We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gloria is a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villas Camino del Mar and Ocean Village
Kettle Falls, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gloria is a gem”
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and thought that the manager, Gloria was extremely helpful and gracious.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lostinparidise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We have been coming here since 1998, usually spending 2-8 weeks each year. My overall rating is excellent even though I can't rate high under the criteria in comparison with fine hotels in major destinations. Hey, this is a Mexican beach town. Oompah bands or loud music from Ava's bar-restaurant will keep you awake some nights. If you want 4-5 star hotels, go to a tourist trap destination. Go to Cancun or Cabo and pretend you're in Mexico.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank lucy421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

After the previous review, we were skeptical to honour our reservation at this hotel. Yet, good friends with high standards who had stayed the week before were happy, so off we went. We were not disappointed. Perhaps the previous reviewer stayed in another part of this rather large complex but our villa was very clean if simple, everything worked, and the view was out of this world. The staff was exceedingly friendly, always smiling, and eager to help. The towels and linens were fine. A switch in the bathroom broke while we were there and was immediately repaired without us having to ask. We came in one day to find our small microwave replaced by a bigger and better one. We did a rate comparison and found it to be a better deal for 2 couples than other attractive places in either Melaque or Barra. We are already looking forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savvywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We have stayed at Camino Del Mar for 1 month. We find the place run down, grungy, and the staff very unhappy and depressing to look at. The rates for the room are outraging and the staff is overworked and underpay. It shows believe me. The towels are old, decrepit, wripped and stained. It is a disgrace. All appliances are either not working or so rusty you dont want to be sick of food poisoning when you use them. You constantly have to go to the front desk and report a broken, microwave, toaster, blander, can opener. The ceiling fans are so noisy you either suffer the heat or stand the noise, there is no air conditioning. The units are not sound proof therefore very very noisy. The pipes under our sink broke on day 2 and had to be fixed. With the old chest of draws one drawer in the bedroom does not open so that leaves us with 3 drawers for 2 people. The linen smells very strong of bleach and the toilets dont flush most of the time.

In conclusio I will never return here as the place is not upkept while the owners are getting richer and richer all the time the vacationers are getting ripped off and so is the staff.

This place is a BAD CHOICE.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BelleOrchidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We had a room with kitchen, overlooking the ocean and the view was pleasant. The owners, Sue & Lila were not pleasant, in fact the service was quite rude! We had family staying at a neighboring hotel and they were harassed every time they tried to come and visit us....the owners run this place like a prison camp! Our final bill was inflated with items we did not purchase, such as beer. A long & protracted argument was required to removed the bogus item. Our room was not adequately cleaned and the whole area smelled of overflowing septic. The so called high speed interenet was incredibly slow. Swimming was okay, but often the waves are dangerous. Better swimming can be found at the south end of the beach. There are much better "Mexican" hotels nearby with friendlier staff and better value. The place is over priced.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldyuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weeki-wachie florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

great place, with excellent staff-i am from florida so i was hot, the weather was warm, i just took a/c for granted--the food in the area was awesome-it was the first time in many yearsi felt truly relaxed. great place
richard barker
tampa bay, florida

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — no air-conditioner
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

Many Canadians know about San Patricio-Melaque, the two connected towns on the western end of the Barra de Navidad beach. Melaque is not charming in the conventional sense. The streets are dusty and many are unpaved. The dirt-floor poverty is jarring, especially in juxtaposition to the more affluent abodes, many of which are being developed by foreigners. But the setting is lovely and there is much to explore in the surrounding areas. There is good body surfing, a market of sorts (really a warren of stalls and shops, which radiate from the main streets), fresh fish, and some good food to be found. We stayed for 10 nights in July, 2006 at Vilas Camino del Mar, located at roughly the centre of the bay, at the eastern end of Melaque. This property and several others in the area are owned and run with charm and efficiency by an ex-pat Canadian woman and a local Mexican woman. The Villas feature two nice buildings on the beach, each with a pool. There are a variety of rooms and suites, from modest studios to lavish three-bedroom habitations. All have full kitchens or kitchenettes. We (a couple and an 8-year-old) stayed in a spacious two-bedroom suite overlooking the pool, with full kitchen and two bathrooms. There is no air conditioning at the Villas. Service is excellent, with all staff friendly and knowledgeable. Rates vary accoring to the size of the suite. You can connect to their website at [--]. During this "low" season, almost all the tourists were Mexicans from Guadalajara and other interior cities, but we are told that during the high season, early mornings find many Canadians and others doing the "gringo walk" along the beach to Barra and back. Barra has more of a beachy ambience and bar atmosphere (and sevral restaurant choices), and it's where you must go if you want to charter a launch to explore the coastline or to fish. About 40 km north is the palapa-laden beach at Tenacatita, also the best snorkeling place in the area. A taxi there is about 300 pesos, so you may find renting a car cheaper (we rented one for 600 a day at the Costalegre travel agency in town: look for the ETN bus sign, on the main east-est street, two blocks past the bank.). You can also visit the charming seaside town of La Manzanilla, where the locals feed caimans in the adjacent mangrove. There are several other lovely baches to visit in the area, including one, Boca de Iguana, which is said to host several hundred RVs each winter, at the commodious RV park on the beach. Fo those who want to taste luxury without paying for it, you can take a water taxi from Barra to the Grand Baya Resort and have a nice (and not terribly expensive) lunch by the pool. If you would like to swim in said pool, which has a series of great slides for kids, you will have to negotiate a deal with the front desk. They initially told us it would be US$50 per person for the day, but then settled for a credit card imprint and the expectation that we would buy some drinks (we did, to the tune of about $12.) For a wonderful meal, there is no better choice in melaque than Restaurante Maya, on the beach near the Villas Camino del Mar. Chef Peg Montgomery has years of experience at Delilah's in Vancouver, BC, and her food is excellent. The black sesame-encrusted tuna with wasabe sauce was amazing as was her mahi mahi with mango sauce. You will not eat a better Caesar salad with grillled prawns, and the decadent brownie for dessert was awesome. Not "Mexican" food but delicious, and the setting, with palm trees and candles on each table, a breeze, and the surf pounding in, is close to paradisical.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
21 Thank loraxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Patricio
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Temazcal Hacienda de Melaque
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Alondra
Hotel La Alondra
#7 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Arenas
Las Arenas
#1 of 4 in Melaque
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Barra de Navidad
Hotel Barra de Navidad
#2 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Pablo De Tarso
Posada Pablo De Tarso
#1 of 8 in Melaque
39 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cabo Blanco Hotel
Cabo Blanco Hotel
#1 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Camino del Mar and Ocean Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Camino del Mar and Ocean Village

Property: Villas Camino del Mar and Ocean Village
Address: P.O. Box 6, San Patricio 48980, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > San Patricio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in San Patricio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villas Camino del Mar and Ocean Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Camino Del Mar And Ocean Village Hotel Barra De Navidad
Villas Camino Del Mar And Ocean Village Mexico/San Patricio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing