We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our second visit was even better than the first!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Autre Vie: A blend of boutique hotel & B&B charm, surrounded by Bordeaux's vineyards
Ranked #1 of 2 Camiran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our second visit was even better than the first!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

L'Autrie Vie is fantastic! My husband and I went for the first time in April with friends and returned in September for our second visit, just the two of us. It was hard to imagine our second trip equaling the quality, fun and perfection of the first one, but it did!
Vanessa and Justin are the BEST hosts. They are kind and attentive and seem to anticipate your needs before you even have them. In addition to the fabulous hospitality, they have created the perfect environment for a stay in French wine country. The rooms are stylish and comfortable, the pool and deck are amazing and the surroundings are spectacular. You can rent bikes to cruise around the countryside, prepare dinner from one of the local markets, or just relax and take in the view. Truly a memorable place.
We will certainly be back for a third (and maybe fourth) visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayganClose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
100
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I, together with our adult son stayed at this fabulous B&B for 2 nights in September. We booked the Loft room which was very large and tastefully decorated with careful attention to detail. This B&B is located in a vineyard and we all have fond memories of the afternoon we spent relaxing with a drink on the huge deck surrounded by ripe vines heavy with fruit, watching the sun set. Vanessa and Justin were friendly and attentive hosts who gave us helpful information and great recommendations for local restaurants. Thank you Justin and Vanessa for informing me that I had left my glasses and for sending them to me so quickly. An amazing place to stay!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Vanessa & Justin,
Thank you for making our three night stay with our daughters a special beginning to our 5th trip to France. We always stay at B&B's when traveling France and L'Autre Vie ranks in the top. You have done an amazing renovation to the property and know there is still more to come which we will see on our next trip.
The rooms were top notch and the beds very comfortable; we slept well each night. Your hospitality and concern regarding our comfort and satisfaction are greatly appreciated.
We looked forward to the delicious breakfast each morning which energized us for our days of exploration and tourism in the region. After full days of sightseeing and wine tasting returning to L'Autre Vie was like returning home. And, it was never a problem filling a last minute request for a meat and cheese platter. Also impressive was that each morning as I roamed the property to catch sunrise photos I would see Vanessa driving back to the house after going to town for fresh bread and fruit for breakfast.
Justin & Vanessa have committed themselves to being a premiere B&B and it shows.
We will be returning to France sometime in the near future and we will make L'Autre Vie a must stay during our trip.
Art & Melissa B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Justin and Vanessa! Apologies for our very late review! We stayed here in June/July with another couple and had the most amazing experience EVER! The B&B has been impeccably renovated and the attention to detail and interior design are second to none. The pool and deck area is the perfect spot to enjoy a vino and charcuterie plate (beautifully put together by Justin and Vanessa). The rooms are stunning, comfortable and welcoming and the perfect place to revive after a day of bike riding or wine tasting. The FRIENDLIEST and most welcoming hosts we have met along our travels, it was very sad to leave after our four night stay. The breakfast is ridiculously tasty - you must try Vanessa's homemade jams - delicious! The lunch and dinner packages were so tasty and a great option to have whilst staying there. We honestly had the best four nights here and we continue to talk about it with great warmth. You MUST stay here. Don't miss out! Thank you Vanessa and Justin - hopefully we will get back there again sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

L'Autre Vie is undoubtably the place to stay if you find yourself in this part of France. We were here for two nights (wish it could have been more) during our 10 day trip.

We arrived late following a sat nav malfunction and were welcomed by Vanessa and Justin with a glass of rose and red. We stayed in the tastefully decorated and contemporary New York loft with its fabulous views across the surrounding vineyards. It was perfect in every aspect and the prints of Hendrix and by Pollock that decorated the walls made my husbands day.

As we arrived late and it was our wedding anniversary we chose to stay in and dined on a delightful plattter of cured meat, cheeses and bread washed down with more red and rose wines. That was followed by a night cap of dark chocolate and armignac under skies untouched by light polution - the stars went on forever.

Breakfast was great and Vanessa was able to cater for my dairy allergy by providing soya yoghurts and milk. Accompanied by excellent juice, bread, pastries, muesli, home made preserves (the Mirrabelle is gorgeous) and endless coffee it set us up for the day.

This is a very special place and Vanessa and Justin have created something quite unique - 5*+ city luxury in the middle of the countryside. My only regret is that we were not there long enough to hire the bikes and explore the surrounding area - a day in St Emillion followed by dinner in a local restaurant put paid to that! However, this gives us a reason to return to L'Autre Vie again - and we will.

Thank you Vanessa and Justin for making our stay so very memorable and we wish you much luck in the future

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Litetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay. Ness and Justin have done the most wonderful job in making this place to be what it is. The rooms were amazing, the view overlooking the vineyard was amazing, the pool was amazing, the service was amazing, the food was amazing, the wine was amazing. It was all AMAZING.

We were travelling through from France to Spain and absolutely loved the quieter pace and the spectacular scenery.

Our room was perfect. It was large, modern, clean and stylishly decorated. I loved that each room had its own unique flare.

It was also so evident at how much hard work goes into making sure that all guests are cared for. They do everything from cleaning to cooking and it definitely has a homely and cosy feel to it. Just what any person on holidays wants to feel.

We borrowed some bikes and rode through the vineyards as per a route that Justin had mapped out for us and we went to a vineyard and did a tasting with two french ladies who could not speak english and we could not speak french, however they knew exactly where we staying and were more than willing to try and chat, it was a bundle of a laughs.

The food and wine at L'Autre Vie was just perfect. They offered a variety of anti-pasto plates, picnic hampers, bbq packs etc and all were extremely well priced, beautifully presented and DELICIOUS. It was also great to know that the source all their produce from the local markets. It felt even more special.

They had a great variety of wine also, which we happily tasted. The breakfast was also fab. They had amazing home made jams, and they even created a new flavour of jam in our honour.

Highly recommend this beautiful B&B, definitely a highlight from our trip.

THANKS NESS AND BOXIE.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My friend, my daughter and I stayed at this lovely establishment last week. It was heavenly. The atmosphere is indeed supremely relaxed and our hosts Justin and Vanessa were wonderfully helpful and friendly. The good thing about L'Autre ...Vie is that it is tastefully decorated, extremely comfortable and welcoming, but there is plenty to see and do if one feels like more action. Personally I loved the bike ride through the vines and swimming in the pool, with an afternoon aperitif and then a barbecue for dinner on our last night. We celebrated my daughter's 30th and have recommended the place already to our friends back home. Well done Vanessa and Justin!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camiran
19.8 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Camiranaise
La Camiranaise
#2 of 2 in Camiran
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
12.6 mi away
Chateau de Courtebotte
Chateau de Courtebotte
#1 of 3 in Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
12.0 mi away
Chambres d'hotes Saint Emilion Bordeaux: Beau Sejour
Chambres d'hotes Saint Emilion B...
#1 of 3 in Naujan-et-Postiac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Autre Vie: A blend of boutique hotel & B&B charm, surrounded by Bordeaux's vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Autre Vie: A blend of boutique hotel & B&B charm, surrounded by Bordeaux's vineyards

Property: L'Autre Vie: A blend of boutique hotel & B&B charm, surrounded by Bordeaux's vineyards
Address: 1 Champ de la Grave, 33190 Camiran, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Camiran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Camiran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Autre Vie is the perfect getaway in the heart of Bordeaux wine country, surrounded by beautiful, lush vineyards. Each room has been designed with style, providing guests with a king-size bed, flat screen TV, i-pod docking station, air conditioning & a modern ensuite bathroom with luxury toiletries. Around the grounds, you can relax by the pool, soak up some sun on the enormous deck, or try your hand at petanque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Autre Vie: A blend of boutique hotel & B&B charm, surrounded by Bordeaux's vineyards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing