We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Paloma and Melaque equals security, family and friends.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Patricio
Cochrane, Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“La Paloma and Melaque equals security, family and friends.”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Being a new-comer to Mexico I felt at home with greetings from Kyla an Paco. La Paloma is not an all-inclusive; it's a safe have that enables you to venture out into unspoiled Mexico and immerse yourself in it. My daily routing would typically be: 1) 7:30 wakup and Isabella or Raul would have the morning coffee service started. Wait for some people I befriended and have toach .... and more coffe; all the while staring absently out at the ocean, hearing the birds and watching for a fishing opportunity. Then a swim in the pool after playing with Casey, a shot of Mexican tequila and then off into the Melaque. 2 hours later return to La Paloma and sun up, and swim in ocean and / or spool. Relax .... ahhhh I was do relaxed. The people the run La Palolma including Nancy, Richard, Kyla, Isabella, Raul, Ronaldo and others, are conscientious and caring. The friends I met there were special. It was a home-away from hole ... legitimately. And La Paloma is located so well to take advantage of local, unspoiled, Mexican restaurants and shops. Security of the premise not an iaaue, and I personally felt comfortable outside the La Paloma gate after dark. I've already booked my time at La Paloma for same time next year. It's changed me.

Room Tip: Studio 14 is the most palacial uite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dueyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    9
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
36
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I had an absolute wonderful time at La Paloma. As my pictures demonstrate you'll have to agree this is an Oasis. I stayed in Studio 2.

Kyla was wonderful and the owners live on site. I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iwillnotdoit2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettle Falls, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

The bar next door blasted it's music into the night and it was impossible to sleep. I wouldn't recommend this "retreat" if you want to sleep!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostinparidise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyla p, Manager at La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
In 2011 Albatroz opened its doors next door to La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat and unfortunately did not have a specific concept at that time. The bar owner did have loud heavy music which was new issue that was forced upon us. Over that winter season, we had many chats with the bar owner about the type of concept he had for his bar and gave him suggestions that could possibly use to make it work for all patrons of both establishments. He did change his concept and it is now a Restaurant Bar that targets sunset goers and no longer appealing to late night clubbers. We do everything we can to address all concerns and try with every possible bit of effort to correct all concerns that guests have especially when it is inside the walls of the resort.. We do like to remind guests that Mexico can be a noisy place with fiestas, celebrations, roosters and ocean waves but hey that is part of the welcome to the land of tequila.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Well, not sure where to begin exactly. Melaque and La Paloma were, in a word, fantastic. My girlfriend and I stayed there for 5 nights and the place was exactly what we wanted/needed.

First off, for those of you looking for a mega-resort experience, this definitely is NOT your place. It is more like a commune and you have many many interactions with you neighbors. The hosts, Nancy and Brenda, are extremely accommodating and will go out of their way to make you comfortable. Nancy is a wealth of knowledge about the area and can find something interesting to do almost anywhere within a 200km radius.

The staff, love 'em. Antonio and Paco would make fresh guac or just about anything you wanted whenever you wanted it. They are very personable and funny. Can't say enough about them.

The place itself is charming. Like I said, it's more of a commune/retreat with nice garden area in the interior and great patio with very clean pool that is on the beach. The rooms are spacious, open-aired, well appointed, and have great character.

As mentioned by other reviewers, if you are a light sleeper, the waves could be a big problem. These are your typical 3' waves in Melaque, no no. These are 8' waves that don't break until they hit the very steep beach. Not only do you hear them (loudly), but you feel them. It wasn't a problem for us. I liked it.

Overall, the place was great. Highly recommend La Paloma and Melaque.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank channoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, B.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

This was our third trip to La Paloma and once again we loved our time there. Richard and Nancy live on the premises and are always helpful and full of information. They are available in an emergency 24/7. Brenda has a wealth of knowledge and can help make you feel comfortable if you are not familiar with Mexican towns. All the staff are courteous and extremely trustworthy. They feel like family to us now.
The rooms are funky, fun, clean and very well equipped. They have extraordinary views. You will feel at home at La Paloma unless you happen to be a very picky person. If you can relax and roll with things, you will have a great time. These are superior suites with very well maintained grounds and pool.
The beach is down a few steps and you can walk the bay either way - to Barra de Navidad or to the "chicken beach" where many Mexican families come to vacation. The water is calmer there, pelicans dive, fishing boats are moored in the harbour and wee babies splash in the waves - Heavenly!
Some of the reviews expressed hereare less than complimentary but we all know folks who just can't seem to find anything nice to say. Most people should love this lovely resort.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParadiseFlats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

This is a beautiful place and but do not go there unless you would enjoy hearing the four dogs that live on the property begin barking at 6:00 am. When I complained to the owner she admitted that she was looking forward to sleeping in on her upcoming holiday -- not quite "getting" the irony that we were there for our relaxing vacation. Additionally our room had open vents leading to the garage so twice we were woken to the sound of cars starting and exhaust fumes wafting into our unit. This is esthetically a nice place and the staff are nice. The owners are extremely rude and seem to place their needs far above those of the paying guests -- we went for a romantic get away but all we wanted to do was to "get away" from La Paloma.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshineandwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyla p, Manager at La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Since April of 2010, La Paloma has been operated and run fully by new management. We do currently have Casey our guard dog on the premises and hope that guests coming to La Paloma are fully aware that she may bark as that is what she is trained to do. Alarm us if she suspects anything.
Rooms are upgraded every year and if any guest has a concern or comment we do appreciate knowing about it so we may fix and address the issue at hand.
We apologize for any previous inconvenience. We are working very hard to make this the best vacation spot possible in the Melaque area, and by the sign of our reviews for the last 3 years, it seems we are accomplishing that very goal. Thank you for bringing up your concerns as it helps us address and better our establishment and service that we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

As a couple under 60 years of age, La Paloma has been our choice of accommodation in Melaque for the past six years. We have returned so many times because we enjoy what Melaque and La Paloma offer.

La Paloma is right on the beach with a lovely pool area, meticulously maintained gardens and a dedicated staff. Each room in La Paloma is unique but all offer a kitchen or kitchenette -- repeat guests quickly find a "favorite". The staff are dedicated to providing a great experience for their guests. Almost all the staff have been there longer than we have been coming and their good nature is infectious. We look forwarding to seeing the staff each year. Brenda, the onsite manager, has always done a fabulous job meeting any of our needs.

Yes, there are rules about friends and visitors coming to visit guests staying at La Paloma. We believe the rules are a common sense compromise to ensure the safety and comfort of all guests while allowing visitors. Without restrictions, one of the nicest pools in Melaque would be overrun with visitors. We have seen many guests have friends and family over to their room or to enjoy a beverage at the shell bar.

A continentinal breakfast is offered (Isabella does freshly squeeze the organge juice!) with the ability to purchase additional egg offerings at a price. Each unit also has a kitchenette so one can also prepare what you wish. For me, this year the coffee was outstanding!

We were there for the major rain storm - yes the power did go off. Personally, I was amazed that the Mexican authorities were able to restore power in such a short time after such a major event. The volume of rain was substantive and from stories I heard from others in Town - most accommodations had some type of flooding. One of the owners of La Paloma and a staff member were on site during the storm (2am) trying to ensure that the property was secure. The following morning - the onsite Manager was in attendance (normally her day off) and followed up with each guest to see if they had any room issues - La Paloma staff immediately addressed every issue. The owner even arranged a BBQ lunch for those who didn't want to go out in the rain.

Melaque and La Paloma are NOT a Puerto Vallarta - all inclusive type of vacation. As it's name says - it's a "Oceanfront Retreat" -- We love our time at La Paloma and will continue to be loyal patrons.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachnut53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Patricio
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Temazcal Hacienda de Melaque
0.5 mi away
Las Arenas
Las Arenas
#1 of 4 in Melaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Barra de Navidad
Hotel Barra de Navidad
#2 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Alondra
Hotel La Alondra
#8 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cabo Blanco Hotel
Cabo Blanco Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barra de Navidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat

Property: La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat
Address: Avenida Las Cabanas 13, San Patricio 48980, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > San Patricio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Patricio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the picturesque seaside town of Melaque, the beauty and serenity of old Mexico lives on. Here at La Paloma, an intimate resort, culture and traditional hospitality combine with modern technology and the singular artistic vision of its owners. Conveniently located a couple of blocks from the town square and shopping, yet when you step through the gate, you're miles away from the world outside in a safe, secure, garden paradise. Each of the 14 different rooms have their own uniqueness with wonderful views and amenities designed for your comfort. We are not your average hotel... We are your Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat Hotel San Patricio
La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat Mexico/San Patricio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing