We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience”
Review of Domaine de Valmont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domaine de Valmont
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barsac
Reviewed March 11, 2011

I booked a twin room 2 days previous to arrival. The owner said she'd only been notified of the booking 3 hours prior to us turning up. We were given a room with a double bed which I said wasn't suitable for my friend and I. We were then given another room with a double bed & bed settee. The 'restaurant' was closed. We were offered wine & golden syrup cake. We were then offered some cheese,pate and bread (which was stale). We then didn't see any one at all until breakfast (which she told us we had booked...but we hadn't) from 5pm until the next morning. Breakfast consisted of a bread roll, a croissant, fruit juice and coffee each..& 2 of the small pots of jam had been opened & used by a previous guest.
The hotel is very close to a train track (with high speed trains). I couldn't see any sign of the spa/ treatments that I had read were available.
The room was 100 euro for the night & the extras 44 euros..... a complete rip off!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calmi1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 371 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2009

Found this hotel through Chateaux-France.com: http://www.chateaux-france.com/. The pictures there are accurate depictions, and actually don't reflect how nice the bathrooms are.

Wonderful hotel with conference center and restaurant.

The rooms were an excellent value at only 115 euros for a quadruple room (2 bedrooms, 2 baths). Standard double rooms were about 60-70 euros/night. Many rooms come with a kitchenette - ours was fully stocked with wine glasses, plates, knives. The bathrooms were extraordinary and had a shower and separate spa sized tub. I felt like it was a luxury suite at a bargain price! Everything was very clean and well prepared. Towels and sheets were very clean. No odor of smoke in the rooms, although there was a slight tobacco odor in the general hallway.

Quiet surroundings, except for the train in the morning, which made for a good wake up call around 7am.

Reservations were through email, and the host was extremely prompt and courteous in his responses. Breakfast is 8-10 euros/day, which we never got a chance to enjoy. Restaurant is reportedly good, but was closed on the Sunday we were there.

Location is in Barsac about 2 miles from the autoroute. There is a train station just around the corner that goes all the way into Bordeaux city. Less than 400 meters away begin the vineyards of Barsac where sweet white wines are produced, the most famous of which is Chateau Climens. Sauternes itself is 10 minutes southwest, and Bordeaux is only 20 minutes away. Ignore the attached map (doesn't seem to have the hotel in the right country!) and use google!

Highly recommended for the independent traveler!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trustemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank jeanfran_oisv526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank antoinev454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidJ379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Demarcq C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
81
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barsac
12.1 mi away
Domaine de Larchey
Domaine de Larchey
#1 of 1 in Saint-Medard-d'Eyrans
191 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Claude Darroze
Hotel Claude Darroze
#1 of 3 in Langon
102 reviews
5.4 mi away
Les Feuilles d'Acanthe
Les Feuilles d'Acanthe
#1 of 1 in Saint-Macaire
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Domaine de Fompeyre
Domaine de Fompeyre
#1 of 2 in Bazas
337 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hostellerie Geraud de Graves
22 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Valmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Valmont

Address: 22 rue de la Gare | Sauternes, Barsac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Barsac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barsac
Price Range: $100 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de Valmont 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Domain of Valmont is the former(old) property of the XVIIIth century, transformed into Charming hotel situated at the heart of prestigious vineyards of Barsac-Sauternes. We propose oenological visits with our partner castles within the framework of weekend tasting. Our table d'hote proposes a gastronomy of the Southwest:foie fat house, steaklet of duck, Sauternes... Ideal place for your private receptions or professional meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Domaine de Valmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Valmont France/Barsac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing