We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Camino del Mar and Ocean Village
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Having just experienced the town of Manzanillo which I doubt I will every return to, Malaque turned out to be the town I really wanted to visit. A beautiful beach, a peaceful location with mostly unspoilt countryside surrounding the town, friendly locals and Canadians, perfect bliss. We arrived at Villas Camino del Mar and Ocean Village hotel and rented the third floor apartment, with a fantastic view of the beach, the sound of the sea, the shoreline and the associated town. Our apartment was very clean and had a well equipped kitchen with near new appliances, the beds were comfortable and the showers. We had a very enjoyable 3 day stay and also a delicious dinner at “Gi Gi’s”, by the hotel on the beach. The area is frequented by many Canadians who stay for short and long term stays.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TerryrdBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 38 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Gloria is wonderful--such positive attitude. We met several people from Canada who come year after year to this location. That told me something. Unit was clean. Swimming pools clean too. Easy walking distance to main area of Melaque. Right on beach. Sometimes the noise in between main parts of the villas became a little loud, but hey that was mostly car's coming and going after sundown due to the access to the beach. Nice place. Wifi connection available when you are in the lobby. I traded books with the small library they have. I recommend the place if staying in Melaque.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stefan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I have stayed here since 1989 just as the original building was finished. I have never been disappointed. Each year when I return the villas are usually updated with something new. A couple of years ago they added air conditioning. Whatever you need, just ask at the front desk and they will help you with anything they can. This is a very pet friendly hotel, however your pet should not be bothersome to the other guests. They even put up a gate on the door so I could leave my door open and my yorkie couldn't get out. I usually do not eat out but when I do there are several great restaurants. This is not a resort town so it is friendly and receptive.
The villas are clean and nicely furnished and decorated. Sometimes fresh flowers or fresh fruit will show up in your room. I love this place and this year I will be staying for three months.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Not a bad place to stay...... except I got locked in my room for more then 1 hour! Tried to break out with a butter knife and everything.... no one around heard me screaming... no phone to call the front desk. Had to call a local friend to come get my door opened. For the price ... not much was included except tv and cable. Seemed relatively clean. You might want to stay there if you want to be locked away. I recommend it if they check there doors!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freezingcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I cannot stess enough what wonderful service l have recieved from the staff at this hotel. The owner, Gloria, was extremely friendly and very courteous to my friends and I, we were very pleased with the service here. I would highly recommend this hotel, primarely because of the service and cleaninous of this establishment!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VAQUERO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and thought that the manager, Gloria was extremely helpful and gracious.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lostinparidise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We have been coming here since 1998, usually spending 2-8 weeks each year. My overall rating is excellent even though I can't rate high under the criteria in comparison with fine hotels in major destinations. Hey, this is a Mexican beach town. Oompah bands or loud music from Ava's bar-restaurant will keep you awake some nights. If you want 4-5 star hotels, go to a tourist trap destination. Go to Cancun or Cabo and pretend you're in Mexico.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank lucy421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Patricio
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Temazcal Hacienda de Melaque
2.5 mi away
Hotel Barra de Navidad
Hotel Barra de Navidad
#2 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
81 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Alondra
Hotel La Alondra
#7 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat
La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat
#1 of 1 in San Patricio
71 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cabo Blanco Hotel
Cabo Blanco Hotel
#1 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Camino del Mar and Ocean Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Camino del Mar and Ocean Village

Address: P.O. Box 6, San Patricio 48980, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > San Patricio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in San Patricio
Price Range: $67 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villas Camino del Mar and Ocean Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Camino Del Mar And Ocean Village Hotel Barra De Navidad
Villas Camino Del Mar And Ocean Village Mexico/San Patricio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing