We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD FOOD, AWFUL SERVICE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Marques

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atacames
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel El Marques
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Atacames
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD, AWFUL SERVICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed at Cielo Azul, but had 2 meals at El Marques and examined the property. The food was pretty good. The service nothing short of atrocious. The hotel has a nice size swimming pool, facing the road and surrounded by the hotel building. The room rate quoted to me, for a single person, in May, was $61, breakfast and taxes included. The rate is much higher in July and August, as in all other hotels in EC

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank movingtoEcuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    128
    49
    11
    4
See reviews for
174
101
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
les laurentides
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nicest hotel in the town of Atacames and probably the most expensive, the room did not have a toilet tissue holder, not because it at fallen from the wall, no it was non existent, shower head really basic, shower curtain rod was barely holding, only one table night lamp was broken, bed was not the quality for an hotel hoping to be a 4 our more stars, only 2 small pillows, average hotel, way to expensive for the offer.
The owners should re-invest to give back the statute it probably once had

Room Tip: Good location across the street from the beach, probably least expensive ones along the coast in tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mychka-tsunami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotacac
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

El Marques is said to be the nicest hotel in Atacames and it may well be, and that's very sad. Old rooms, out-dated decor, tiny uncomfortable bathrooms... And for $120 a night. Clean and safe, however.

Room Tip: If you can stay a bit farther away, in Tonsupa, there is a B&B there that gets good reviews on T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruffwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hotel El Marques is one of the nicer hotels in Atacames, but also one of the most expensive hotels in Atacames. The style of the hotel, rooms and restaurant is similar to a Hilton or other chain hotel in the United States. The furniture and decor in the rooms were well-kept and everything worked in the rooms. The restaurant is nice and actually reasonably priced. There is a daily hot breakfast included in the price of the room and we found the food to be good and fresh. We found every restaurant in Atacames to be very expensive to other places in Ecuador. In fact the prices for food are even more expensive than many seaside restaurants in the United States. Back to the hotel, the pool is nice but very cold compared to the ocean. The ocean is actually across the street. The hotel does not have direct access. Overall, I would recommend Hotel El Marques especially if you are looking for convenience and features found in hotel chains you would most likely find in the United States.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
386 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is definitely the best hotel at Atacames beach. Hotel staff is very friendly and try their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Rooms are large but they are not very homey.
Breakfast is so so ...
Restaurant has very limited lunch/dinner options but there are many options in walking distance from hotel.
There is small ice cream shop at hotel property. You can get an excellent fresh juices there.
Atacames beach is great beach. You can walk for hours enjoying not crowded beach.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NayiU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Considering the standards of hotels in Atacames, this hotel really makes a difference. Very secure, clean and well managed. I stayed here last year and was pleased with all the services I ejnjoyed of.

Congrats to the staff and owners for proving a good option in Atacames.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My Ecuadorian family and I liked El Marques hotel. We rented a "quintuple" room and we were all happy with the view and the room cleanness. The hotel had wifi included which was a huge plus and cable TV. We were able to walk to the beach and around with no troubles and getting back inside the hotel was convenient since we had hotel's wristbands. The only BIG complaint I had was that we had to wait for towels by the Hotel pool. At the end we did not get them and had to walk upstairs dripping water from the pool. A safety concern that you should be aware is if you want to open the window be aware that there is no fencing at all!!
I did not mind the loud music during the day because I love salsa very much.
The breakfast buffet was awesome. Probably one of the best here in The coast. Everything was fresh and the waiter was prompt to clear the table so we have a clean space.
Overall I had a good experience, it is worth the price if you consider the factors mentioned above.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabysore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atacames
0.0 mi away
Hotel Club del Sol
Hotel Club del Sol
#5 of 9 in Atacames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo Azul
Hotel Cielo Azul
#2 of 9 in Atacames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Puerto Ballesta
Hotel Puerto Ballesta
#1 of 5 in Esmeraldas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Paraiso
Hotel Costa Paraiso
#3 of 9 in Atacames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cabanas Isla del Sol
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Aldea
Hotel La Aldea
#10 of 28 in Atacames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Marques

Property: Hotel El Marques
Address: Malecon de La Playa y Los Crotos | In Front of the Beach, Atacames 080150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Esmeraldas Province > Atacames
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Atacames
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Marques 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professional staff and modern rooms and facilities make our hotel the best choice in Esmeraldas province. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing