurant the service can be a little slow as the waiter/host moves around the restaurant chatting to fellow guests. Was this a problem - not really - in some ways it added to the charm of the restaurant. The breakfast was adequate - if there was an area that could be upgraded a little it was this - but again, this is France and a continental breakfast is what is delivered.

Overall, we were pleased with our stay and thought that we had received fair value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

From the reviews and photos on Trip Advisor we had high expectations for this hotel. Things got off to a bad start however when we arrived : the hotel was locked up and not a soul in sight. After a phone call we discovered that the staff on site had popped out to the shops but were on their way back. The hosts were nowhere to be seen, and in fact we only met them 24 hours later. To be fair this was end of season (end September) but a little note or welcome gesture would have been nice. On our first night - since the chef was not present - we were directed to a restaurant in the seaside town of Soulac sur Mer. Terrible place - don't go there ! It is really run down and frankly ghostly in September (but I would not be tempted to go back even in high season). Even stranger we only got vague directions to the restaurant ("the one with the blue chairs") and we seem to have ended up at a bad one. In any case, concerning the hotel : the photos do not convey how close this is to a really busy main road, which combined with the fact that most of the garden is a fish pond did not result in a very safe environment for our 2-year old, and we never felt comfortable in this environment. I do not how fast the other reviewers drove in Medoc but it is certainly not 40 minutes to Bordeaux. Seriously, you have to count 1.5 hours to the centre of town (in light traffic!). Concerning the room, the decor was a bit dated and it was not very spacious. No Wifi signal. When our hosts finally arrived we found them strangely distant at first. Michelle did warm up later and she does have lots to offer in terms of info about the region etc. But by then we had decided to move on. The only really good thing about this hotel is the food : there we can agree with the other reviewers. The chef would really do better somewhere else; we felt he was wasted here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at the chateau for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. Michelle was excellent in giving us advice as to the best places to visit and she was very welcoming. We felt very relaxed at the chateau. The location was ideal with many beautiful places in easy reach. Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank littleconfused2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our trip to Portugal. The rooms are very nicely decorated, clean and with very comfortable beds. We ate here on both nights, everything was very good apart from , there were no vegetables to accompany dinner on Sunday as the chef didn't have any!! Also breakfast is very expensive for bread rolls, ham and cheese, so I would recommend you breakfast elsewhere. The hotel is in a great location for visiting the vineyards and the staff were very helpful with maps and recommendations for places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laylaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaillan-en-Medoc
15.5 mi away
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
11.9 mi away
Chateau Pomys
Chateau Pomys
#1 of 1 in Saint-Estephe
127 reviews
4.2 mi away
L'Arberet
L'Arberet
#1 of 3 in Vendays Montalivet
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Chateau de Mirambeau
Chateau de Mirambeau
#1 of 1 in Mirambeau
267 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel des Pins
Hotel des Pins
#2 of 9 in Soulac-sur-Mer
135 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel de France et d'Angleterre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin

Property: Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin
Address: 50 route de Soulac, 33340 Gaillan-en-Medoc, France (Formerly Hotel Chateau Layauga)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Gaillan-en-Medoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gaillan-en-Medoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in the heart of the Médoc and the appellations of Haut Médoc, St Estephe, Pauillac, St Julien, Moulis, Listrac & Margaux lie between Bordeaux and our Chateau. Don’t forget to make time for a beach visit as well! There are miles of fabulous beaches just 10 minutes drive from our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Beau Jardin Bordeaux
Hotel Chateau Beau Jardin France/Gaillan-En-Medoc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing