We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Place des Marches

Place des Marches
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Caussade, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Had lunch there in June, a great meal, food wonderful and service excellent. We were there with relatives who lived in the area. They hadn't been there before and were very impressed too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    22
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A real little gem, hidden in the heart of the Corbieres”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

This place really shows what can be done with some imagination, dedication and sheer entrepreneurial drive. The Corbieres district isn't rich in good restaurants generally, so when this charming bistro opened about 9 months ago, in the small but thriving village of Villeseque-des-Corbieres, where we have a holiday home, we were delighted, and also a little surprised.

To quote Field of Dreams, "If you build it, they will come" - the chef Eric Delalande has succeeded in creating a perfectly charming rural French bistro, serving delicious and healthy food and stocking a range of the best local wines, many from growers based in the commune of Villeseque, at very reasonable prices.

As well as attracting diners from surrounding villages, both locals and holidaymakers, the bar also provides a focal point for the village, and though we only dined there once in our recent 4 night stay, it was busy every night, and it's not hard to see why.

Staff were friendly and attentive, the menu is tempting, the atmosphere is lovely, and not just incredibly French, really Corbieres.

A delight, long may it prosper !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richardOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“2nd Time Lucky in the Corbieres”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is the best restaurant/bar for miles around which some may say is not difficult given the closure of the bar/restaurant in Durban (which I'm told for some is a blessing in disguise) and the limited options in neighbouring villages such as Villeneuve des corbieres.
Reason for my title is that me and a colleague on business sought to eat here on Thursday evening but were turned away as there was a local group eating there. I was a little surprised at this but considered that he owners probably were not being difficult (this kind of thing seems to happen in the corbieres), given the fact they also turned away a table of 4 so i thought lets give it another go tomorrow.
We managed to obtain a late reservation 845 pm (again somewhat unusual in this part of the world) and were met by a delightful hostess who can also speak English if necessary.
The chef owner was behind the bar but his protege looked more than competent to deal with our orders.
Of course the menu was value so we went for it, i think for about 22 euros.
First course we had the bulots (sea snails) and prawns and aioli, it was delicious and a decent potion.
second course was duck, which was the finest meat i've eaten for a very long time- set put on a board with rosemary potatoes and garlic greens.
We decided to wash it down with a quality 2009 Haut Gleon (with little mark up)

Throughout it all we were well looked after by the lovely waitress and the chef came over to discuss the food (again a nice touch). He is obviously well travelled having worked in the US and in Arles and speaks excellent English.
His protege did him proud with the food and next time i'm in these parts i'll be back.
The local digestive was the piece de resistance
Even my colleague loved it and he's not easily pleased!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Going from strength to strength”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I reviewed this place shortly after it opened and thought it excellent. Since then, we have been several times and things have got better still, so I wanted to raise the rating I gave it. The food is very good indeed, as is the service.

The bar is well-frequented by locals and it has clearly become an established part of the community very quickly. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JR4763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thezan des Corbieres
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I'm so lucky................”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

.......the Place des Marches is 10 minutes from where I live. Eric Delalande sources and uses local produce to it's best. He makes wonderful breads which you are given to eat with your aperos. The last time we dined there we were given a roquefort cheese bread.. hot with garlic butter which was amazing. If you like steak the quality is excellent and it comes the way you want it cooked. The courgette flowers cooked in tempura batter.. fantastic... I could go on.. the menu changes with what is available. The staff are always efficient and helpful and the ambiance is excellent as this is also the local bar bistro. The decor is modern and interesting... There is a great little collection of children's ovens and look for the saucisse in the birdcage! You can also watch your food being prepared too...I try not to do this as I always want what someone else has ordered. This restaurant is a welcome addition to the Corbieres If you are in the area you really should try to eat here though I would recommend that you book as word is spreading and it is becoming very popular. There is a michelin three start restaurant at one of the nearby villages... and that is a fantastic experience but I leave the Place des Marches just as happy as dining there.. so guess the team at the Place des Marches are getting things very right!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Purr00h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Place des Marches also viewed

 
Portel-des-Corbieres, Aude
Portel-des-Corbieres, Aude
 
Villeneuve-les-Corbieres, Aude
Portel-des-Corbieres, Aude
 

Been to Place des Marches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing