We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Anchor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Whittonstall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Consett, Co. Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

My parents and I visited for a quick meal today and were left very disappointed. Firstly, when we entered and ordered drinks, we asked what menu was on and were rudely told, 'Those ones there.’ We sat down and waited for a good 15 minutes when we were told to order at the bar, even though there were only us and another 2 sat in the corner. Our food arrived followed by our cutlery and it was the most disappointing meal any of us have been presented with. The two portions of scampi that we ordered were greasy and oily and the half chicken my father ordered was shrivelled and dried up with no thought to the presentation at all. If we weren’t so hungry we wouldn’t have even attempted to eat it, my mother managed to eat her scampi and my father ate most of his chicken, however I only managed to eat a few pieces of scampi and some chips before throwing in the towel. When the waitress cleared the table and we told her she knocked 50% off one of the scampi and apologised.

This was a very nice restaurant which we used to visit regularly for Sunday lunches and meals during the week but it has gone gravely downhill. The service was bad, the food terrible and it had no atmosphere at all. After a previous bad experience here we decided to give it another chance but we were let down and will not be visiting again. I would advise anyone to avoid this place as they cannot even make simple dishes and there are much nicer pubs and restaurants in the area.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank nicwilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    39
    9
    7
    13
See reviews for
37
76
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at the Anchor Inn for a one night. The room was perfect, clean & modern, beautiful big fluffy towels, robes and the tea/coffee tray was a bonus. The bathroom albeit small had everything you needed & was tastfully decorated. The view over the open fields was amazing, the staff were exceptionally friendly and the cooked breakfast was perfect to set you up for the day. A great little gem with ample walks locally.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Castles room which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pricilla054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Positives
We arrived late but received a warm welcome. The room was immaculate and although we had one of the smaller rooms, it was well equipped and very comfortable, with a few luxuries included e.g. bottled water and shortbread biscuits. There was everything that you could wish for in the line of toiletries in the bathroom and lashings of hot water in the tap. The first night, the room was very quiet and we slept really well. The following night, we were woken early, by the very loud lady in the next room - not the proprietors fault. The breakfasts were delicious, with various choices to be made. The evening menu was also varied and delicious, with the seafood chowder tasting fantastic.
Negatives
The two person tables in the dining room were very low and I found myself having to lean over to eat my food - not very comfortable. The chairs were also very uncomfortable. The bar area was far more comfortable but very busy on a Saturday night.
There was hair in the bath plug on both mornings of our stay.

Room Tip: I would definitely stay again but would either eat in the bar or go to an alternative restaurant. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loganberryyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

This inn is excellent. We needed a break and this was an ideal spot. Not too far from home (50 minutes drive) but far enough to be away from it all. Our room was very nice , huge bed so didn't get punched for snoring .I don't think my wife could reach me! Bathroom with funniest little wash basin but good sized bath and shower. Then of course the food. It was excellent. We ate in restaurant on the first night and had excellent service and a good choice, the second night we had the 'Out for the Day' special menu in the bar. Breakfat is served any time after 8.00, just as well as we are not early birds so strolling in at 10.00 am for an 'Northumbrian' was just the job and no problem to the young lady serving there. The weather was kind and a walk to Hedley on the Hill across fields and forest was just the thing to take away the guilt odf eating all that lovely grub!!!

Room Tip: Just book, all rooms are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

we have just had a two night stay in this country pub .the room (town) was a gem walk in shower massive comfy bed free water and toileteries lovely bath robes to wear . the room also had a really good view from the window overlooking open countryside.the pub had a good selection of beers and wines at average pub prices and local guest real ale.the food was good pizzas included but very filling if you like a few beers have them before you eat you might not be able to manage any after.the staff were very friendly and helpfull and the breakfast was really good.my only very slight problem was the fact you could hear people talking in other bedrooms.

Room Tip: only saw the town room but this was a good room and a great view very warm and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Recently stayed here for a break with my wife, the inn is in the country but is good location for visiting Newcastle, Hexham, Alnwick Castle etc.

The inn has wonderful rooms will plenty of space, very modern fittings and king size beds.

The food is top quality and not expensive, we ate there every night and thought the quality surpassed our expectations.

The staff are also very helpful and we where looked after with a personal touch, highly recommend this inn as a good place to stay when in the Necastle area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the largest room the Hadrian.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkie186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benijofar, Alicante, Spain.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed for seven nights in August. Room was better than some 5 star hotels we have stayed in and was left spotless for us every day. Everything you could ask for was on hand, absolutely perfect. Food in the restaurant was first class with a very varied selection and the Bar Manager, Dan and all the staff were very courteous and helpful. The owners, Karen and Gavin were also the perfect hosts and always willing to join you for a drink or two :-)
A special mention to Mandy, who looked after us at breakfast, she was very pleasant and nothing was to much trouble. We would highly recommend this for anyone either on a business stopover or for pleasure, as you will not be disappointed. No doubt we will be back.
Hasta luego.

Room Tip: All four rooms are equally as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_Debra_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittonstall
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
9.3 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
5.2 mi away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Burnside
The Burnside
#2 of 11 in Consett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Rose and Crown
The Rose and Crown
#1 of 2 in Slaley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rye Hill Farm
Rye Hill Farm
#10 of 65 in Hexham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn

Property: The Anchor Inn
Address: Whittonstall DH8 9JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Whittonstall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whittonstall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Anchor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a coach house in the 1700's, this splendid Inn and acclaimed restaurant offers two well-stocked bars along with traditional inn-style dining. The Anchor Inn is located in the village of Whittonstall, bordering the counties of Northumberland and Durham. Fantastic value reception packages from £19.95 per head Night-time Buffets from £6.95 per head Free Room Hire & Dance floor Each wedding is individually catered to your requirements. Our restaurant can comfortably hold up to 60 people for afternoon receptions & up to 80 using the lounge. Night-time receptions can be up to 120 people with dance floor Perfect for any occasion from Engagements to Christenings Birthdays to Anniversaries All of our rooms have been individually furnished to the highest of standards and feature super king beds which can be used for double, twin or single occupancy. All rooms have solid oak furniture, wall mounted flat screen TVs (with free view TV), luxury linens, hospitality trays, toiletries and fluffy bath robes. Twin/Super-king£80 per room per night Single rate £65 per room per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing