We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely chateau deep in Sauterne area”
Review of Domaine de Valmont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Domaine de Valmont
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barsac
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely chateau deep in Sauterne area”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

If you want a break from travelling those french motorways or if you are interested in wine, take a well earned stop here. The hotel is set in its own gardens adjacent to the village of Barsac and the railway. We had an intriguing room under the bell tower, with adjacent living room and bathroom. Lots of space, very clean and sympathetically modernised. The grounds are beautiful. You can sit out on the terrace and enjoy views of the garden with a glass of Sauterne in hand. What could be better, oh yes, a lovely evening meal in their huge restaurant.

Don't bother with the breakfast though.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room that does not have windows to the rear of the hotel (where the railway is).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntoniaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DValmont33, at Domaine de Valmont, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Google Translation
Merci de faire part de votre satisfaction. Un client satisfait étant notre meilleure publicité, sachez que nous continuons à mettre tout en oeuvre pour vous donner le maximum de bonheur lors de vos passages.
L'équipe de Valmont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    141
    44
    17
    9
See reviews for
27
245
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed four nights in this hotel as part of a weeks visit to France. The hotel is situated in a quiet town 30 minutes drive from Bordeaux and we found the owners and staff very welcoming and friendly. We have stayed in many of the big chain hotels in North America and the UK and we prefer the type of accommodation that Domaine de Valmont offers in terms of informal comfort and relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast and evening meals were of a high standard and we will definitely stay there if we visit the Bordeaux area in the future.Thanks for your hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valmont33, Propriétaire at Domaine de Valmont, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. It's with big pleasure that we shall receive you again in the Domain of Valmont.
The September and October are very apreciated for the harvests. See you very soon. Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Was worried after reading the reviews about noise from the railway and, yes, the domain is VERY close to the tracks... BUT, honestly you barely hear the trains so not a problem at all for us (perhaps more of a problem in the summer when you spend more time outside or with the windows open). Loved the big room - at least 70 square metres not counting the bathroom. Had a little kitchen (American) with mostly what you would need but no cooking pots or pans and the fridge did not work. Only ate dinner once at the domain but the food was excellent (recommend the pave de boeuf), the waiter friendly and prompt and the environment nice enough - only disappointment was the red wine but maybe we had been tasting too many top quality wines that evening. Breakfast was a simple continental style but the baguettes and croissants of very good quality and the expresso machine fine enough to have pleased George Clooney. If you like medieval towns, recommend a visit to Saint Macaire and Rions nearby, and for castles well worth a visit to Roquetaillade about 20 minutes drive away. Several little restaurants in the local town of Cadillac - we ate at L'entrée du jardin which was a little expensive (40 Euro menu) but really excellent. The staff recommended L'érable but we didn't try it so cannot comment. Great wine tasting experience at Chateau de Rolland where the co-owner (with her brother) gave an excellent presentation and explanation of her small production (and Yes the wine was superb).

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SpiderOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DValmont33, at Domaine de Valmont, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Google Translation
Nous espérons que ces remarques, que nous notons, ont été faites à la réception le matin de votre départ et sommes désolés que vous n'ayez pas trouvé chez nous l'instant bonheur attendu.
L'équipe de Valmont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel luckily on a reduced price voucher, but even if we had not it would still rate the same reviews. Like most of the other people who have written overall the experience of staying there was very relaxing .. The staff at the hotel were keen to please with nothing to much trouble. We also took advantage to having one evening meal at the hotel which was well cooked and presented .
The warm Foie -Gras was to die for and possibly one of the best I have ever tasted. The wines which were included in the price of 45 euros were a Grand Vin standard. We stayed in room 12 which overlooked the front of the hotel. It was a very large room , If you were a family ideal but a little sparse for two with a fairly small bathroom with a shower . Our friends had room 8 which over looked the other side. This was divided in two with a sitting area separate from the bedroom. Although smaller it had a bath in a larger bathroom. Both rooms had a kitchen area. You can hear some slight train noise but after a bottle of local wine it is hardly noticeable. All in all a great experience and one if I could I would gladly experience again.

Room Tip: look into the room at first if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjfromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DValmont33, at Domaine de Valmont, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Google Translation
Nous espérons que ces remarques, que nous notons, ont été faites à la réception le matin de votre départ et sommes désolés que vous n'ayez pas trouvé chez nous l'instant bonheur attendu.
L'équipe de Valmont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay in this wonderful place. The staff were very attentive taking the time to speak with us in English as our French was so poor. Our room overlooked the courtyard, was very spacious, clean and comfortable.
The grounds are lovely, very peaceful. Yes, there are trains, but they did not disturb us at all, in fact we slept so well, we nearly missed breakfast!
The meal in the restaurant will go down as one of our "memorable meals" as it was superb, the wine tour was all in French - obviously, but we still enjoyed it.
Overall I would recommend this place and return both for the hospitality and it's position.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEH483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DValmont33, at Domaine de Valmont, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Google Translation
Nous espérons que ces remarques, que nous notons, ont été faites à la réception le matin de votre départ et sommes désolés que vous n'ayez pas trouvé chez nous l'instant bonheur attendu.
L'équipe de Valmont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights this October in this attractive chateau. Our room overlooked the courtyard, room number 5, and was clean and very comfortable.
We had one evening meal in the Chateau which was an excellent gourmet menu, beautifully presented. A lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerSurreyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DValmont33, at Domaine de Valmont, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Google Translation
Nous sommes heureux, que comme nous, vous appréciez le cadre de notre domaine et vous remercions pour les encouragements dont vous témoignez.
L'équipe de Valmont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a fantastic, relaxing and comfortable place to stay with a chilled ambience. The staff (or should I say family - they felt so familiar) were brilliant being attentive but not over powering or pushy. The settings were very well manicured and the property meticulously cleaned regularly. We took the evening meal on two occasions and were delighted to be treated to spectacular gourmet cooking. Thank you for making our stay so pleasant and here's looking forward to booking another few days when we are next in Bordeaux.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallm20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DValmont33, réceptionniste at Domaine de Valmont, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
THANK YOU for your compliments. Very happy to think of you again on our Domain in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barsac
3.7 mi away
Hostellerie Geraud de Graves
12.1 mi away
Domaine de Larchey
Domaine de Larchey
#1 of 1 in Saint-Medard-d'Eyrans
176 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Claude Darroze
Hotel Claude Darroze
#1 of 3 in Langon
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Domaine de Fompeyre
Domaine de Fompeyre
#1 of 2 in Bazas
316 reviews
5.4 mi away
Les Feuilles d'Acanthe
Les Feuilles d'Acanthe
#1 of 1 in Saint-Macaire
105 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#3 of 3 in Langon
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Valmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Valmont

Property: Domaine de Valmont
Address: 22 rue de la Gare | Sauternes, Barsac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Barsac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barsac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de Valmont 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Domain of Valmont is the former(old) property of the XVIIIth century, transformed into Charming hotel situated at the heart of prestigious vineyards of Barsac-Sauternes. We propose oenological visits with our partner castles within the framework of weekend tasting. Our table d'hote proposes a gastronomy of the Southwest:foie fat house, steaklet of duck, Sauternes... Ideal place for your private receptions or professional meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Domaine de Valmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Valmont France/Barsac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing