We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas Camino del Mar and Ocean Village
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Nautico El Dorado(Pacific Coast)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Las Hamacas(Melaque)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bungalows Marvida(Barra de Navidad)
View Hotel
El Marquez de Santana(Barra de Navidad)
View Hotel
Hotel Barra de Navidad(Barra de Navidad)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Sarabi(Barra de Navidad)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
23
10
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
10
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenfront deskgloriaaccommodationspatriziapoolsoceanmexico
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 39 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and thought that the manager, Gloria was extremely helpful and gracious.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lostinparidise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We have been coming here since 1998, usually spending 2-8 weeks each year. My overall rating is excellent even though I can't rate high under the criteria in comparison with fine hotels in major destinations. Hey, this is a Mexican beach town. Oompah bands or loud music from Ava's bar-restaurant will keep you awake some nights. If you want 4-5 star hotels, go to a tourist trap destination. Go to Cancun or Cabo and pretend you're in Mexico.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank lucy421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

After the previous review, we were skeptical to honour our reservation at this hotel. Yet, good friends with high standards who had stayed the week before were happy, so off we went. We were not disappointed. Perhaps the previous reviewer stayed in another part of this rather large complex but our villa was very clean if simple, everything worked, and the view was out of this world. The staff was exceedingly friendly, always smiling, and eager to help. The towels and linens were fine. A switch in the bathroom broke while we were there and was immediately repaired without us having to ask. We came in one day to find our small microwave replaced by a bigger and better one. We did a rate comparison and found it to be a better deal for 2 couples than other attractive places in either Melaque or Barra. We are already looking forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Savvywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We have stayed at Camino Del Mar for 1 month. We find the place run down, grungy, and the staff very unhappy and depressing to look at. The rates for the room are outraging and the staff is overworked and underpay. It shows believe me. The towels are old, decrepit, wripped and stained. It is a disgrace. All appliances are either not working or so rusty you dont want to be sick of food poisoning when you use them. You constantly have to go to the front desk and report a broken, microwave, toaster, blander, can opener. The ceiling fans are so noisy you either suffer the heat or stand the noise, there is no air conditioning. The units are not sound proof therefore very very noisy. The pipes under our sink broke on day 2 and had to be fixed. With the old chest of draws one drawer in the bedroom does not open so that leaves us with 3 drawers for 2 people. The linen smells very strong of bleach and the toilets dont flush most of the time.

In conclusio I will never return here as the place is not upkept while the owners are getting richer and richer all the time the vacationers are getting ripped off and so is the staff.

This place is a BAD CHOICE.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BelleOrchidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We had a room with kitchen, overlooking the ocean and the view was pleasant. The owners, Sue & Lila were not pleasant, in fact the service was quite rude! We had family staying at a neighboring hotel and they were harassed every time they tried to come and visit us....the owners run this place like a prison camp! Our final bill was inflated with items we did not purchase, such as beer. A long & protracted argument was required to removed the bogus item. Our room was not adequately cleaned and the whole area smelled of overflowing septic. The so called high speed interenet was incredibly slow. Swimming was okay, but often the waves are dangerous. Better swimming can be found at the south end of the beach. There are much better "Mexican" hotels nearby with friendlier staff and better value. The place is over priced.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldyuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews